We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stop for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Sea Island Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stop for a couple of nights”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

South Sea island was my first stop of a two week trip traveling round the mamuca and yasawa islands. It is tiny but that was part of the charm, you do feel as though you are on your very own private island - you can walk round the entire island in under 20 minutes at a gentle stroll! The staff were very friendly and we had a fire lit dinner on the beach which was amazing. It was the only island I stayed on where the snorkeling kit was free which I wish I had known before going on as I'd have used them a lot more! We were treated to the sight of small black tip reef sharks playing in the shallows while we ate breakfast which was amazing! All in all, Fiji is definitely a little bit of paradise! The sleeping and washing facilities are very basic but you take it at face value and it's worth it for the surroundings. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_T_J_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
32
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We really didn't know what to expect as this was our first trip to Fiji & our first day trip.... The island was beautiful, the staff were very helpfully & friendly, the lunch was delicious & lunch time dancers were very entertaining... We spent most of the day snorkaling with the kids in the calm water of the beach & put the kids in the kids club in the afternoon so we could try scuba diving... Both Robin & Romano our dive instructors where very professional & friendly & made us feel very comfortable in our surroundings as this was our first time that we had ever been diving.... I cannot thank the boys enough, we had such an amazing experience that when we returned to our resort that night we recalculated our spending money & returned to the island for another day trip 2 days later. During our second day the kids wanted to spend most o the day with Moses in the kids club as they had such a great time with him on the first afternoon & again we were able to go diving again with Robin & Romano. The Marine life was amazing & it was exciting to get to see a few small reef sharks... I would recommend this day trip to anyone & everyone we had an amazing 2 days & will be defiantly be going back...

Regards Aussie

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieQLD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Only one dorm here so you’ll be with lots of other backpackers. DECENT FOR ONE NIGHT MAX just to experience staying on such a tiny island. Here are some details:

STAFF/SERVICE: Mixed…most try very hard to please but I had a very bad experience with the bartender “John.” We were told upon arrival that beer was $6 and mixed drinks were $7, and that half-priced happy hour was 5-7pm. We ordered two mixed drinks during happy hour and were presented with bill for $18! “John” said that everything else is half priced except mixed drinks and that they were $9 each, not $7…we refused to pay and he took the drinks back. Then I confirmed that the beer was half-priced and he said yes but they were $3.50 each and not $3 as we were initially told. In general this was just an unpleasant experience and the bartender was really rude and you can tell that this made the other staff members uncomfortable and bothered by him as well. As budget-minded backpackers we always confirm prices but didn’t feel the need to do so, since we were told the prices just 30 minutes earlier.

AMENITIES:
-We booked the Awesome Adventures “Lazy Threesome” Package, which included all meals. We only had breakfast and lunch here but both were very good and hearty. It would have been nice to have had the option for a boxed lunch on the day of our early departure since lunch was paid for in our package, but this was not an option.
-Electricity 24/7
-Lots of lounge chairs on the beach to watch the sunrise/sunset
-Pool, but we didn’t get a chance to jump in

ACTIVITIES:
-1 day/night may actually be too long. Our evening/morning stay was plenty
-Ocean is very nice and this was the best snorkeling we experienced in Fiji. Just before sunset the snorkeling was fantastic with lots of tropical fish, but in the morning there were less fish and lots of jellyfish-like creatures which gave minor stings (not sure if this changes based on the time of day). Free snorkel gear was great
-Warning – This island is popular for day trips from the mainland…so although only 20 or so people can sleep there, there could be 100+ people on the island during the day. We never got to see how this affected the atmosphere since we left too early the next day and many of these daytrippers go out on snorkel/dive trips, but it’s worth a mention

ROOM/BATHROOM:
-Dorm was clean and foot lockers are assigned for small bags and personal items (bring your own lock)
-Bathroom/Showers grossed me out, probably because so many people use only those 2 bathrooms/showers. They were also not the cleanest.

COMMON AREAS:
-Outdoor dining area
-Volleyball court, but lots of rocks in the sand

LOCATION:
-Only 20-30 minutes from Port Denaru. We passed this island while heading much farther north on our first day. This is a tiny island and idyllic of a Fiji holiday
-We had to be back in Port Denaru on the early side and taking the South Sea Ferry at 9:30am was no problem at all. We did have to do the full loop around the Mamanuca Islands but it was a great tour and still got us to port around noon.

For more details about our trip, including pictures, check out our blog post here (copy and paste the link into your browser): http://thecarpediemcouple.com/2012/11/25/im-relaxing/

Cheers,
Mike (one half of The Carpe Diem Couple)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCarpeDiemCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I'd booked online for 6 of us and paid upfront for a South Sea Day all day trip which was to include snorkelling, a trip in the submersible, lunch and a Fijian 'Meke' performance. Just before we flew to Fiji I got an email to say they'd cancelled as they had a charter on that day and could I nominate another day. I chose a different day and when we got to the Marina it was bucketing down with rain and the wind was picking up.

We were saturated and the air conditioning on the boat was sooo cold that it was uncomfortable.The island would be lovely on a sunny day but in the rain it was very limited. The snorkelling on the reef was cancelled due to the rain but we did snorkel a bit off the beach. The submersible is great and worth doing. We saw a turtle as well as loads of fish and coral. The Fijian 'Meke' performance was not done probably due to the rain which got heavier and heavier so we were offered the option of an early trip back to the marina.

Unfortunately by the time we got back on the main ship we were again soaked through to the skin and that air conditioning was FREEZING. My baby and I got the flu from being so cold and wet for hours.

The staff did their best and were really nice people but I think that on a rainy and windy day the cruise should have been rescheduled.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AstroSydney64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. The dorm was great - clean, spacious, 2 ensuite bathrooms, not too hot. It helped that there were only a few guests in there. The bunk beds had lockers under the beds too which you used your own padlock on.

The island is tiny, you can walk around it in 5 minutes. There is a saltwater pool which is OK. the beach is OK. But not soft white sand - rocks and coral - but maybe this was because of the recent cyclone. The sea was clear and there were free water sport activities e.g. canoe hire for guests.

Food was OK, ate dinner on the beach which was nice.

Don't stay more than one night though because you'd be bored pretty quickly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02kel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed on South Sea for 2 nights at the start of an island hopping package and only wished I stopped here at the end of my trip too. True the island was overrun with day trippers between 9.30am and 4.30pm but after they left there were only a handful of overnight guests remaining which, despite the islands small size, gave the impression of being on your own private island! The accommodation though a basic dorm was great, really clean with plentiful ceiling fans and lockers under the bed which could be padlocked ( i didn't see many more like that in Fiji) The food was tasty with large portions. There were plenty of sunloungers and hammocks with parasols to escape the heat and there was lots to do. All activities were free and also free use of water sport equipment; snorkeling, kayaking, sailing, reef trip and swimming kept me nice and busy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We first visited South Sea Island over 8 years ago on a combo day trip, and at that time, the island had the bare minimum for tourists. We never felt the wish to revisit during the many times (15) that we have travelled to Fiji. We recently travelled with 2 friends (who were 1st time visitors to Fiji) and my brother who has been a few times, but never to South Sea Island. We have many friends among the staff of South Sea Cruises, as a day out with South Sea Cruises is always on our itinerary each time we visit. They suggested we take our friends for a full day, as it is the closest to get to and a longer time can be spent on the island. We were so happily surprised at the improvements - the new buildings, pool, plentiful shady bures and loungers on the beach, and the wonderful lunch and free drinks! Our friends said it was exactly what they dreamed of in a tropical island. The trip out was quick and efficient, and the island was not overcrowded. There is plenty to keep everyone entertained and more than ample spaces to just relax for the day. I do agree that reef shoes are a must to protect from the hot sand and coral cuts. I am a vegetarian and found a good variety of food to have at lunch, and there was plenty of it. Everyone commented on how nice the lunch was and most went back for seconds. The free drinks went down well on a hot sunny day too. The entertainment at lunch time was so enjoyable, and it gave our friends and my brother the chance to experience the beautiful dancing and singing of the Fijian people. We were all fascinated at how skillful Moses is with the hat weaving he does for the childrens' entertainment. I was also very impressed with the care and attention given by the young lady who was minding some of the visiting children. She was so patient and caring with them all. We have been to many other islands for day trips, and found this one the best. My husband and I have now put this on our must-do list for when we return in about six months. Congratulations of the improvements and thank you for a wonderful day out!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fijifanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamanuca Islands
1.5 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
437 reviews
11.2 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
580 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beachcomber Island Resort
Beachcomber Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Beachcomber Island
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Treasure Island Resort
Treasure Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Treasure Island
834 reviews
12.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
890 reviews
11.2 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sea Island Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sea Island Accommodation

Property: South Sea Island Accommodation
Address: South Sea Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Mamanuca Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — South Sea Island Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous little South Sea Island is one of the treasures of the Mamanuca Islands. Crystal clear waters, coral reefs and thousands of colourful of tropical fish surround the island. No one lives on the island; the only overnight guests are the travellers who find this a great spot to stop off on the way to and from the Yasawas. It's only 30 minutes by ferry from Denarau Marina, so nice and easy! A dorm with a large deck and sun loungers sits atop the open-air restaurant, built with a rustic island theme in mind. You can stand on the beach on one side of the island and watch the sunrise. Later that day walk (for all of a minute!) to the other side to watch the sunset! Pure bliss! It may be small in size, but there is plenty to keep you entertained. During the day, day-trippers visit South Sea Island from Denarau who bring activity and entertainment with them. South Sea Island FijiThere is a salt water swimming pool and non-motorised water sports equipment available free of charge. Take in the underwater world aboard the semi-submersible or get a taste of Fijian culture with a traditional Meke performance and craft market Monday to Saturday. South Sea is a great place to learn to dive. Expert instructors and clear, shallow water ensures your first dives will be memorable. The marine life and coral you'll see will amaze you and if you're up for it, you can take a dive on out to a wreck. Come the evening there is no more tranquil place to be - cold drink in hand, the lapping of the waves the only sound to be heard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your South Sea Island Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sea Island Hotel Mamanuca Islands
South Sea Island Accommodation Fiji/Mamanuca Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing