We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveler rating
458
207
39
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
207
39
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchorage restaurantbeach frontdrumbeat barbeachfront roomreef shoesonsite restaurantbbq nighthappy hourpalm treescook islandsour honeymoonsmaller poolrestaurants within walking distancecome homeyogurtroad noisesunday night
Filter
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 723 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2009

we have recently returned from our 10 day vacation where we stayed at the sunset resort our last visit was 2 years ago when it had not long been reopened.over that period the grounds and gardens have all matured and made the resort a very attractive and quiet place to stay.the poolside bar is great with the extra space that has been created and with a good onsite restaurant offering good food and service we had a very relaxing and enjoyable time

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chergray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights on our 4th trip to Raratonga and found it to be the best yet. We stayed in a beachfront room which was large, clean and the kitchenette well equipped, the shower was good. Whilst the continental breakfast lacked variety it was sufficient for our needs, we dined several times at the restaurant during our stay and the meals were beautifully prepared. The service at the restaurant was excellent. It was a shame there were not more patrons. I think everywhere on the island was fairly quiet this time. The snorkelling equipment was in good repair and though the lagoon was fairly shallow here it was adequate and the weather for the most part was great. The gardens the resort is set in were lovely.

The reception staff were efficient in booking and checkout and helpful if we had any questions.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j0belly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a World Tour. One of our stops on our tour was The Sunset Resort in Rarotonga. We arrived from the "Hell" of Las Vegas to the "Heaven" of Rarotonga and The Sunset Resort. We were met by Kimi and taken to our beautifully appointed Beach Studio - perfect. If you want to chill out this the place to be. Garth and Debbie along with thier non stop smiling team were a pleasure, and nothing was too much trouble for them. If you want bright lights, slot machine and candy floss this is not the place for you. If you want deserted sandy beaches, good food, warm seas along with chiiling out with a glass of wine on your deck watching the sun go down - this is the place to be. However it had one big downfall - we had to leave!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellersOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at Sunset Resort for the second half of our honeymoon and although we weren't expecting anything like the first place we stayed (Sea Change Villas) it was a little deflating walking into the room with sparce furniture, a little TV with no Sky, and a bed which was two singles pushed together - one of which was comfyer than the other...
All this aside we didn't let it get us down and went to discover the resort, it was really beautiful, the gardens, the pools, the beachfront hamocks, the Drumbeat bar and the restaurant are all very appealing.
The Drumbeat bar was lots of fun, we tried nearly every cockatail on the menu and loved talking to the lovely Ana each night.
The restaurant was a great setting however I would have to say the food was just ok, especially the Sunday BBQ which was nothing to write home about.
All of the staff at Sunset were very helpful and all said hello whenever we saw them.
Proably the two biggest disapointments were my spa treatments I had in my room - absolutely terrible, It felt like she was not qualified and was just making the massage and facial up as she went along. The other was the bed and pillows - so uncomfortable.

A pretty good stay overall.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spottete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I have to rate this place - stayed in a 2 bedroom ground floor room which was very spacious and had own patio right by pool. Staff are so so friendly - kimmie is fantastic!!
Come here if you want a resort that is quiet and relaxing. At brekfast the restaurant was full yet when you are at the resort it feels like its empty as you don't see many other people. Very private. We loved it. Go the Happy hour coctails they are well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews