We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
70
116
73
34
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
70
116
73
34
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar rumba bar close to town kia orana great cocktails seafood chowder enjoyed our stay small pool meitaki maata serviced daily tropical breakfast cooked breakfast poolside room single bed garden room happy hour muri beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 317 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this resort. Low key, no hassle, good facilities, nice room, lovely garden setting. Only matter of concern to us was pool entry for people with mobility issues. I wanted to swim every day but after first exit of pool over bar seating,
decided to maintain my dignity and give swimming a miss. Hope this is upgraded soon. Close to town and all facilities. Would stay again if pool entry and exit was upgraded.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sightsee79936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Our third trip as a couple to the beautiful island of Rarotonga and Stayed last week of March.
We have stayed at a more expensive resort but chose Club Raro deliberately as we had stayed once before and had enjoyed the experience.
The offering was about the same as our last visit. Definitely not a 5 star resort but Club Raro doesn’t pretend to be either. It simply offers value for money compared to other hotels and is a good base to holiday from.
Staff are friendly in the main, maybe a bit more relaxed than you would expect.
Restaurant is basic but food quality good and not too pricey. Swimming pool is small.
Best room is Ocean Front with nice outlook to the ocean.
Two suggestions for improvement- 1) Free snorkeling gear is offered but when you go to get it there is very limited available and it is of poor quality. Easily fixed. 2) Chickens, Hens and Roosters running throughout the resort and in the restaurant is not that pleasant and other guests we spoke to felt the same. To us it was probably the least attractive feature of the resort.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linalinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Very dated, not maintained very well at all, the rooms look like they all need a good clean, and revamp. Would not stay again for the price, for what you get. The swimming pool is really small, and most of the time the water is very cloudy.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank lisaacraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

This was the fourth time we had stayed in Rarotonga and at Club Raro, all I can say is wow a lot had changed since we were last there. (less than two years)
Should have read the current reviews before taking our family back there again.
We arrived Friday morning and requested early check in which was $125 more expensive than paying for another night. There was nothing I could do as my twins and I needed to sleep, annoying because last time we were there it was only $70 which is reasonable.
Breakfast was boring same thing everyday, not much variety and the broken toaster was beyond frustrating for everyone having to line up each day.
The pool was filthy not once did we ever see anyone cleaning it or maintaining the water.
The bar staff were rude, took over 20mins for two fruit smoothies which is beyond a joke. Also there was no Nu drinking coconut, the whole time we stayed there which was so hard to believe.
Fish caught on charter was refused to be cooked by kitchen staff, after explaining this has been done many times before for us. They then charged us $25 for the fish to be cooked and extra for chips and salad. This is so expensive considering we provided the fish, last time we stayed it was $10-$15 with chips and salad. Would have been cheaper ordering fish and chips just off the bar menu.
Food was tasty but always took so long, dinner was over an hour wait some nights but overpriced compared to others on the island.
We will happily return to Rarotonga but never staying with Club Raro again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Good food , medium speed in bar , not happy with my mock tail in came from a bottle. The manager complained because it was raining and moved tables in the dinner (we had pax 18) maybe if it was sunny it be more pleasant

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank englandj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews