We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Stopover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Motel

Central Motel
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Central Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Convenient Stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you're on passing through Rarotonga, and prefer to be in the main town of Avarua, Central Motel is well located, and a short walk to the main road and faciities.

I had to alter my arrangements more than once before I arrived, but Malcolm accommodated these changes pretty well. The only failing was not getting the lift back to the airport at the end of my trip, despite checking the day before the time and pickup point (the harbour, not the motel). Fortunately I was able to organise an alternative when his colleague did not show up.

The rooms are simple and functional, appropriate as advertised, and the staff are generally helpful. There are a few mozzies about - not normally an issue, but there was a Zika virus outbreak at the time, so make sure you carry insect repellant (I didn't catch it, but plenty of locals and some travellers had). It may well be over - the Cook Is usually don't have such issues - but check when travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for an air-conditioned room if you prefer this - some rooms are, some have fans only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
10
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We picked the Central Motel as the best-looking spot to have a rest overnight. It was pretty much as we expected. Relatively clean and comfortable. Service was no issue and the staff who we dealt with were friendly. A big plus was having air conditioning in the room we stayed in. All of this at a very reasonable price. We would probably stay here again if we had to do a night in Rarotonga but might look at other options too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_and_d_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place is comfortable and very central to everything. There is nothing else as clean and pleasant at this price point in Rarotonga. The rooms are very large and well equipped, and the owner is a great guy. Makes a point of remembering all the guests' names and goes out of his way to help you out. If you are staying here and want to hire a car, ask him - he has one for hire.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is not usually necessary with the Rarotongan climate, so the fan-only rooms are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I chose this property because I wanted to be in Avarua - the main town of Rarotonga, during my mandatory stopover in Rarotonga before heading to another island, and Central Motel is the only property located in town.

The room is basic with a queen size bed, 2 bedside tables, 2 bedside lamps, a standing fan, a coffee table, a small TV, 2 armchairs, wardrobe with hangers/basket/iron/ironing board, a bar fridge, a kettle, a toaster, tea/coffee making facilities, glasses, plates, and cutlery, as well as an air conditioner. The bathroom has a shower box and electric shaving outlets.

The rooms surround a small courtyard with a picnic table and a spa pool, there is also a small parking area outside the motel. Malcolm the owner lives onsite, making it very easy to get ahold of him.

The motel is located just off the courthouse and government offices, it is about 8 minutes walk to the Police Station (where one can get a driver's licence for NZD20, bring passport) and the CITC mall. There is a lively Saturday morning market at the other end of the town, about 20 minutes walk away, which has a good variety of local produce as well as local crafts.

All the shops within walking distance are closed on Sunday with the exception of Raro Fried Chicken (opens 24 hours).

Airport pick up/drop off is NZD5 per journey, Wifi internet credits can be purchased on Zenbu's website, at less than NZD100 per night the room rates are definitely the best on Rarotonga for a short stay.

I would recommend this property to anyone who wish to have a no frill and no hassle stay in Rarotonga.

Tusen tack Malcolm!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at Central on our first night as we had booked private accommodation in Muri Beach and this was not available til the following day. We arrived after midnight and Malcolm picked us up which was great. Rooms are basic but clean, excellent value for Raro and very central and the next morning Malcolm offered to take us to our private accomodation for little cost and along the way since basically around the other side of the island shown us places to go etc. Can't recommend Malcolm highly enough for doing this and since he has lived on the island for many years has a wealth of knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brendon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Central on the last night of our holiday after leaving Aitutaki. Malcolm, the owner, is a great character with an amazing BBC accent!! The motel is situated down a quiet street and a very short distance from the centre of Avarua, the airport and Trader Jacks bar...(although we never got to go there...(be aware nothing opens on Sundays....including just about all of the supermarkets!!!) Definately try Bamboo Jacks Resturant....they are DEF open Sunday evenings and they have a bar!!....Malcolm will direct you!! The rooms are basic but huge, there are beers and soft drinks in the fridge, all at very reasonable prices, and Malcolm is wonderful!...it's worth staying there just for the entertainment!. Excellent value for money!! Thanks Malcolm!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally McM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiara, Solomon Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Central Motel is well situated close to the main part of town, and Malcolm the manager cannot seem to do enough to make sure everyone is looked after (i.e. great service, including airport pick-up). The rooms are clean, modern, and very comfortable. I had the best night sleep I've had in months there (a cooler Raro night - no fan or air con on!). It was great to see reasonably priced beer in the bar fridge too for those times when you just want a beer or two and don't want the hassle of going out. Highly recommended for business travelers or those who don't want the hassle of the larger resorts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NickReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
1.5 mi away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Motel

Property: Central Motel
Address: Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Central Motel as it name implies, is in the centre of our main town Avarua. It is ideal for visiting consultants, business people, company representatives and tourists who like to be in town and still only a short bus,scooter,bike or car ride to fabulous beaches.We have 14 rooms and a small conference room. Our rooms have IDD phones, T.V's, fridges, toasters, kettles, mini bars, tea/coffee making facilities, fans and en-suite.There is a Spa pool to cool off in after meetings or just to cool off!We also have our own WiFi facilities for guests.The Central Motel is only 10 minutes from the airport and is within easy walking distance of most government offices/agencies, shops, restaurants, café, banks and museum and libraries. We can arrange car/scooter hire, tours and outer Island flights and tours. We have airport transfers and all our guests are met personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Motel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing