We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveler rating
469
211
39
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
211
39
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anchorage restaurant beach front drumbeat bar beachfront room reef shoes onsite restaurant happy hour bbq night palm trees cook islands restaurants within walking distance our honeymoon yogurt rental car sunday night beautiful beach deck chairs
Filter
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 738 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Just returned from 8 wonderful days at the Sunset Resort. Great beachfront studio with the most amazing beachfront view. Arrived in the early hours of the morning and were absolutely stunned by view when we awoke later that morning. Were warmly greeted by Kimi at the airport and the other staff at the hotel were equally as friendly and helpful. The choice of two pools and the happy hour at the Drumbeat was great! The sunsets were beautiful and it certainly is on the right side of the island! Quite a small resort providing intimacy and friendliness. We sought breakfast alternatives after a few days as the continental breakfast option became a bit boring. Also had meals away from the resort after the first night. We plan to return to Rarotonga one day and hope Sunset Resort retains its appeal until we get that opportunity. Adelaide SA

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 60PlusAdelaide_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Just returned from 10 nights in the Cook Islands, staying at the Sunset Resort

The rooms are very spacious with a kitchen at one end ( stayed in room 9, 1st room after the beach front rooms ) with a good size fridge, microwave, cooking utensils, cutlery, small stove top.

The bathroom was very spacious also, the TV only has one station, but they have a some DVD's you can use at the reception.

The staff where some of the best we have encountered in the south Pacific, nothing was a problem and they are also smilling and cheerful. The breakfast menu is very basic, little 1 serve cerial boxes, 4 different types. Tea / Coffee, 1 juice and toast and local fruit.

The beach is fine but there are better places to swim, and being only minutes to any part of the island it is not an issue.

The afternoon happy hour is a must, meet a number of other travellers and swapped stories over some cocktails, Kimis breadfruit chips are a must!!

The food at the anchorage reasturant is fine, the sunday BBQ is great. The Kikau hut is a great place to each, 5 minutes walking from the resort.

The Raro 4x4 tour is also one of the best tours on the island, and dont miss the Island Culture night at the culture Centre, Sunset has a special deal for $69 each saving $10 each.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSWSTEAMPOWER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed here unexpectedly after having to return early from Aitutaki. It was everything we could have asked for in a relaxing break; a pristine stretch of beach, two well kept swimming pools, expansive gardens and tree lined walk ways and a good restaurant/breakfast. The room was spacious, modern and gorgeous with kitchen, large bathroom, balcony overlooking pool and sea. There was a book and dvd library and a bus stop outside for easy transfers round the island. Tons of restaurants within walking distance as well as one onsite.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We arrived with high expectations, and on the whole these were meet. The room was lovely, and the resort is new. The food was OK, but the one staff member seemed overworked. On the flip side we were waiting for the bus outside the resort when the courtesy van drove past and offered us a lift into town - that was great service. However this was all undone by the noisy room that we had. We had to be up at 1am for our 3.40am flight so went to bed early, however our room was on the second floor opposite the restaurant and it was loud, we hear every bang of cutlery and scrape of chair let along the music and people talking. When the restaurant finally became quite the air conditioning made terrible noises even though it was off and as there is no glass in the side windows of the room (just louvers) the pool pump noise that went on and off was terrible. Do not stay in room 14.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChristchurchFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2010

Thank you ChristchurchFlower for your comments on Trip Advisor Mar 10, 2010. Sunset Resort management views all comments from our guests as an opportunity to improve our hospitality and service.

We are very pleased the resort was able to meet the majority of your expectations and to a high level. We therefore take this opportunity to reply.

The comment about Room 14 has taken us by surprise as this room is one of our most requested rooms. We agree this room is in close proximity to the restaurant, however many guests favour this room because of this and it’s convenience to the two swimming pools, reception and beach. Our restaurant is open-air and therefore on still evenings the possibility of hearing the restaurant diners and back ground music could be more possible however the restaurant is usually empty of diners by 9.30pm, especially at this time of the year (low season). For our guests who choose to turn in before 9pm this is unfortunate.

We have also managed to trace the sound you thought was the pool pump. Our water pump is situated behind the restaurant and we feel this might have been what you heard. Again when the evenings are particularly still you may be able to hear this. We are now in the process of obtaining quotes for sound proofing to minimise sound levels.

For our interested readers I do want to allay any concerns you may have about there being no glass in the side windows. What ChristchurchFlower is referring to is the floor to ceiling windows which are situated either side of the sliding glass doors which open onto the verandah. These are fly screened and finished with aluminium louvers to control natural airflow. If you prefer the air-conditioned option you simply close the louvers.

Once again thank you for your feed back and although your stay with us was only for 12 hours we do hope you will consider a longer stay next time so that you can really experience what the resort has to offer.

Debbie Riechelmann
General Manager
Sunset Resort
Rarotonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We loved this place. We got upgraded to beachfront apartment and it was lovely and quite private. Only 10 steps from our room to the beach. Roosters are noisy if you stay in the rooms near the pool. The staff are really helpful and the bar for happy hour cocktails with kimi and ana is fab. The food is not over priced at the restaurant and the resort is central to several other restaurants nearby. Very reasonably priced too. Would absolutely stay here again although im sure there are other nice places too.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perkypossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews