We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed”
Review of The Islander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Islander Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I walked into my room and I know it was a budget hotel, I really had a problem. I am not complaining for me, but I am letting you know so that you dont send anyone else there!!! I dont think the bathroom/toilet floor had ever been washed, had to put a towel down on the floor, there was a massive fungis growing on the corner of the shower on the roof. The shower constantly dripped. The tap on the vanity was not fixed to the vanity and there was no plug. The pictures in the lounge were all growing something, the carpet needed a really good clean. The suitcase holder was so rusted. Only one of the four lights above the beds were working, they were very rusted. There were lamps missing. No air con but there was a fan,which you had to turn off at night, because it squeaked at every turn!! My room was only serviced once and that was the day I was leaving. The night before I left the whole curtain and rods fell completely off the wall and I had no curtains at all! Now I did go see them and they were very polite, but nothing was done. They said there was no-one there to fix things. They knew the curtains fall off in rooms three (my room) and five. I laughed so hard and then sat down and had a cry. Only three nights to endure. I must say the food there was fantastic and the linen and the bed was clean and comfortable. I know I paid for budget, but I did expect clean and I have attached some pictures so you can see I am not exaggerating

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusanjaneRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 219 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great place to stay when you have an early morning arrival/departure from Raro airport. Stayed in a dorm for two nights at the begining and end of a holiday in Aitutaki. Was a cost effective place to stay. The dorm and bathrooms were clean and tidy and I was quite comfortable staying there. The bar, restaurant, pool, outdoor tables loungers etc were all great. Nice view of the reef and sea, nice place to have a few beers anticipating/reflecting on your holiday. Friendly staff, 2 minutes walk to the airport, nothing to fault really other than the price to use the internet. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matt38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our flight from Auckland arrived 1:00 am and we were departing on a 10:30 am flight to Aitutaki so we booked 2 rooms at the Aquarius and arranged airport pick-up. When we arrived they were waiting for us. Although the airport is within easy walking distance, I figured it was late and we would be tired. We walked back to the airport in the morning.

The rooms are clean and basic. There is no AC but it was a cool, breezy night so we had no trouble sleeping. The breakfast is very simple, just coffee, tea, juice, toast and fruit but it was adequate.

We left our luggage with them during our 4 night stay in Aitutaki for $5 per bag. When we came back to the airport, Pacific Resort Rarotonga picked us up and swung around to the Aquarius and we jumped out and picked up our bags.

The staff all seem to be hard-working and try hard to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Aquarius serves a great purpose for back packers and budget-conscious travelers. More importantly, it offers a comfortable place for those in transition to relax, grab a bite, or a cocktail before a long international flight. It is within walking distance of the airport and offers a restaurant and full bar. There is no air conditioning in the private rooms BUT this is indeed stated in the brochure and on their web site. For the convenience and price the Aquarius is worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cabotoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We dropped in for an early breakfast last week on our way to Aitutaki, our flight was early and they weren't ready for breakfast but Ben told us to sit down and relax while he turned the coffee machine on and the kitchen fired up.

When it came the coffee was decent, and our breakfast of bacon and eggs was very tasty and quite cheap, I think only NZ$23 in total for 2 of us.

As an added bonus a mother whale and her calf were breaching just past the reef, no more than 200 meters from where we were sitting. The swam backwards and forwards for an hour or so, what a great way to start our Cook Islands holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night after arriving from a late flight on our way to Aitutaki. Given the proximity of the hotel to the airport as well as the fairly cheap rate make this a good option for a quick night stay or for someone on more of a budget. Rooms are fairly bare bones but are decent size. The hotel is right on the beach and has an outdoor area with a pool and tables. Quite adequate for a quick stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Aquarius is right across the road from the only airport on Rarotonga. You can easily walk the 80 metres from the terminal to your room. (Leave terminal, turn RIGHT, keep walking)
Rooms are nice, tidy and spacious with a good ensuite.
The bed was king-size but not that comfy.
No T.V.
The internet was expensive and slow.
We stayed 2 nights and I thought I'd be woken by planes but this never happened. I was however, woken by other guests and the light in the hallway. Both can be blamed on the louvre windows above the room door which have no curtains (why?!?) The pool area looked nice and the hammocks were comfy. I ate in the restaurant which was pretty terrible (reviewed seperatly) and the included breakfast was as minimal as it could possible be.
As a 1 or 2 nighter for airport purposes you could do far worse.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudekarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
5.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.5 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Address: | Main Road, Panama Beachfront, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: $122 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Airport Hotel is a great value for money 3 star beachfront hotel directly across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. Our HULA bar on the beach offers all day happy hour from 11am to 11pm Mon to Sun with NZD3.50 beers, spirits, wines and soft drinks. Bring your own music with our 'U-DJ' product. Great for friends and family who wish to soak in Rarotonga's warm sunshine with cold cold drinks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing