We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome Real-Fiji Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travellers Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome Real-Fiji Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at Bamboo for 7 nights and had an absolute blast!! The staff were amazing, so friendly and always helpful for anything we needed. They always had great suggestions for things for us to do and get out and see. We had a great room, basic but had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was excellent quality and the ambience when dining in the evening was intimate with candles, yet fun and energetic. The bar was alive at night and bamboo is a great place to mingle and meet people from all over the world. We were travelling as a couple so enjoyed some chilled times, but there was always opportunities to meet others and get out and about with them. The kava sessions are relaxing, chilled out with the boys playing the guitar. We were out doing activities everyday with the help of the staff and the friendly taxi man "Roman" (Awesome guy btw). Our main aim of this holiday was to get out and surf Fiji. We went out with Inya on a boat service two days, and went on a bus trip to Sigatoka twice also. The surf was Amaaaaazing. Out of this world! Bamboo is great because it is not too far from the airport and Nadi town so can explore easily, but is out of the town hustle and bustle. Bamboo was very relaxing right on the beach, with beautiful sunrises and sunsets everyday. I highly recommend staying here, it was so great to experience Fiji the 'real' way and get out past the town and Nadi bay and explore. We had such a great time, we will definitely be coming back!! Thank you very much for an amazing holiday Bamboo!! :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked fine. We had a private room with an ensuite and this was perfect. The fan wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSurfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
4
42
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I recently spent a week here with my partner and ad the Fiji Experience of a lifetime. The atmosphere is contagiously fun and vibrant, with everything you could dream for, from the fantastic restaurant and bar, live music and kava, fire shows etc etc etc, all located on a pristine sandy beach, There is even an awesome in-house Tattooist if you want to take a piece of Fiji home with you.

My partner and I were mainly here for the surfing, and we got what we were looking for. From the day trips to Sigatoka and Natadola with "Do", exploring some of Fijis best beach breaks To cruising out on the boat with Inia to experience the legendary waves around Tavarua, "Cloudbreak","Resturants","Tavarua rights","Wiles Passage" to name a few. Its safe to say that I was surfed out and loving it.

When not exploring the waves Travellers hooked us up with James and Roman whom took us around some nice spots on the Island, from the Rock Pools to cool down in on a hot day to a awesome trip up the mountain and to some local villages, which I highly recommend.

What else can I say, we had a great time and filled everyday with so many activities that I almost needed a holiday after the holiday :P

Room Tip: I shared a double room with ensuite which was very nice. Was very large, even with all our surfboard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyDoornbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Me and two friends stayed here for one night as we were flying home the next day and had spent the majority of our stay in Suva. This place was perfect for us, it's no Hilton Hotel but we didn't mind because it was so cheap! We taxi'd to the airport from here, organised by the reception, and that cost us less than $20. The hotel is right on the beach front with bar and restaurant, pool, volleyball net, hammocks, free tea and coffee, Kava ceremonies and entertainment at night, and great local people! The room wasn't fancy but was clean, with a lovely high-pressure shower and big mirror in the bathroom. The only downside to this hotel was that we felt a little uncomfortable in our togs in front of the locals - in their culture that much skin exposure is not appropriate, so we felt we were stared at. We snuck down to a local, more pricey hotel for a pizza dinner, then watched the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen in my life! I would recommend this hotel for a short staty when you need to be close to the airport, or if you are doing a lot of touristy things in the nearby town of Nadi

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georg1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Bc
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at a different resort but went to the Bamboo four or five times for the ambience, drinks, and partying, which were all just great. Our home travel agent told us to be sure to see Sam the manager for help arranging off-the-beaten-track sightseeing and he came through for us with some great choices. He also arranged a birthday party for my wife on the beach with the whole male staff doing some great fire-torch dances. Good music playlists on the PA system, too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medit8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I visited in April 2014 for the second time. I absolutely love this place because there is always something to do. The staff are friendly and professional, and they engage the customers and make sure they are having a great time. The prices are cheap and service is excellent, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are the best option, however, the dorm is also great price and across from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ispysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Travellers beach is a lovely little beach resort on a budget. The pool and the bar are the best for relaxing right on the beach. The cafe restaurant is cheap and delicious. Try ika vaka lolo. It is the village recipe mmm. Evenings are fun with the local kava and lots of local musicians singing the island songs. But the best thing is especially the wonderful caring happy staff! They make travellers beach unforgettable. Highly recommend for budget travellers.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Minkyungbae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

It was our first night in Fiji and after a long flight we were looking forward to our own room to relax in. After we had checked in we were taken to a room where already someone else was staying in so we had to relocate and were taken to a terrible building (surrounded by mud and old furniture) across the road! Once we got there I was really speechless about the condition of that room, everything was filthy, especially the bathroom where we found used toilet paper on the floor, used towels and soaps plus a sink full of hair!! We could hardly sleep that night since the toilet was flushing all the time and we were woken up in the morning because of another noise. A RAT was scratching at the bathroom door, trying to get into the bedroom!!!! It had bitten the toilet paper, which was lying around, into 1000 pieces and there were also some wooden pieces on the floor!! I have never experienced something that disgusting! When we told the management about our awful night and morning, they paid for our breakfast and seemed to be sorry. Nevertheless, I cannot understand at all how you can run a business like that! Stay away from that place if you like any kind of comfort!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauritschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_fiji_islander, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Bula Vinaka,

we wish to offer our humble apologies. After a full investigation of your review, we have determined that a rare and unfortunate series of events has resulted in your less-than-wonderful stay. We now understand that when our front desk trainee staff member was faced with an unusual situation, he made a very bad decision to pop you into a room that we do not use for our Travellers Beach guests. This room was also not prepared and house-kept, and for this we are sincerely sorry. Had we been aware of this terrible error of judgement, and had these issues been brought to our management's attention at the time, we would have swiftly sorted out the problem and popped you into the right room. Our Management have now reassigned this trainee and will ensure that this situation can not happen ever again.

Our staff is a young and lively team of locals with a warm and vibrant island-style hospitality. Although we are not perfect, we always try to care for our guests in the best way possible. We highly recommend our Resort for travellers who are seeking a budget room and a simple, fun, friendly and atmospheric experience.

Cheers and thanks. Apologies again and wish you happy travels,

The Travellers Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#10 of 25 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Resort

Property: Travellers Beach Resort
Address: 19 Newtown Beach, Wailoaloa Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Beach Resort is a fun and tropical place for budget backpackers and alternative travellers to stay in Nadi. Located on the best strip of Wailoaloa Beach, we offer a fun-loving beach experience with simple clean rooms, delicious meals, and lot of adventure options to enjoy Fiji!Travellers Beach Resort offers pure friendly island-style hospitality. This is a place with traditional island charm and a tropical fun-loving Fiji way of life. It is the oldest and most established property in Nadi Bay overlooking the majestic Mamanuca Islands with the stunning Sleeping Giant Range as a backdrop. We offer a wide range of accommodation with, Ocean wing rooms, Beach front rooms, Ocean view rooms, Mountain view rooms, Family rooms and backpacker dorms. Our restaurant and bar offers excellent affordable meals, Sunset cocktails, icy cold beers and a full bar selection. The poolside dining area offer picture perfect views and incredible sunsets. We have live music, entertainment, a pool challenges and traditional kava ceremonies nightly. There is a large screen TV in the bar area for latest sports, news and movies. This is a place to soak in the island atmosphere and meet the locals. There is also plenty of hammocks and beach loungers to enjoy the tropical sunshine :)Travellers Beach Resort is the closest beach location to the Nadi International Airport. The 'Newtown Beach' neighbourhood is Fiji's best budget traveller base. There is a cluster of cafes, restaurants and other budget resorts around us. Local buses run by few times a day for trips to town and around. Awesome Adventures, Fiji Experience, The North Fiji Backpacker Project and all the main trip operators offer a free pick up from our office. Taxi rides to the airport or town take 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Travellers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Resort Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing