We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveler rating
459
207
39
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
207
39
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchorage restaurantbeach frontdrumbeat barbeachfront roomreef shoesonsite restaurantbbq nighthappy hourpalm treescook islandsour honeymoonsmaller poolrestaurants within walking distancecome homeyogurtroad noisesunday night
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 724 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Sunset Resort in April, 2012, and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were updated and clean, although the walls a bit thin. The beach was very nice, with lounge chairs, hammocks, and shade. The onsite restaurant was extremely convenient, and we took advantage of it on several occasions. The main drawback was that the beach wasn't the best for swimming, but it was a lovely resort and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meterin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sunset Resort for ten days in May 2012 - we had a lovely beachfront room and it had all facilities. The view of the ocean was super -just a short stroll to the water which was warm as toast. Snorkelling was Ok but not as good as the outer islands. The rooms were spacious but management need to do checks as there were one or two minor things wrong -e.g. cover was coming off air conditioning unit and it was vibrating. My husband fixed it. The bedside light switches were wonky. The outside floor lights on our patio were coming adrift. The outdoor beachfront shower had green slimy tiles and so we didnt use it. We did tell Kimi of these grizzles and she does her best but she is not the Manager, Staff are helpful.
The Anchorage Restaurant is a bonus for this resort - Rema her son and family are wonderful hosts and the meals are as good as anywhere we ate on the island. We had stayed here two years ago and one of the reasons we came back is because of the restaurant service and meals.
All in all this Resort is good value and great location on this side of the Island.

Room Tip: We always ask for a beachfront room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lita-Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had a great time , we made some awesome friends and it was so relaxing and chilled out . The people that work there are friendly and happy , sunny always had a smile on his face at breakfast , lunch and dinner :)

The location for us was perfect 1 min and your on a awesome beach with great snorkelling and then 10 mins and your in avarua ( on a scooter ).

The bus stop was right outside and we never had problems booking anything .

If you don't want children around and what somewhere quiet to chill and relax I advise you to try the Sunset .

Room Tip: We had the garden/patio , there were no complaints from either of us ( but if you have the extra to spend ) try the beach front , great views of the sunsets and beach !
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slizzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Just back from our holiday in Rarotonga. The Sunset was a great and relaxed place to stay. All the staff there were very friendly and easy to deal with, and we especially enjoyed meeting with others at the daily happy hour. Certainly want to return

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just been back in Christchurch after spending a week in Rarotonga where I stayed at the Sunset Resort. Greeted at the airport by the lovely Kimmie who was very welcoming. First impressions count for alot. Accommodation was great. Staff in the Anchorage Restaurant were delightful.... Sunny was full of fun. He appeared to enjoy having a chat to the visitors. The bed was very comfortable.
My room was near the pool so it was only two minutes to the beach. Didn't use the pool but plan on having a holiday again next year so I will most certainly do it then.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool were great. Not at all noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaymc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews