We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden jewel in Nadi.”
Review of Bluewater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluewater Lodge
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel in Nadi.”
Reviewed November 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights on our way to and from Mana Island. We have previously travelled to Nadi on about 20 occasions and stayed at various hotels. Without doubt this is the best we have stayed at and we paid half the price we normally do. We had a double room which was spacious and very clean and modern.Nothing was a trouble for the staff and the entertainment at night was great. The meals were great and the slow cooked lamb shank is to die for. It is a pity that the hotel only has two double rooms and 3 backpacker rooms with 3 single beds in each so booking ahead is essential. Please dont tell anyone about this as we will be returning next year and dont want to miss out on this gem.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manaregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    58
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
7
77
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

A wonderful getaway for singles or couples. The room is clean and you have a personal trunk to place your valuable. The staff are very welcoming and they remember your name. Ask for the room facing pool side and you will have an unblocked view of the mountains. The place is convenient since there is not difficult to get a taxi.

In general, the taxi fare is relatively expensive after dark. Public transports only operate between 730am to 5pm. Pa, the chef makes great lamb shank. The seared tuna and the lamb shank are the must on the menu list. Ask the performers to sing the SHEEP song, you will be amazed.

In general, bluewater is a good stop over before you head for your island tours or depart for the next destinations. The owners, Fiona and Mike are really nice and helpful, they helped me to book my diving and island tours off office hours.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay in Bluewater Lodge and made a lot of new friends !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silkcut7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This is such an amazing hotel, with the friendliest staff, amazing food and beautiful pool. Everything about Bluewater Lodge was brilliant from the moment we arrived there.

I would 100% recommend staying here to anyone. The dinners they serve are delicious, and the location and safety of the lodge is really great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stayed at the Bluewater for one night in a shared female dorm and ate dinner there twice. The dinners are fabulous - best offering in Newtown and always easy to meet other people.

The room was fine. We shared three to the room with shared bathrooms. The bathrooms were busy and only average cleanliness given traffic and number of rooms required to share the amenities.

Newtown itself is only average so its nice to stay in a decent place but beware Bluewater is not on the beach so you need to go to one of the other places to pass time if you are in Nadi to catch a flight after being out at the islands. In general Nadi of limited interest compared to other areas of Fiji.

Book ahead as it gets busy and the taxi recommended by the hotel to get back to the airport is a bit more expensive than other taxis so better to call one.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eur0Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld. Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

If you have to stay in Nadi, Bluewater is a nice little place to stay. This was our impression:
Best:
- Excellent dinner menu & food thats great value.
- nice clean and spacious double room.
- nice atmosphere, with Mele the guitarist adding to the vibe at dinner.
- friendly staff only too happy to accomodate with requests.

Could be Better:
- location next to runway and local dogs barking made for a little noisy at night and early morning.
- Breakfast insufficient - simple toast and 2 x fruit. Fine for lite eaters though.
- 2 requests for early breakfast due to early rise for day trip forgotten about.
- requested lift to Bluewater from main road nearby after reading they picked up from airport (our lift only 5 minutes drive, but were told by manager " no - get a taxi" ???). Wife and I had made own way by public tpt from Coral Coast to Nadi, then Nadi to Bluewater turnoff and just needed a lift the last 5km to Lodge as a little tired. Perhaps explained stern reception by manager. No big deal but just wasnt a good intro. to the place we had heard such positives about, and therefore a little surprising. We meant to ask the Manager why he couldnt pick up from so nearby ??

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtopiaBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We were met at the airport by the hostel owner. Free pick up with international arrivals. Short hop to the lodge about 15mins. Check in was hassel free and the room surpassed expectations, aircon, ensuite and plush fittings. We were shown around - lovely pool/deck area, bar and met the friendly staff.

The lodge is a minutes walk from the beach. Don't be fooled by the coconut man who sits by the beach fence. He will pounce on tourists and sell you a coconut for 5 times the going rate ;) We were tricked. But the beach is nice enough if you walk a bit further down.

The evening meals at the lodge are really delicious. We ate there both nights and there was a Fijian band playing and drinking kava. Great atmosphere! Don't expect the same for breakfast, if there was one thing that was a slight let down it was breakfast - banana and toast.

The staff are more than happy to book taxis to the airport for domestic flights and international departures about 10-12fjd

We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123chi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Beautiful, charming, and an incredible value! Fiona and Mike go out of their way to accomodate, making guests feel welcome and at home. I have traveled quite a bite and stayed in all levels of accomodation, this place surpassed my expectations! (The pictures on tripadvisor don't do it justice) The rooms were immaculate, the bathrooms were clean (with nice hot showers), the food was delicious, the staff warm and welcoming, the live music at night was great fun.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 123chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#4 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
1.9 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Lodge

Property: Bluewater Lodge
Address: Baravi Road | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluewater Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewater Lodge is a cheap and cheerful tropical property. We warmly welcome alternative travellers seeking a quiet and peaceful Nadi stay, just 2 minutes walk from the beach. Our property offers twin share rooms, ensuite rooms and also dorm beds. There is a lovely pool, a spacious outdoor area, free wifi and a great Fiji travel info desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bluewater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Hotel Nadi
Bluewater Lodge Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing