We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveler rating
459
207
39
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
207
39
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchorage restaurantbeach frontdrumbeat barbeachfront roomreef shoesonsite restaurantbbq nighthappy hourpalm treescook islandsour honeymoonsmaller poolrestaurants within walking distancecome homeyogurtroad noisesunday night
Filter
Updating list...
658 - 663 of 724 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed here unexpectedly after having to return early from Aitutaki. It was everything we could have asked for in a relaxing break; a pristine stretch of beach, two well kept swimming pools, expansive gardens and tree lined walk ways and a good restaurant/breakfast. The room was spacious, modern and gorgeous with kitchen, large bathroom, balcony overlooking pool and sea. There was a book and dvd library and a bus stop outside for easy transfers round the island. Tons of restaurants within walking distance as well as one onsite.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We arrived with high expectations, and on the whole these were meet. The room was lovely, and the resort is new. The food was OK, but the one staff member seemed overworked. On the flip side we were waiting for the bus outside the resort when the courtesy van drove past and offered us a lift into town - that was great service. However this was all undone by the noisy room that we had. We had to be up at 1am for our 3.40am flight so went to bed early, however our room was on the second floor opposite the restaurant and it was loud, we hear every bang of cutlery and scrape of chair let along the music and people talking. When the restaurant finally became quite the air conditioning made terrible noises even though it was off and as there is no glass in the side windows of the room (just louvers) the pool pump noise that went on and off was terrible. Do not stay in room 14.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChristchurchFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2010

Thank you ChristchurchFlower for your comments on Trip Advisor Mar 10, 2010. Sunset Resort management views all comments from our guests as an opportunity to improve our hospitality and service.

We are very pleased the resort was able to meet the majority of your expectations and to a high level. We therefore take this opportunity to reply.

The comment about Room 14 has taken us by surprise as this room is one of our most requested rooms. We agree this room is in close proximity to the restaurant, however many guests favour this room because of this and it’s convenience to the two swimming pools, reception and beach. Our restaurant is open-air and therefore on still evenings the possibility of hearing the restaurant diners and back ground music could be more possible however the restaurant is usually empty of diners by 9.30pm, especially at this time of the year (low season). For our guests who choose to turn in before 9pm this is unfortunate.

We have also managed to trace the sound you thought was the pool pump. Our water pump is situated behind the restaurant and we feel this might have been what you heard. Again when the evenings are particularly still you may be able to hear this. We are now in the process of obtaining quotes for sound proofing to minimise sound levels.

For our interested readers I do want to allay any concerns you may have about there being no glass in the side windows. What ChristchurchFlower is referring to is the floor to ceiling windows which are situated either side of the sliding glass doors which open onto the verandah. These are fly screened and finished with aluminium louvers to control natural airflow. If you prefer the air-conditioned option you simply close the louvers.

Once again thank you for your feed back and although your stay with us was only for 12 hours we do hope you will consider a longer stay next time so that you can really experience what the resort has to offer.

Debbie Riechelmann
General Manager
Sunset Resort
Rarotonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We loved this place. We got upgraded to beachfront apartment and it was lovely and quite private. Only 10 steps from our room to the beach. Roosters are noisy if you stay in the rooms near the pool. The staff are really helpful and the bar for happy hour cocktails with kimi and ana is fab. The food is not over priced at the restaurant and the resort is central to several other restaurants nearby. Very reasonably priced too. Would absolutely stay here again although im sure there are other nice places too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perkypossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Staff were very helpful and greeted us with flowers at Raro airport. They were happy to organise transport options for us.

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable.

The pools were great, and the restaurant was clean and served great food.

Located on a lovely beach with hammocks and deck chairs for guests use.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alle_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I had always wanted to go to the Cook Islands and in particular Aitutaki was a dream for me.
We had planned on staying in Rarotonga for a couple of days (either side of our trip to Aitutaki) After endless research on Trip Advisor, I had decided to book us into The Sunset Resort as it was in my price range and it was highly rated on the site.

We arrived from Sydney (via Auckland) at the ungodly early morning flight we were greeted with leis, which was so wonderful. Back at the Sunset Resort we were excited but due to it being in the middle of the night we couldn’t see anything.

We awoke to a gorgeous view from our Beachfront Room, the position is perfect and the Beachfront Rooms have a wonderful deck looking towards the ocean. We only stayed a couple of nights, but would look at going back again.

The only problem we had while we were there, was the screen doors were broken and this therefore lets some mossies in – this was my only gripe (only small)

We will be back in the Cooks next year and want to spend more time exploring Rarotonga.

I am halfway through writing a more detailed Trip Report which I hope to post soon, which will have even more detail of The Sunset Resort, Rarotonga and Etu Moana, Aitutaki.

Thanks all for reading

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aussie_Girl_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews