We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Sea Island Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were recently on a Princess cruise which had a stop in Port Denarau, I opted for the South Sea Island tour..it was... t.h.e. b.e.s.t ...tour of all of our cruise stops. We were welcomed with a song and a dance by the local Fijian people, same when we were leaving.

Its a small island that you can walk from one side to the other in probably 1 minute and around the island in less than 5 minutes.

Kayaking, snorkelling, scuba diving was included as was a ride on the semi-submersible boat. Also included was a bbq lunch and drinks (beer and soft drink). Plenty of lounge chairs, hammocks in the shade. Small swimming pool on the island. Local crafts were also for sale by the local Fijian women. They accept Fiji or Australian money.

The beach has a LOT of broken coral and water shoes were good to have on hand. The ocean was crystal clear, warm and stunning! We all left there very sunburned! We would not hesitate to recommend a tour to this island and would absolutely do this again! Words just can't describe it enough...its beautiful!

Bula!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wifeofanaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for South Sea Island Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 119 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked a day trip to visit this island through our resort, departing from Denarau Port. The tour included pick up from our resort and it takes approx 30 minutes from the Port to the island by boat. I chose this island for our day trip as it was the closest one to the port, I didn't want to spend 2+ hours during the day just on a boat travelling to and from the other islands.

The island is small but absolutely gorgeous. Plenty of deck chairs and shade around the whole island to set up for the day. I did snorkelling for the first time in my life here and have now found my new favourite thing to do! I loved it so much that I did a morning tour out in the ocean, afternoon tour in the ocean and then snorkeled around the whole island in my free time. Probably wouldn't be as enjoyable for experienced people who enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving but I loved it.

Also did kayaking around the whole island but we did that in less than 10 minutes.

Small salt water pool on the island.

The tour included a BBQ lunch which was delicious, along with unlimited drinks.

The staff are all very friendly and welcoming.

Would definitely recommend as a fun day trip away from the main island!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MynaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed on this amazing island for 2 nights as part of the awesome adventures "tropical awegasm" package. This was one of my favourite islands. You can walk around the entire island in 3 min ! So small and has a real personal paradise feel to it. During the day it's full with about 150 day visitors from the mainland. Once they leave is when you have the whole island to yourself, all non motorised water sports are free and the staff at the dive shop were so friendly. I had never snorkeled before and they were so patient and took me out to show me.

There is only 1 building on the island. The bar is downstairs and you eat dinner together outside. The food was really good with generous sized portions. The dorms are basic but clean I had a small dorm to myself on the first night. The resort was very clean and the staff encourage you to make friends at night with entertainment.

I really didn't want to leave this tiny beauty of an island by the end.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fan and you are in one large dorm. Mainly for backpackers, wouldn't recommend t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a great choice for a day trip. we only did the half day, as our original itinerary was rained out and we didn't want 2 full day trips in a row. But the 12.15-6pm option was perfect, nice lunch on arrival, found our spot under a shelter with mat, deck chairs and bean bags, then snorkelled, swam, canoed, sailed and used the submarine viewer. Lovely staff and beautiful singing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great for a day trip or a few nights in paradise. Being the smallest inhabited island in Fiji (apparently) it certainly has a lot more to offer than you expect. Very friendly staff, excellent facilities, great activities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelodyeHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

A very small island 30 mins away from Port Denarau. For me, it's postcard-perfect!

Accommodation is only dormitory - style but it's clean and not so crowded.

The compulsory meal plan is good value and the food is tasty.

The dive shop is well-managed and diving in the nearby wreck is highly recommended.

The beach is nice and there is also a small pool in the island.

The island is managed by South Sea Cruises, the same company that runs catamarans around the Mamanucas and the Yasawas. Transfers to other islands is very easy from South Sea Island and it's worth staying here for a day or two.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank louierh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This tiny island is a real beauty. We did a day trip to South Sea Island, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It only takes around 10 minutes to walk the circumference.

There are plenty of lounge chairs and hammocks for relaxing, and although most people set up on the side where our boat came in, the other side gives a great fresh breeze and the best shade coverage. There is also a small pool, and a fresh water shower. Kids Club is available.

Submersible vehicle trip was good, although the photos didn't turn out the best.

Our lunch was included, and I can thoroughly recommend the fish! We were entertained by a group from the foundation village, who were terrific. I had a great chat with the ladies from the group. They also sold jewellery, which helps support their families.

All your beer/wine/softdrink and water is included in the day trip price, so it is one of the best value tours in Fiji.

I enjoyed my snorkelling, and saw many fish on the coral side of the island. Many people enjoyed the clear water on the other side, where they lazed in the water on "noodles". Only a 30 minute trip from Denarau Port.

Backpacker type accommodation is available - I think they said it was around $120 a night.

Room Tip: Didn't sleep there - but would be great for young people.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamanuca Islands
1.5 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
457 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beachcomber Island Resort
Beachcomber Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Beachcomber Island
564 reviews
4.1 mi away
Treasure Island Resort
Treasure Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Treasure Island
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
887 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
12.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sea Island Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sea Island Accommodation

Address: South Sea Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Mamanuca Islands
Price Range: $59 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — South Sea Island Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous little South Sea Island is one of the treasures of the Mamanuca Islands. Crystal clear waters, coral reefs and thousands of colourful of tropical fish surround the island. No one lives on the island; the only overnight guests are the travellers who find this a great spot to stop off on the way to and from the Yasawas. It's only 30 minutes by ferry from Denarau Marina, so nice and easy! A dorm with a large deck and sun loungers sits atop the open-air restaurant, built with a rustic island theme in mind. You can stand on the beach on one side of the island and watch the sunrise. Later that day walk (for all of a minute!) to the other side to watch the sunset! Pure bliss! It may be small in size, but there is plenty to keep you entertained. During the day, day-trippers visit South Sea Island from Denarau who bring activity and entertainment with them. South Sea Island FijiThere is a salt water swimming pool and non-motorised water sports equipment available free of charge. Take in the underwater world aboard the semi-submersible or get a taste of Fijian culture with a traditional Meke performance and craft market Monday to Saturday. South Sea is a great place to learn to dive. Expert instructors and clear, shallow water ensures your first dives will be memorable. The marine life and coral you'll see will amaze you and if you're up for it, you can take a dive on out to a wreck. Come the evening there is no more tranquil place to be - cold drink in hand, the lapping of the waves the only sound to be heard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your South Sea Island Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sea Island Hotel Mamanuca Islands
South Sea Island Accommodation Fiji/Mamanuca Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing