We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed August 24, 2012

we booked this motel the night before we were leaving to Rarotonga and they were so accommodating. The room was spacious and it was great value for money. We really loved staying here and recommend it for anyone on a budget!!

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serahna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 63 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

Among a group of 9 amateur radio operators (plus 3 others) who based ourselves at KiiKii in October 2011 for a ham radio contest, we were welcomed like family, accomodated unhesitatingly (even with all our antenna contraptions which were set up on the beach) and, as a result, thoroughly enjoyed our time on Rarotonga. Shopping locally for breakfasts & snack foods was easy/convenient and everything neccesary to prepare our home-cooked meals was readily available in the rooms (and when we needed a huge pot for our spaghetti dinner, Pauline came up with one in a heartbeat). For our nearly two week stay, we rented a water dispenser (right near the airport) and felt that was a fabulous alternative to buying cases of small bottled waters (and thereby eliminated generating too much trash). Suggestions were readily made as to where our group should take in local flavor for dinners (Rarotongan for our Maori dinner show, Fishing Club, Club Raro, Tumunu, Whatever Bar, Cooks Corner, etc). The ambience (overall attitude, beautiful tropical garden landscape) at Kii Kii was perfect...no frills but absolutely suited our needs...comfortable, clean & family friendly. Can't wait to return and see more of the local sights (missed the Saturday market and Sunday Church service because we were busy praying to the propogation gods for our radio contest) and explore more of the inner road by motorscooter (the mandatory Cook Islands driver's license is good for a year so I may as well use it, right?!). Many thanks to Victor, E51CG (one of only 3 hams on Raro), we had the use of a local's van & two of his scooters to get our group around the island. One thing of note: no alcohol is sold on Sundays (except at bars/clubs) so plan in advance if your Saturday stash won't get you thru the entire weekend. A great time was had by all. Our group even made it into the South Cooks newspaper! http://www.cinews.co.ck/2011/November/Wed02/other.htm#1110310706

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElenaLaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Kia Orana, On behalf of the 21 members of the North Shore Enua Ola Group (from Auckland, NZ) that was accommodated by Kiikii Motel from 22.7.11 up until 28.7.11. We want to show our gradtitude to Pauline for looking at our circumstances carefully to accept our bookings which was done 2 weeks prior to flying over to Rarotonga. We journey to Rarotonga to fulfil our 32km Round the island walk. Our trip was certainly complete with the budget accommodation we got given for our members and was real impressed with the service that was given by Naora who was always at our beck and call. Sure we had a few gledges at times but it was nothing major as Pauline and the staff manage to speed the process of smoothing things out for us. Overall during our stay there everyone came away satisfied and happy and would definately book again with Kiikii Motel if we had to go for another trip to Rarotonga. My children Peteli & Christiana loved having friends Bau and Kimberley who are Naora kids to play with everyday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I arrived for a night while I got my bearings on the island, and stayed for three weeks.
Owners Pauline and Harry are helpful, the staff are great at keeping pool, grounds and rooms clean and tidy - some others have said they may be showing their age but dirty they ain't - and the atmosphere is conducive to friendliness.
The motel is not ideally located if you want nothing but classic Rarotongan sea-sun-sand-snorkelling. Otherwise, it is on the outskirts of Avarua, so is convenient for town and culture, or as a touring base. I would certainly go back if I come by Rarotonga again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CoteheleKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed for 10 days. Well kept surroundings. Rooms are spacious but needs a bit of handyman work. Lovely pool area outside the apartments which my granddaughter loved. Just needs a bit of a clean regularly as a lot of people were swimming in it.
Had a lovely time at the Kiikii and not complaining for what I paid for the rooms. It was really cheap and the staff were nice. I would stay there again if I went back.

Stella

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stellaHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I spent the last night of a holiday at the Kiikii hotel with my son before flying out the following day. In booking in, having phoned from my flash hotel at Muri beach, I heard the lovely and friendly voice of the darling at the other end pleasant and so welcoming. I was not disappointed on my arrival there and I applaud the staff there who have done their very best to keep the place looking clean and tidy..it is an older place of course but it caters well to those who also like the budget side of the Cook Island accommodation. The location is lovely and close to the seashore. I wished I had known to book there in the first place like my son had. He too liked it there by the way and would book there again. This is a great place to stay if you are on a holiday budget. Will definetly stay there again. Thank you KIIKII staff. Well done.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank delor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

I went to visit Rarotonga when I worked for Aloha Airlines in Honolulu (service to the Cook Islands ended in 2005) so my stay occurred in October 2004. I landed at the airport and basically "winged it" so I had no reservations nothing. I was referred to Kii Kii by a taxi driver ($20NZD from the airport) and had arrived just before midnight. The place wasn't that bad at all and the front desk agent was very friendly and helpful. The room was "cute" but in need of some repairs. But that didn't really bother me because I was out and about my 7am the next morning. It's definitely NOT a room to just kick back and relax for sure--just to shower and get a good night's rest!

  • Stayed: October 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
4.8 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avarua
219 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
231 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiikii Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiikii Inn & Suites

Address: 1 Tupapa Road, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kiikii Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KiiKii Inn & Suites is locally owned and operated, lending it an intimate, comfortable feel. The KiiKii is not a five-star foreign-owned resort, which gives the place its unique charm. It’s laid-back and local, and a great place to meet people. The KiiKii Inn & Suites front yard offers one of the island’s best, most consistent breaks for surfing – and the hotel’s got an outdoor shower and a pool for post surf-session recuperating. ​ The KiKii Inn & Suites has a range rooms and prices that can accommodate students and budget travelers, but it also offers deluxe waterfront rooms from which you can watch whales breach during winter and outrigger paddling teams racing through the water throughout the year. Whether you’re backpacking on a budget or looking for a safe, family-friendly environment, you won’t be disappointed with KiiKii Inn & Suites Rarotonga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kiikii Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiikii Hotel Avarua
Kiikii Inn & Suites Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing