We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Islander Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$472
$391
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$278
$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$151
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$288
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
58
70
68
21
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
70
68
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadisland nightclose to the airportcheap drinksbetween flightsseafood platterairport hotelshort stayflight homehappy hourswimming poolouter islandsbuffet dinnerhour layovercomfortable bedsearly checkika mata
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 239 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Located a short walk from the airport, this is convenient if you arrive very late or have to leave early. Basic cheap rooms, 1 or 2 doubles. Would only stay here one night as it doesn't have the facilities or activities of all the other resorts.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank map_bgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We booked a dorm room so we could have a little sleep between two flights.
The beds are clean, you can take a shower, and have dinner. There's even a swimming pool.

I recommend this to everyone for a stop over on Rarotonga.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0niekske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Arriving early hours and still dark, pre-booked dorm room to stay several hours NZ$30 (which is the nightly rate), until my flight to Aitutaki. The hotel is very convenient to the airport, just a short walk - about 2 minutes. Dorm rooms are adequate and the design/layout is quite private, 12 bunks (24 beds) with 3 bathrooms. I even managed to get some sleep, to the point that when I awoke there was no time for breakfast, although I did check out the beautiful view of the reef from the restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful. The close vicinity to the airport was a big plus.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogirlnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Well located for those middle of the night arrivals and departures, the hotel is across the road (less than five mins walk) from the airport. Its new-ish, less than 10 years old, and the rooms are comfortable with everything you need but not luxurious. There's a restaurant on site which is pretty good and a basic breakfast of tropical fruit, cereals, toast, tea/coffee. It is away from the beaches (view of the sea but no good for swimming) but its easy as anything to hire a car or get the round the island bus to Muri et al.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed at the Aquarius purely because it is, literally, across the road from the airport.
With a 2 a.m. departure we wanted a refuge as much as a hotel so we could shower and try to grab a few hours sleep.
The hotel fulfils such expectations. The 24 hour reception and staff are very helpful and the restaurant is also up to scratch and nicely situated.
The problem is whether to book an actual room or just a dorm facility.
As we only needed a facility for no more than 5 hours we decided on the latter.
The down side is that you are unlikely to really sleep much there and a room (which others spoke very complimentarily of) would definitely be the right choice for any longer stay.
Ultimately it comes down to how long you need a facility for and every one will take a different view.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swansonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews