We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and service excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikao Beach Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nikao Beach Bungalows
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location and service excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The experience of staying at the Nikao Beach Bungalows can only be described as excellent. The owners are friendly, are extremley helpful and will go out of theur way to make your stay enjoyable. The location is great; close to the airport and 24hour service station across the road. The lagoon is a few metres from your balcony.
I would highly recommend the Nikao Beach Bungalows.

Room Tip: All three bungalows have very good ammenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blackbird26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We plannen to stay two nights in the Paradise Inn. This 'hidden gem' actualy turned out to be a horrible dirty and dusty hostel for 125 dollars a night. Therefore we left and searched for another place. At Nikoa Beachbungalows we fit a very warm welcome and above that a private beachhouse which has got EVERYTHING you ever whished for including a private coconutbeach for only 100 dollars per night! It's not on walking distance from Avarua but just hire a scooter and you be there in a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravelller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Peace and tranquillity on your own private beach. Sorry Welshbird1971 - you couldn't have missed the mark more if you tried. From day one of arrival to my sad day of departure 20 nights later, I couldn't have asked for anything more. For the budget-minded this place is a truly great find. You could pay a lot more for a lot less but you couldn't pay less for the all that was offered. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, the bed sublime, the beach completely deserted for days on end, the ocean clean and warm. My host, Alby, the consummate gentleman and host checked every few days to see if there was anything I lacked or needed. The housekeeper, Girly, was polite, pleasant and thorough. The kitchen was adequate for cooking basic meals with lots of dishes, cutlery and pots and pans, the bathroom clean and comfortable. The grounds of the property were tended to daily and basking in the sun on the huge deck at the front of my bungalow was comfortable on the padded lounge chairs or seated in the wicker arm chairs. Island bus stopped out front every hour, Annie's Internet Cafe was a 15 minute walk, the main grocery store a 30 minute walk. A 24 hour convenience store was across the road from the complex. Road was seldom busy and easy to cross - traffic was non-existent at night. Lots of colourful fish to be seen right off the shore with a cooling breeze blowing in from the sea most of the time. The lagoon was NOT grubby. The island is a lava formation so there are bits of coral and lava on the beaches around the entire island. Take a pair of surf shoes or sandals to wear and you won't have a problem at all. The airport was a 10 minute walk away, but being a small island the frequency of flights was not a nuisance in the least. Looking for a place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of suburbia? This is it. Garry Harmer Port Coquitlam British Columbia

Room Tip: The bungalow on the west side has more exposure to the sun. The bungalow to the east side has more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Nikao Bungalows were truly amazing , nice and clean, tidy and very comfortable with amazing water views. It was so handy to everything. Close to town , 24hour petrol station across the road . 2 minute drive to the resorts where all our friends were staying. I couldnt have asked for a better place to stay. Very Very quiet and relaxing place. Nice to watch the planes fly over every so often. Would gladly stay there again and highly recommend to everyone . And to the couple about the containers.... you dont even see them unless you really look of the back of the deck on the left . Quite frankly all i saw when i was there was beautiful blue clear ocean and lots of sun the container that is not at all obvious unless you really look back into the neighbours garden .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megs206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

I've stayed in alot of places on Raro and this really isn't that flash.
I thought we'd be further from the airport, but it was right across the road. The accomodation was abit tired ...broken things and the odd cockroach (the garden furniture fell apart while we were there!)
The lagoon was really grubby too, which is a shame as I love swimming on Rarotonga and couldn't face getting in the water with the seaslugs there. I think it reflected the industrial area it was in, which was probably the worst aspect of the place.
There are soo many other/better places to stay on this lovely island, don't wast your time here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshbird1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This was a fabulous place to stay, the convenience of town the oasis across the road, the beautiful beach, the warm climate and the fresh food. My hubby and I had a great time. The suite was clean and met all our needs. We would certainly stay there again.

I would like to say to the couple who did not like their stay. This type of accommodation is suitable for those who are looking for comfort and a relaxed atmosphere who can appreciate the locals and their beautiful tropical paradise.

Kiaorana
Brandon and Nane Kaye

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here for two weeks. Had a great stay! Location was the key. We really liked being able to see both the sunrise and sunset from the bungalow each day. We also liked that the Oasis market and the video rental store across the street. in addition, shopping and dining were close, as town was about a five minute scooter ride away. The lagoon area is fine for swimming. The property manager was really concerned that everything was right with our stay. The only negative was the noise from the airport, however, there are only two maybe three international flights on average per day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birddoggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
0.7 mi away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
2.5 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikao Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikao Beach Bungalows

Property: Nikao Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Road, Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nikao Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikao Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing