We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Rock Villas
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$470
$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$397
$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove(Vaimaanga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
74
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelle and andycafe on siteswimming poolcomfortable bedsmuri beachprivacyparadiseaccommodationwhalesrarotongaweddingislandblissbbqnzgearroosters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 79 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2008

My husband and I plus our 2 boys aged 10 &13 took a much needed 10 break during the July school hols I had been at a loss where to stay in Rarotonga as we stayed at the Rarotongan 3 years ago and didn't really enjoy the experience and felt we wanted something where we were a little more independant from the resort style of holiday. I came across Blackrock villas on the trip advisor site and decided from the reviews and communication with the owners that it was more of what we were looking for. I was a little bit apprehensive at first having never booked anything off the web before but turned out I needn't have worried. It was great spacious well set out private villas that gave us all the room we needed. A beautiful swimming pool that the boys spent most of their time in with a fantastic view of the sea. The owners run a fabulous restaurant on Saturday and Sunday nights which I thoroughly recommend was rated as at the top of our eating experiences in Rarotonga and we ate out most nights. The hosts did everything they could to make our stay a memorable one. As there are two villas it would be a great place for extended family or two family groups to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandSueF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

The Black Rock Villas in the Cook Islands with hosts Mieke, Holger and Sven Hasselman is a fabulous accommodation to stay at. The view is magnificent, the food is fabulous and the hosts are absolutely the most down to earth people you could ever imagine meeting. Our three weeks spend in the Cook Islands were the best ever as the accommodation is so tranquil and secluded that you really forget about the rest of the world and just enjoy the relaxation time. The infinity pool is marvelous with it's salt water. While floating in this and watching the few clouds float by, you can really forget all your troubles and let the world pass you by!
Mieke's cooking - well, let's just say we all gained a few pounds on this trip. She makes a fantastic melt in your mouth, Avacado Fillet Steak; a to die for Chocolate Mousse; but you should also really start the meal with her Red Tuna Sashimi . The restaurant runs Saturdays and Sundays (thank goodness for my figure) and you really need to make a reservation as it fills up quickly.
The Black Rock Villas are on our list of Number ONE accommodations any where in the world. We will definitely be enjoying their company again and again. The time spent on the Cook Islands has been one of the best holidays ever.
Definitely a Must Do for any one wanting to relax totally !
Chandra

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chandubay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Black Rock Villas. The Villas has everthing you need (fully self-contained) Privacy at all. Full service. A great saltwater swimmingpool, a beautiful tropic garden with a beautiful vieuw on the Pacific. Realy a paradise!!!!
The restaurant is open every Saterday and Sunday night. It's a must you eat there, Fantastic dinner!!!!!! The hosts Mieke,Holger and Sven are very kindly,they do everything to make you stay unforgetable.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank LucySneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Two gorgeous villas in a completely private setting. This place is champion, the unit we stayed in was immaculate, great pool and the best DVD library I've seen! Good fishing and the owners are very friendly but stay out of your way. This place would be really good for a medium sized group of friends or family cos if you book both villas you have the whole place to yourselves including cooking facilities, barbeque, laundry and more fresh papaya than anyone can eat! The pool is lovely, it's a really relaxing place... I spent the whole day by the pool some days although the island is so small you can be anywhere within 20 mins. The owners also operate a restaurant Saturday & Sunday night only, the food is great! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucky002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at this Resort. The Villa is wonderful and has everthing you might need. The owner of the property is very helpful and we even got given to us two loaves of home made bread from the pizza oven. The only negative comment I have is that food etc on Raro has got very exensive, make's it worthwhile to go out for meals.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wasaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews