We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So So , best bang for your buck!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Paradise Inn
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So So , best bang for your buck!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had to stay the last night in Rarotonga since the Flight was delayed for 5 more hours. Paradise inn is fitting our budget for couple hours of rest before coming to the airport at 2 am in the morning. The hotel is spacious and clean to our expectation and reasonable budget. two big advantages: Its location is right in Avarua town and only 2 km or 10 minutes driving to the Airport.

It is not an Ideal place to stay for long and family if you have more money to spend but it is a good temporary place near the town and airport especially for single and on tight budget. No where you can find cheaper 3 star hotel on this island.

We also paid $ 10 Wifi for 100 mB of data to check email for couple hours before coming home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
30
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unusual rooms, with upstairs and downstairs bedroom. Upstairs is up a very narrow steep staircase, not recommended for elderly or infirm. There is service during the day, which was little use to me as a business traveller. The in-house internet service didn't work. Has basis cooking facilities, but otherwise shower, toilet etc are basic and limited. Fans, but no air con although didn't need air con when I was there in June. No in house food available.

OK for those looking for something cheap who don't need usual hotel services or internet connection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ycshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love the Paradise Inn as it is close to town, rooms are very clean and the place has a great vibe - it is so relaxing. It has an awesome deck with an honesty bar where you can sit and watch the amazing sunsets. The new Managers are just great - we will back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Needmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We absolutely love the Paradise Inn and it was so great being back there especially now that there are new managers. The hotel was looking a bit neglected until the new managers took over just a short time ago. We always enjoy returning there and now the Inn is so sparkly clean and friendly again. We are so glad Mata is still there because the nights wouldn't be the same without seeing her happy face.
The hotel is wonderfully located on the beach and such a short distance from town. We can walk to town and the shops in just ten minutes or so. We so enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking the water and enjoyed many a glass of wine while listening to the waves and basking in the warm sun.
Can't wait to return to our home away from home. The Paradise is truely "the best kept secret on the island" as many guests have said.
Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.
Your Michigan guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxrunrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Teina and his wife Gail, were 2 of the loveliest people I met on my holiday. I was greeted with "Welcome Home" and it definitely felt that way. They were extremely welcoming and helpful and I enjoyed every minute I spent with them. Paradise Inn is a great and convenient place to stay, especially if you're on a budget. Walking distance from the main shops in Avarua,everything you need is close at hand. I will definitely stay there again if I return to Rarotonga.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gidg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived at 7:00 A.M., after an all night flight from L.A., and the manager, Teina, graciously offered us an early check-in. He greeted us with a hug and " Welcome Home", which was exactly what we needed at that moment. The place immediately felt like home and Teina could not have been nicer. He helped us any way that he could and even took time to simply sit and have a chat with us. After going out to Muri Beach we were so glad that we had chosen Paradise Inn. We were within walking distance to most of the sights, restaurants and shops. We ended up eating almost daily at Bamboo Jack's because it was close, but also very, very good. The lounge was great and we could have a drink, watch a movie, or step out to the patio or beach for the sunset. We were especially impressed with how good the food was on Raro. World class everywhere we ate. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were next to the lounge and found it very convenient. The Cook's have roosters every where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Paradise Inn is a nice place to stay on this relaxing island. If you are arriving at the time when the bus operates, you can take bus (4 NZD) directly to Paradise Inn as one of the bus-stops is right in front, otherwise the taxi is 20 NZD.

It is located at the edge of the city, offering enough privacy, jet the downtown is within walking distance. There is also a small shop nearby and another one a bit further down the street as well.

The building has its own funky feel - it used to be Pacific's biggest dancefloor in mid-20th century, before being converted into Paradise Inn. The rooms are still having the wooden floor from the old times. The rooms have all the conveniences you need, including possibility to cook your own meals. In the back of the house, at common lounge area you can also grill or just chill in a hammock.

The beach is very private and during the 5 days I seemed to be the only one over there, very lovely for enjoying sunsets. There are 2 sunbathing recliners available. Beach was also kept clean.

I also loved that while during the night sleeping in my room I could still hear the sounds of the ocean, playing like a lullaby for deep sleep :)

Room Tip: Take the two-level room, with bedroom upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tango-Xpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
0.3 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
3.7 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
4.5 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn

Property: Paradise Inn
Address: PO Box 674, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Inn, Rarotonga is the perfect place for travelers looking for value for money. We have 16 serviced units nestled in a peaceful location between the mountains and the sea, yet only a few minutes walk to downtown Avarua. The terrace, bar and lounge have breathtaking lagoon and ocean views and are yours for relaxing, whale watching, meeting people or enjoying a meal al fresco. A beach before the reef offers our visitors the prospect of sunbathing, a stroll along the beach, low tide reef walking and spotting starfish, coral and the small colourful reef fish that populate the lagoon. As the sun sets, enjoy a sundowner on the terrace with a drink from the last "Honesty Bar" in the South Pacific where cocktails and tall tales are the order of the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Avarua
Paradise Inn Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing