We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horizon Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Apia, Samoa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not good at all!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

As a Flipino, I know all about "cheap places," after my culture makes an industry out of it! However, this place is actually pretty high for being "cheap," and the service offered is little to nothing. They will come get you from the airport (to get money from you) but once they have the money, you can get your own way back to the airport. Bad ethics.

Room Tip: No good. Dont stay on New Beach. They all suck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterVandever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    19
    11
    17
See reviews for
2
35
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is a cheap backpackers place that is a good value if you have nothing to be stolen. We stayed here for a week and while we were away for the day on a boat someone stole $200USD from my wallet. I was 100% certain the money was there the morning I left and gone the night we returned. The room was locked but there were no safes in the room for me to lock up my money. Just glad that was all that was taken as we had good camera equipment and a computer. This is clearly not the first time as we just read a previous review of the same problem. Very sad because its a great location and not bad for the price - that is if you don't get $$ stolen ;(

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you have valuables you are guarding. I was totally ripped off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlTrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nadi hotels

UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

After 7 months travelling Horizon was my last stop before home and I stayed there for 4 weeks and loved every second.
Yes its basic - but its clean, the staff were fantastic - some even invited me to their homes -if you make the effort to speak to them the kindness is more than repaid. I felt like Horizon was my home and was really sad to leave it.

Having had worse service at hotels which cost an awful lot more I'm glad to recommend Horizon -as other people have mentioned you get to use Smugglers Cove facilities and the dorms are actually more spacious and cheaper than those at Smugglers Cove. Its also cheaper to eat there as some of the food at Smugglers is prepared at Horizon anyway.

Its not the most glamourous place I've ever seen but I couldnt ask more for the price and really miss the staff and people I met there. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evoluptua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

sorry, this actually happened in 2006..we were picked up from the airport and taken in the middle of the night to this place..the guy checked us in and walked us thru what seemed like a maze of rooms and corridors..we went into a dark room obviously full of people and he kicked 2 people out of bed and told us there are your beds..the people worked there and they did not change the sheets after getting up..the AC made noise but did not make cold air..terrible...BUT..I met a medical student staying there in Dec 2010 and he was there for 6 weeks and said it was fine..and super cheap..so maybe it is better now.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glaciergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

We were a last minute booking, booked a standard double room (which includes double bed, en suite bathroom/toilet, small fridge, kettle, a ceiling fan, and and most times, a tv) the staff were helpful, sent the courtesy van to pick us up from the airport.
Whenever you meet any staff member at Horizon, you'll always be greeted with a smile, and a friendly 'Bula!' .
We also stayed in one of their double rooms with aircon, and they're great too ($5 or $10FJD extra) but we found even the ones with just ceiling fans to be fine.
The facilities that are available to use next door at Smugglers cove are great, there are nightly cultural performances with music and fire performances.
There is a help yourself style breakfast included in the price and is served on the patio next to the pool every morning.

We found that while Horizon is very basic, they do what they are there to do very well. It would suit confident travellers really well, but still be fine for first timers as well.
There are many taxi's that hang around there, and barter your way with them for a good price into Nadi town (my partner usually managed it for $5FJD, I settled for about 6 or 7, but if someone is not willing to go for the price you want, keep trying someone else, because there is ALWAYS someone who will take it)

And if there are none around, the staff are more than happy to help you out by calling one. No problems getting to sleep either as Horizon is situated at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, no real party spots too close to bother you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca_Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

We (4 female friends - 22-53) stayed here for 4 nights, we weren't really expecting too much, and had a family room with aircon. It is an older building, nothing flash. However we had an absolute ball, the staff were wonderful, and even went to the trouble of looking after us when we wanted to go to the nearby night club. One of the guys on the desk and one of the security guards came with us and made sure we got back safely. For one of the girls in our party it was her first o/s trip and she wasn't sure if it was safe on our own. These two employees had finished their shifts and really helped us and made us feel safe. Thank you Luke and Claudius. However management fired one of them, and the other guy didn't turn up to work on his next shift (we think he may have been fired too).
We are absolutely devastated, and disgusted with the management of Horizon and Smugglers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meals_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

If you are a bit too old for backpacking but still want to meet 'travellers' rather than 'tourists' this is the place for you. Quiet, at the end of a cul-de-sac leading to a nice beach. Small but deep pool - not really suitable for very young children. Rooms are mainly dorm style but ours had en-suite shower and w.c. and although with a double bed and 3 single bunks we had it to ourselves. Very simple but clean and comfortable. Includes help yourself breakfast on the terrace and there is a bar and small dining room. Apart from adjacent beach bars it is quite a walk to the shops and other facilities. Internet access is available and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxtonCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
3.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#11 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Resort

Property: Horizon Beach Resort
Address: | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Horizon Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach at Nadi Bay, Smugglerscove Horizon Backpackers offers a restaurant and bar, plus a swimming pool with sun deck. Free 24-hour airport transfers are provided. Facilities at Smugglerscove Horizon Backpackers Nadi include a barbecue area, 24-hour reception and luggage storage. The tour desk can arrange scuba diving, snorkelling, fishing, kayaking and golf. Guests receive continental breakfast each morning. Accommodation options range from dormitory rooms with shared bathroom facilities to private rooms with en suite bathroom. Some have ocean views. Cove Cafe offers pizzas, Fijian and European dishes, vegetarian meals and regular barbecue nights. The bar offers live entertainment every night. The local bus picks up and drops off directly in front of Smugglerscove Horizon backpackers throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Horizon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Backpackers & Travel Centre Hotel Nadi
Horizon Backpackers And Travel Centre
Horizon Beach Resort Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing