We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner spot”

Tamarind House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The exclusive, romantic and private restaurant venue on the island with delicious and world-renowned Pacific cuisine. Away from the crowds and the public eye, a fine dining evening with your loved ones or a wedding at Tamarind House is an extra special experience. Whether your requirements are large or small, we are eager to accommodate you with an event that you will long remember. Tamarind House is a versatile venue offering five different areas to suit any occasion. Tamarind House Restaurant on the island of Rarotonga in the Cook Islands is situated on a large oceanfront property, with it's stately beautifully restored historic colonial house, huge verandas and french doors, and a lovely garden shaded by coconut palms and green lawns sweeping down to the ocean. It is just a 3 minute drive from the town centre, and the round the island bus stops just by the entrance. You can enjoy a feeling of nostalgia for a bygone era in the peaceful seclusion of our truly unique tropical setting..
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best dinner spot”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Food is generally very good in Rarotonga, plenty of fresh ingredients, but the style of food at most restaurants are what I would call good pub food and maybe a bit dated, but still good value. This restaurant's food was more contemporary than most and a beautiful spot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terrianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    260
    76
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate a special occasion”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Eleven of us celebrated my 50th birthday at Tamarind House which none of us could fault it. The food was beautiful. One friend was gluten free and discussed the menu with Chris the waiter to what she could eat. Bread came with her shrimp cocktail and he apologised for it being on her plate which we thought was pretty good. We had a lovely night and would recommend the Tamarind for any kind of function. Thank you Tamarind House for the lovely food and a lovely night.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Excellent choice of food with lots of seafood on the menu and good drinks menu too. Setting is excellent, food very tasty and service fast and friendly. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Magical setting and amazing food!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had dinner here last week. The setting is right on the beach and we had booked at 6pm so that the sun would be setting....it was stunning! The menu is exciting and varied with a large 'specials' board as well as a la carte.The menu shows a good mix of cuisines from the Pacific with Asian influences. if i had to choose a location for a wedding.... this would be it, it's very romantic with quiet, efficient service. I would recommend anyone who enjoys good food to book a table at Tamarind House.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wedding Lunch”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My new husband and I experienced our wedding lunch at Tamarind House. We had eloped and it was only the two of us. They made our lunch very private and decorated our table with red and white linen to match our attire. The food was absolutely beautiful. Thank you Tamarind House for making our wedding lunch very memorable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind House Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Arorangi, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tamarind House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing