We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveler rating
61
75
71
23
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
75
71
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadisland nightclose to the airportcheap drinksairport hotelseafood plattershort stayflight homehappy hourbuffet dinnerswimming poolouter islandshour layovercomfortable bedsearly checkika matanew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 255 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2017

We were to be picked up at the airport, no one showed. The room was terrible, no hand towels, no face cloths, black gobs hanging from the ceiling fan, no pen, no paper, no black out curtains and a hula show went on outside our window til midnight.
Very scuzzy place and not too courteous staff

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review.
If you weren't met on arrival - you did not provide your flight details to us.
Our rooms have bath towels, hand towels and bath mats. No face cloths.
Pen and paper are phased out since people use smart phones.
Black out curtains are on the way - eye masks are in (just like in business class amenity kits).
Island Night Hula show ends at 9.30pm on Tuesdays.
Hotel cant be that 'scuzzy' if it is hugely popular with guests staying in-house or dining in the busy restaurant.
Our staff continuously receive praise for their friendly unobtrusive service.
We hope you enjoyed your Rarotongan holiday.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night. True to management responses to past posts, their bar closed at 11:30pm and so did the loud music. There were outdoor tables within 2 metres from our window which made it quite noisy. There is also minimal insulation to the indoor corridor, so we were privy to many conversations on the couches right near our room. But all went silent by midnight and we both slept well.

Room itself was comfortable with a great fan and aircon if needed. We also were lucky to recieve an early check in which was greatly appreciated.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank loshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us.
We will be removing the couches along the corridor to avoid sitting and talking, especially at night when guests are trying to get to sleep.
We will soon introduce eye masks and ear plugs (like in airplane business class kits) to all rooms to improve sleep quality.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Rarotonga.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017

Accommodation at this hotel is great because it is close to the airport and still not too far from the main shopping area.But the Islander is a great place just to visit for a quick coffee or drink when waiting for a flight or as a night out destination. If you have kids with you the pool is great to keep them entertained while you relax and enjoy great, fresh food and friendly service with an island flare,

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mauketai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, meals, drinks and friendly service by the team. We hope to see you again, soon.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

This place has AMAZING food with views and service to match. We ate here upon arrival and then spent a whole day just eating, drinking and taking in the view before catching our flight in the pm. Easily one of the best places on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaiJanif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your meals, views and service from our team. We do hope to see you again, soon.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

This place is awesome. It has a nice vibe, friendly staff, cheap beers and the food is top notch. If you ever pop in for the cheap beers, try there Ika Mata with Island fries on the side. You wont regret it. There is the Hula bar to the rear of the Hotel that has great music, probably not the best to have kids there but you cant really hear it from the rooms. The best place if your young and keen for a few cold ones, then this is the ideal spot. Rooms are actually quite nice, with strong aircon and comfortable beds. Naomi and the team where very welcoming. Thanks for an awesome stay. See you in a years time : )

Room Tip: Furthest room may be better for noise levels
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joshandphoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2017

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, your meals and off course your drinks at the 'Tiki Bar' in the main restaurant and the iconic 'Hula Bar' on the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews