We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ariki

Cafe Ariki
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in Avarua
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Barbecue, Grill, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stumbled on Ariki whilst talking to a local. It was beyond our expectations. The service is so friendly and professional. When I tasted my BBQ chicken I so could've ordered another but already had a BBQ steak meal as well haha. The food is so divine that we will be returning here so watch this space....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank teej1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    50
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ONOWAY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This restaurant was very quiet at lunch time but that doesn't mean the food isn't excellent. We had very good service and our meals were extremely tasty. I would suggest you try it if you are on Raratonga..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank scooter3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Big servings!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Decent place and well worth the visit for the big servings making it great value for money! Have been twice now and found the food to be consistent with good specials and lots of choices.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodesy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The only thing i can say i disliked was that this caf'e was tucked away from the main road .. other than that it was awesome. Mean food and the service was fast :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, shocking staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Cafe Ariki is a beautiful building and has a great atmosphere. The food was excellent. However the staff were useless. Food took far to long to come out. Waitress was not competent what so ever, complained about being hung over from the night before and lacked any real friendlyness or customer service skills. The two guy waiters who used to be there were excellent and efficient, get them back!

Also use glasses instead of plastic cups, its not a good look.

Cafe Ariki needs an efficient Maitre D

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ariki also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Cafe Ariki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing