We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the island night!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staircase Restaurant and Bar

Staircase Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #18 of 30 Restaurants in Avarua
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Staircase Restaurant/Bar has been operating for 15yrs. Thursday Night includes $25 IslandNight which includes food + show, or you can come up and pay ONLY $5 just to watch our Cook Islands Dance Group perform. Friday is our A-La-Carte Menu from $15. Saturday is A-la-Carte from $10. Each night is late closing with great dance music and also great special bar prices, Cocktails from $5. Come upstairs and enjoy our island vibe! IT ONLY HAPPENS UPSTAIRS.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Try the island night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

One of the cheapest island nights (i.e. places to see local traditional dancing) - at just NZ$5 (without food - I think around $30 with meal; other places charge up to $90).

The show is performed by local children who learn their native dance in afterschool club - and your payment goes toward funding that, rather than into a private company.

It might lack the grandeur of the big island nights - but was still really fun, with great live music (from national competition winners!) and the feel-good factor of supporting the kids.

If you want a taster without forking out for the big island nights - this is the place to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best night out on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a hen's party here and Shannon and the staff couldn't have been more wonderful! We had the place to ourselves, and they arranged some cultural dancers and we danced up a storm all night long. The food was delicious, the staff were fantastic and we had the best night of our week here. Thanks to Shannon and the staff for making it such a memorable experience! Perfect for large groups or even just a quiet drink over a sunset view... A truly memorable evening!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome fun night!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Was in the Cooks for a wedding and the hens night was held here. We had a totally awesome night. One of the things I love about the Cooks is that the majority of businesses are still run by locals. You're not getting slick service. You're getting genuine, warm service and we certainly got that here.

Realistically, the difference between a good night out and a great night out is the right combination of venue, food, service and most importantly the company. We definitely had the whole deal (especially an awesome 7 year old who has the best dance moves I have ever seen).

The nibblies ($16 per person) were plentiful but average. Seriously, the mini frozen prawns that were still thawing were horrendous but the main ($22 per person) was probably the best meal I had on the island. The setting was perfect for a hens. A stage to dance with a stunning backdrop = FUN. Not sure how it would go for a normal dinner but highly recommend it for functions. And you can always pop downstairs for a workout in the gym after dinner!?!?!?!?!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rbrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

On the evening we landed in Rarotonga, our band Tomorrow People attended the dinner and island night. The selection of food was excellent (especially the potato salad and ika mata), and the performance was fun and entertaining. The owners came to greet us and our introduction onto the island was very warm and hospitable. The drummers were highly skilled in their artform and the guys even got pulled up for a little dance on the stage. Overall, an excellent choice!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avengah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“take the climb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Simple, yummy BBQ fare of fresh fish and burgers. You're in luck if the impromptu string band is playing. But prepare for a long stay.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4masei5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staircase Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Staircase Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing