We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic, basic, perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horizon Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic, basic, perfect!”
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We were a last minute booking, booked a standard double room (which includes double bed, en suite bathroom/toilet, small fridge, kettle, a ceiling fan, and and most times, a tv) the staff were helpful, sent the courtesy van to pick us up from the airport.
Whenever you meet any staff member at Horizon, you'll always be greeted with a smile, and a friendly 'Bula!' .
We also stayed in one of their double rooms with aircon, and they're great too ($5 or $10FJD extra) but we found even the ones with just ceiling fans to be fine.
The facilities that are available to use next door at Smugglers cove are great, there are nightly cultural performances with music and fire performances.
There is a help yourself style breakfast included in the price and is served on the patio next to the pool every morning.

We found that while Horizon is very basic, they do what they are there to do very well. It would suit confident travellers really well, but still be fine for first timers as well.
There are many taxi's that hang around there, and barter your way with them for a good price into Nadi town (my partner usually managed it for $5FJD, I settled for about 6 or 7, but if someone is not willing to go for the price you want, keep trying someone else, because there is ALWAYS someone who will take it)

And if there are none around, the staff are more than happy to help you out by calling one. No problems getting to sleep either as Horizon is situated at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, no real party spots too close to bother you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca_Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    19
    11
    17
See reviews for
2
35
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We (4 female friends - 22-53) stayed here for 4 nights, we weren't really expecting too much, and had a family room with aircon. It is an older building, nothing flash. However we had an absolute ball, the staff were wonderful, and even went to the trouble of looking after us when we wanted to go to the nearby night club. One of the guys on the desk and one of the security guards came with us and made sure we got back safely. For one of the girls in our party it was her first o/s trip and she wasn't sure if it was safe on our own. These two employees had finished their shifts and really helped us and made us feel safe. Thank you Luke and Claudius. However management fired one of them, and the other guy didn't turn up to work on his next shift (we think he may have been fired too).
We are absolutely devastated, and disgusted with the management of Horizon and Smugglers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meals_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

If you are a bit too old for backpacking but still want to meet 'travellers' rather than 'tourists' this is the place for you. Quiet, at the end of a cul-de-sac leading to a nice beach. Small but deep pool - not really suitable for very young children. Rooms are mainly dorm style but ours had en-suite shower and w.c. and although with a double bed and 3 single bunks we had it to ourselves. Very simple but clean and comfortable. Includes help yourself breakfast on the terrace and there is a bar and small dining room. Apart from adjacent beach bars it is quite a walk to the shops and other facilities. Internet access is available and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxtonCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Hello my fellow travellers - your reading this as you think you have found a bargin hostel to stay before you head out to the Islands well you have for 15 bucks a night it does the job!!!! However before we left someone had there bag ramsacked and they took out all there valuables, whilst we were out on the islands one guy who stayed there told us about whilst they were all at dinner all there bags were stolen! SO when i returned to the mainland i decided to stay here and at 6.45 AM i eye witnessed a fijian man think it was there own security guard go through a girls purse and steal her money! They do it in a very clever way to make it look like a fellow traveller but dont be fooled by this. I felt terrible having to the girl I witness her stuff get taken but the guy was huge I didnt want to get hurt. ANY THE MORAL OF THE STORY IS IF U PAY CHEAP THINKING U HAVE GOT A BARGIN WHEN U HAVE ALL UR VALUABLES STOLEN ENDS UP AN EXPENISVE STAY. So please i dont want to see anyone elses trip ruined please stay somewhere else where there is not lots of theft. And if you cant stay away from here please dont leave anything in the dorm room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nadi hotels

California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I highly recommend against staying at this hostel primarily due to the hygiene issues(1 and 2) on this list of problems that I experienced during my stay:
1. Unclean sheets (found hair and stain spots)
2. Periodic water outage (could not flush the toilet for some time)
3. Unreliable hot water
4. Unhelpful, sometimes rude staff
5. Required to take the more costly hostel provided taxi

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML_RTW_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

I stayed here for a few days before and after coming back from the islands and I thought the place was fine. At the prices quoted and the fact that it is a backpacker's hostel I was happy enough with the rooms and staff. The same guy who owns this place also owns smugglers cove across the road so the staff encourage you to go across and use their much nicer facilities like restaurant, swimming pool etc. All in all I probably would go back.

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
Thank A1K3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Do not stay here, you will be very disappointed.
We had booked into the hostel next door and were presently surprised with the place when we arrived. This was short lived, we were very abruptly told that they overbooked, no room, go next door to the other hostel, which we did, complete dump! Smelly and very shoddy but worst of all was the rudeness of the staff. We were overcharged on our credit card for the accomodation and when I tried to get our money back we were basically hunted out of the hostel, the woman at the reception was extremely rude to us, was muttering obscenities under her breath. Plus this seemed to catch the attention of all staff (plus locals who hang around and use the facilities, a bit much in mind) so it was quite an intimidating experience to say the least. Our taxi driver who was waiting with us later translated what the reception lady muttering, basically she was giving out about 'foreigners' and how she hates them. While I understand that tourists do bring a certain unwanted amount of traffic to the area I do believe it to be Fiji's main source income and people in the tourism industry need to be very mindful of this. The staff would not help us with our bags when we were leaving.
I was extremely upset for a long time after our stay in Horizon and I would not want anyone else to experience this.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0ungIrishC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
3.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#13 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Resort

Property: Horizon Beach Resort
Address: | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Horizon Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach at Nadi Bay, Smugglerscove Horizon Backpackers offers a restaurant and bar, plus a swimming pool with sun deck. Free 24-hour airport transfers are provided. Facilities at Smugglerscove Horizon Backpackers Nadi include a barbecue area, 24-hour reception and luggage storage. The tour desk can arrange scuba diving, snorkelling, fishing, kayaking and golf. Guests receive continental breakfast each morning. Accommodation options range from dormitory rooms with shared bathroom facilities to private rooms with en suite bathroom. Some have ocean views. Cove Cafe offers pizzas, Fijian and European dishes, vegetarian meals and regular barbecue nights. The bar offers live entertainment every night. The local bus picks up and drops off directly in front of Smugglerscove Horizon backpackers throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Horizon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre Hotel Nadi
Horizon Backpackers And Travel Centre
Horizon Beach Resort Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing