We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Tropical Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Sands
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Tropical Sands were so peaceful and quite that we just loved every minute of it. The kitchen was fully furnished and the bed was comfortable. The owners Rudy and Kanoi were very helpful and friendly. Rudy even took us into town to rent a scooter and drove us around a bit explaining some of the local customs and places to eat. We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to relax on Raratonga.

Room Tip: The beach front one is more money, but you get the nice ocean breeze to keep you cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zanderq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Tropical Sands is a wonderful place to stay. We found the owners to be delightful and welcoming. The location is very quiet and relaxing with beautiful beaches and cute Unga (hermit crabs). The beach bungalows are spacious and we loved having a kitchen. We would highly recommend to others. The only thing to note that it is quite a walk to town, so renting a car or scooter would be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Exactly what we were looking for and so much more was delivered when staying with Rudy and Kanoe at Tropical Sands. If you are looking for a family friendly, budget friendly, authentic island feel accommodation right on the very private beach then look no further. only 4 bungalows on the property, our children were free to roam and explore the landscape gardens and onto the beach as they pleased, and thoroughly enjoyed observing the active hermit crabs every afternoon.Our hosts were more than accommodating, friendly and welcoming, as well as providing knowledgeable advise on anything 'Island". No hesitation in recommending here for a fabulous family holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here for two nights after staying a week somewhere else. This place is perfect. I stayed in the ocean facing bungalow. Has a large balcony, BBQ available, coffee, tea, cereal, milk in the kitchen upon arrival. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try and get the ocean facing bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We found tropical sands out of pure luck as were booking last minute through expedia. We stayed for three weeks and had such a fabulous time there. It is conveniently located - although no where is very far on this tiny island. Rudi and Kanoi could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed in our spacious accomodation- kitchen area was perfect, bathroom, great and open plan bedroom living area also ideal. We had a lovely view of the sea from our decking and use of the BBQ. We didn't want to go to a luxurious overpriced hotel, we wanted a little area of our own to base ourselves and that is exactly what we got.

Room Tip: I would be happy in any of their bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romilly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

These are lovely apartments by the sea especially if you are looking for value for money and peace and quiet. Situated by the sea - the beach is rocky and the sea deep blue which is quite a nice change from the rest of the Island and great if you want to go crab hunting, look out to sea or walk - near Muri, the location is best for those who aren't bothered about travelling to get to the swimming beaches, cafes and shops.

The apartments are very clean and contain everything you could want. The couple who run them are very hospitable and we loved the decor both in and outside the apartments. There is also a lovely garden where you can sit and watch the waves hit the beach. Overall we would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank sarajanebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Thank you Rudi and Kanoi for such a wonderful pleasant, spacious bungalows of paradise...
Kanoi, such an amazing woman. Loved every moment staying here with families. Will definitely come back again for sure. So relaxing and comfortable. Amazing Craft shop. Best bungalows in Raro...........................

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruise2010hard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
4.5 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
4.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
1.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
64 reviews
1.7 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sands

Address: Main Ring Road | East side of the island, Avarua, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Avarua
Price Range: $87 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sands Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing