We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome - even at 1 in the morning!”
Review of Tropical Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Sands
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A warm welcome - even at 1 in the morning!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We arrived after the long flight from Oz to a spotless and spacious cabin with the sound of the lagoon to provide a welcome - as it was 1am, Rudy and Kaone were understandably dreaming of the swaying palm trees. Not withstanding, there was a warm handwritten message on the chalkboard as well as a very special handwritten welcome card. Needless to say, upon meeting the couple, they were delightful - do your self a favour and book into this little piece of paradise...

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nicko55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

brilliant for families or couples alike.
We stayed here for 3 whole weeks and it felt like home from home. All mod cons, on the beach, great walks, the owners even sorted out scooter hire for us cheaper than we could get on our own.
nice easy location for everything you need.

Room Tip: any of the rooms were great, very boutique accommodation, make you feel special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just would love to thank Rudi and Kanoi for the making our holiday so special. They are so welcoming and lovely to talk to. My parents been there a few times when they visit Raro and this time when we went with all the family and they have look after us so well. Thank you again and will see you guys next year :) Nathany and Joey

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Estefanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at tropical sands in mid January 2013. We loved our peaceful and private bungalow nestled on the beach, minutes away from the best lagoon on the island! Our wee home was complete with everything you could possibly need; including the friendliest owners you could ever wish to meet. Always accommodating, friendly, full of useful advice and overly generous, (one night we wanted a quiet night in, and Rudy brought over a DVD player and a selection of their DVDs for us to watch. Bliss.) We will definitely be staying again. Many thanks to you, Rudy and Kanoi, see you soon.

Room Tip: With only four bungalows, everyone had a beautiful view, maximum sunlight and easy access to the geo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nardia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed one week in May, 2013 and it was perfect. The owners were vacationing but they had Jim and Catherine from New Zealand staying in their absence and what delightful people! We could not have better service at the most expensive place on the island. We stayed in the house right on the beach and the view (it is better than what the pictures show), the sounds of the waves rolling over the reef, and the privacy were spectacular. The house was clean, well equiped (coffee and a bowl of fresh fruit in the frig), the porch provided endless hours of entertainment with the beach just meters away. We spent hours shelling, playing in the water (reef shoes are a must) and we enjoyed the ability to do our own meals. Jim and Catherine had visited 26 times so they were able to tell us what activities were worthwhile and which restaurants to visit.

They served us fresh cut coconut one day, watermelon another day so while the house was wonderful they were the icing on the cake! We even saw where they cut down a palm tree the day before we arrived that would have obstructed our view of the sea and it was certainly appreciated! Just wish our visit was timed to watch the whales but next time we will aim for that.

As a practical note we were glad to have rented a car (scooter would work fine too) as it is convient to see the whole island. We rented a car from Pacific Cars and the vehicle seemed to be on its last leg but we managed to visit lots of places on the island.

While the house was not air conditioned there was such a breeze from the windows on 3 sides and a fan if there is no breeze so we truly did not miss the A/C. Besides it would have drowned out the waves and that would be a true shame.

We did a tour to the conservation area to observe the rare flycatchers and it was a real treat. Tom was a great guide and you really do see the birds. We also did scuba diving one day and it was well worth the effort and very professionally done. We also attended church ( I will never forget the singing as long as I live, the dinner show with native dancing, and watched a triathalon from the front of the resort.

Room Tip: The house on the beach is unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Tropical Sands were so peaceful and quite that we just loved every minute of it. The kitchen was fully furnished and the bed was comfortable. The owners Rudy and Kanoi were very helpful and friendly. Rudy even took us into town to rent a scooter and drove us around a bit explaining some of the local customs and places to eat. We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to relax on Raratonga.

Room Tip: The beach front one is more money, but you get the nice ocean breeze to keep you cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zanderq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Tropical Sands is a wonderful place to stay. We found the owners to be delightful and welcoming. The location is very quiet and relaxing with beautiful beaches and cute Unga (hermit crabs). The beach bungalows are spacious and we loved having a kitchen. We would highly recommend to others. The only thing to note that it is quite a walk to town, so renting a car or scooter would be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
0.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#33 of 77 in Rarotonga
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sands

Property: Tropical Sands
Address: Main Ring Road | East side of the island, Avarua, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sands Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing