We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this place - wish we were there!”
Review of Bluewater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluewater Lodge
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“LOVED this place - wish we were there!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in Nadi for 3 nights simply to be back on the main island after staying on Bounty Island in the Mamanucas (see review).

We had heard that Nadi is nothing special which is true but Blue Water Lodge is somewhere truly special and amazing value for money.

We arrived to be greeted by name which was a lovely personal touch. We stayed in room 1, next to reception which was a private double en suite. The room was great with air con and wi-fi.

What makes this place special is the staff who truly make you feel part of the family. We ate there every night because the food was AMAZING! The best food we have eaten anywhere - even better than home cooked! We ate whilst the staff sang fijian songs to guitar which was just lovely.

The best part was sitting around the large table at breakfast hearing everyone's plans and then meeting up again in the evening to listen to their experiences. Every morning it was "Where are you going?" Every night it was "where have you been?" We met so many interesting people - singles, couples and small groups, young & old from all over the world on their travels and everyone was so friendly.

We couldn't recommend this place highly enough and we were gutted to leave - in all the places we visited on our round the world trip the Blue Water Lodge is remembered most fondly.

Room Tip: Book a private double if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nathsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    58
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
7
77
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

When I first arrived in Nadi I booked only for two nights from hostelworld, to be able to rest after my flight, but didn't intended to stay long.

I finally stayed 6 nights the first time and came back two times (5 days each time) after trips around the islands.

I was really happy with every night i had here and i've met really wonderful people.

The city has little interest but the hotel itself keep you occupied with the pool on sunny days and, because it is next to the airport, there is always new people coming.

I stayed in a 4 people room with real beds, good sleep.

The bathroom are always really clean and there is never paper or anything missing.

The breakfast, included with the price, was good too, with fruits, toast and coffee, but not comparable to the dinner menu which is GREAT everytime (too bad, they don't make lunch).

The staff is nice and helpful : they help me choose and book my next destination and the best activities like the very nice mud pool (very funny and relaxing) and the yasawas.

The swimming pool, if not big, is enough to swim a little and cool after a hot fidjien day.

Sometimes the bookings can be a little bit messy (which is usual in Fidji) so, if you can, confirm your booking a few days before, but stay cool : fidji time.

I recommand warmly the place, close enough from other hostel and from the city if you need more animation, and quiet enough if you need to rest and hope i could go back there one day or another !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfont
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Only stayed here for one night after a trip to the yasawas and before we flew to nz. Arrived quite late but check in was swift. Had a double ensuite room right next to reception but we had no trouble with noise. Room was very spacious with large bed, wardrobe, dresser and side tables. All very clean - bathroom was modern and shower good. Had AC. Ate a meal at the hotel restaurant - food was delicious and nice outdoor (but covered) dining area. Good vibe and nice place to chat and meet people. Pool looked nice but didn't get a chance to try it. Wish we could have stayed more than the one night!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have stayed at bluewater lodge on my last day in Fiji, it is just located 5 mins to the office of Turtle airways, not too far away from the Nadi downtown (10d taxi fees). We stayed in Room 2 which is an ensuite with a bathroom included. The room is not large but spacious enough, one of the good thing is the air-condition espeicailly for those who just came back from the Yasawas can finally have a good night. Bed is good, clean and confortable. Breakfast is a little bit simple, but yeah that's the money you paid for.
One issue is as we are in room 2, there are always the sounds of door opening and closing just outside, I cannot tell which door it is because of I'm too lazy, but I guess it might be the bathroom for people living upstairs?
Also, despite of the free wifi provided, it is hardly usable as the speed is too slow. First I thought it is because of too many people are accessing at the same time, but then I tried in 5 am, still killing slow. So, for those of you who are looking for good connection, it may not be a good choice.
Overall, it is a very good lodge and good for those budget travellers or just one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank featheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here 12 months ago & thought it was great, however it has gone downhill over the last year. We stayed for a night either side of visiting the islands, and on both occasions cleanliness was a significant issue.

The first night our bed sheets were stained with blood, and the second night they also had various stains. The driver who was booked to pick us up from the airport didn't show up & there was no way to contact them, the good thing was the taxi was cheaper than the transfer. When he dropped us back at the airport the next morning he told us how he'd been drinking with the staff the night before, before he dropped them home, so we were quite happy he didn't show up.

The food was fine without being anything special, but was better then anything in Nadi town.

Overall this is a convenient place for staying for a night in transit, but after the cleanliness issues this time we will go elsewhere next time

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaftAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We cannot recommend BlueWater highly enough to you! It has everything you would need as a traveller to Fiji and is a great place to use as a base. Arriving we knew very little about what Fiji had to offer but the owner went out of his way to arrange an experience of a life time for us. We had a double room with an en suite, and it was lovely!The staff are super friendly and the food really is outstanding! Very clean, you will not be disappointed! The absolute hands down best value for money place we have ever stayed! Run by really honest people who love Fiji and are delighted to help you have a 5* experience of the beautiful country!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemmy_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Tonight we came to this hotel about 3 o'click - they did not pick up us in airport, hotel was closed, we can not call nobody, have to stay about 30 min in the night and shout - Hello, somebody - open your gate, we had booking in your place. In some min 3 very drunk man opened door for us, our room was not prepare for us, they were drunk and agressiva and when I told that I need sleep tonight, but tomorrow I dont want to stay here - one drunk man began to shout - you can go out now!!
We have to change this bad hotel for another early morning!! NEVER GO THERE!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miraten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
1.9 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#11 of 25 in Nadi
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Lodge

Property: Bluewater Lodge
Address: Baravi Road | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluewater Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewater Lodge is a cheap and cheerful tropical property. We warmly welcome alternative travellers seeking a quiet and peaceful Nadi stay, just 2 minutes walk from the beach. Our property offers twin share rooms, ensuite rooms and also dorm beds. There is a lovely pool, a spacious outdoor area, free wifi and a great Fiji travel info desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Bluewater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Hotel Nadi
Bluewater Lodge Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing