We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go when backpacking”
Review of Bluewater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluewater Lodge
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you are on a tight budget, but still look for clean places, beautiful, easygoing and an experience that represents the country, this is the place. I had a great experience, surrounded by helpful and friendlt staff. The place is quite/very clean, it´s got aircon, swimming pool, excellent food at an affordable price, free and nice breakfast, and just one minute walk to the beach. If you wanna go shopping to the town, local buses (1.15 dollars) or taxi (8 dollars) take you there, but it is not necessary to look for an accommodation right in town while in Nadi (and when you visit it you will understand why I say that). We organized the rest of the trip around Fiji with Mary (receptionist), who was an awesome Fijian lady (like the other staff). Don´t look further, because we did and didn´t find anywhere else that affordable and of such quality.

Room Tip: Better to pay the extra 5 dollars to get the nice 3-4 single bed dorm upstairs rather than the downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duguevara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 177 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed for one night after a dive trip to Kadavu. Room was doubled booked but we were there first luckily so got the room. Room ok and decent evening meal. Breakfast very basic but place is cheap. We paid cash for everything. Problems started 3 weeks later when they decided to charge our credit card again for a 'no show'. Hostelworld had passed on our full credit card details.We emailed to say they were making a mistake. No reply. We phoned the reception and she confirmed that she remembered us and we were in the register but they still proceeded to charge our card. Eventually th manager, Fiona , emailed and apologised for the mistake and said they would refund the money but didn't and didn't reply to a further email. The card was cancelled and we had to wait for our bank to chase theirs for several weeks to eventually get the refund which was a pain in the backside. All in all we would never go there again because I do not trust the management to do the right thing.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
8  Thank stiffstoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at Bluewater Lodge for two nights before and after we visited the Yasawa's in September. As we were just using this as a stopover we did not expect much as we did not pay much. We were really surprised when we arrived at how nice this place is. The rooms were a good size (we had a double downstairs with en-suite), and the food was good and reasonably priced. Bluewater Lodge is in the same location as a couple of other places by a beach, but I would say there are much better beaches than this one. The cluster of hotels is also fairly isolated, although you can get a taxi to the airport or to town easily. If you do go to Nadi I would recommend looking around the Hindu temple - it is beautiful. All in all this was a great little hotel, reasonable priced and I would recommend it for a stop over. Given it's location, I'm not sure I would want to stay there for much longer than that though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Blue water lodge is ideal location before and after trip to Yasawa or other islands. Although the hotel is declared as budget type, it offers also clean and comfortable double rooms, good food and free internet access (not broadband but fast enough for sending emails). We met many travellers there and got lots of useful information about Fiji.
Management is very helpful and they help you to organize your private trips to Nadi region.
Nearest beach is nice for walking, but water is because of sand more brown than blue.

Room Tip: Double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VladoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in Nadi for 3 nights simply to be back on the main island after staying on Bounty Island in the Mamanucas (see review).

We had heard that Nadi is nothing special which is true but Blue Water Lodge is somewhere truly special and amazing value for money.

We arrived to be greeted by name which was a lovely personal touch. We stayed in room 1, next to reception which was a private double en suite. The room was great with air con and wi-fi.

What makes this place special is the staff who truly make you feel part of the family. We ate there every night because the food was AMAZING! The best food we have eaten anywhere - even better than home cooked! We ate whilst the staff sang fijian songs to guitar which was just lovely.

The best part was sitting around the large table at breakfast hearing everyone's plans and then meeting up again in the evening to listen to their experiences. Every morning it was "Where are you going?" Every night it was "where have you been?" We met so many interesting people - singles, couples and small groups, young & old from all over the world on their travels and everyone was so friendly.

We couldn't recommend this place highly enough and we were gutted to leave - in all the places we visited on our round the world trip the Blue Water Lodge is remembered most fondly.

Room Tip: Book a private double if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nathsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

When I first arrived in Nadi I booked only for two nights from hostelworld, to be able to rest after my flight, but didn't intended to stay long.

I finally stayed 6 nights the first time and came back two times (5 days each time) after trips around the islands.

I was really happy with every night i had here and i've met really wonderful people.

The city has little interest but the hotel itself keep you occupied with the pool on sunny days and, because it is next to the airport, there is always new people coming.

I stayed in a 4 people room with real beds, good sleep.

The bathroom are always really clean and there is never paper or anything missing.

The breakfast, included with the price, was good too, with fruits, toast and coffee, but not comparable to the dinner menu which is GREAT everytime (too bad, they don't make lunch).

The staff is nice and helpful : they help me choose and book my next destination and the best activities like the very nice mud pool (very funny and relaxing) and the yasawas.

The swimming pool, if not big, is enough to swim a little and cool after a hot fidjien day.

Sometimes the bookings can be a little bit messy (which is usual in Fidji) so, if you can, confirm your booking a few days before, but stay cool : fidji time.

I recommand warmly the place, close enough from other hostel and from the city if you need more animation, and quiet enough if you need to rest and hope i could go back there one day or another !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Only stayed here for one night after a trip to the yasawas and before we flew to nz. Arrived quite late but check in was swift. Had a double ensuite room right next to reception but we had no trouble with noise. Room was very spacious with large bed, wardrobe, dresser and side tables. All very clean - bathroom was modern and shower good. Had AC. Ate a meal at the hotel restaurant - food was delicious and nice outdoor (but covered) dining area. Good vibe and nice place to chat and meet people. Pool looked nice but didn't get a chance to try it. Wish we could have stayed more than the one night!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
412 reviews
1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
1.9 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0 mi away
Beach Escape Villas
Beach Escape Villas
#15 of 25 in Nadi
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Lodge

Address: Baravi Road | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: $20 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluewater Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewater Lodge is a cheap and cheerful tropical property. We warmly welcome alternative travellers seeking a quiet and peaceful Nadi stay, just 2 minutes walk from the beach. Our property offers twin share rooms, ensuite rooms and also dorm beds. There is a lovely pool, a spacious outdoor area, free wifi and a great Fiji travel info desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bluewater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Hotel Nadi
Bluewater Lodge Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing