We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
537
82
11
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
82
11
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town plaza zabala beautiful square don carlos beautiful hotel hot tub historic district breakfast was delicious rooftop terrace small hotel ciudad vieja a wonderful stay buquebus terminal buenos aires within walking distance short walk yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 635 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2016

A very elegant and warm hotel, with excellent rooms, staff and service. A great place to stay when visiting Ciudad Vieja. Nearby Sarandi has improved tremendously in the years we have been visiting Uruguay, with intersting things to see and great restaurants, our favorite being Jacinto. All this is in easy walking distance from the Alma, which is situated overlookng a quiet and pleasant park just one block from Sarandi. We hope to stay at the alma on our next trip to Uruguay.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndreM1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaHistorica, Director de Recepción at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Dear Andre,

Thank you for taking time to leave a comment.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the guests who can value the privileged location of our hotel and rejoice with the surroundings. There are plenty of good options here in Ciudad Vieja and we trust you know them.

We hope to welcome you in your next visit to Montevideo.

Kind regards,
Staff of Alma Histórica Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

I travel a lot, and tend to want to be "left alone" in hotels -- I hang the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door when I arrive, don't use maid service, and never talk to the front desk people beyond asking for the Wi-Fi code.

After staying at Alma Historica, I'm thinking differently!

Uruguayans already are about the nicest people on the planet, and the staff at this hotel are nice even within that already elite cohort: they are almost impossibly nice, 24/7, every single one of them.

For the 11 days my family and I stayed at Alma Historica, we were looked after with a care and attentiveness and charisma that regularly gave me a physical tingling sensation. (I know, that sounds ridiculous, but it's true; and I'm not the soppy type.) I'd say "they made us feel at home" but it was much better than being at home.

Back to the Wi-Fi for a second, because it's a "telltale detail" about a hotel nowadays: it's rock solid throughout the entire building, and once you're logged in, you stay logged in, on every device you've got. Speed and throughput is excellent: Skype calls to Europe *generally* worked with full video both ways, always worked with audio only; zero lag on normal web usage.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaHistorica, Director de Recepción at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Dear Jeremy,

Thank you very much for sharing your experince in such a gentle way. It is an honor to receive good feedback from a experienced traveler like you.

It is wonderful to know that you and your family felt better than in your own home. It is true that we really like to get to know our guest's preferences, make them feel as comfortable as possible and even pamper them a little. We are delighted to know that we have succeeded in our job.

It will be our pleasure to receive you and your family again soon. Uruguay thanks your visit.

Best regards,
Staff of Alma Histórica Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

I went with my boyfriend to Uruguay and we stayed at the alma historica hotel. Great experience, the whole experience was very good. Staff friendly and willing to help. The shower and bed was also great.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X1651LMerikam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaHistorica, Director de Recepción at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Dear Erika,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Alma Histórica.

It is great to know that your stay was pleasant and that you and your boyfriend enjoyed our services.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Alma Histórica Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016

We had a group stay at this hotel for two nights before heading back to the states. What a great location and staff were friendly and professional. We were in walking distance to the Plaza Independencia and other great historical sites.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaHistorica, Director de Recepción at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking time to leave a comment and share your experience with us.

It is great to know that your stay was pleasant and that you and your friends spend a good time at Alma Histórica. It was our pleasure to recieve you.

We will love to welcome you again on your next visit to Montevideo.

Kind regards,
Staff of Alma Histórica Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016

We stayed in April for two nights and were more than pleased. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our suite on the 5th floor was very spacious and had a nice view over the Plaza. It was also very quiet. Bathroom very clean and with all amenities. Breakfast was also great, lots of fresh fruit and eggs to your choice. The only thing to recommend: get your water for tea in one of the teapots they offer, the hot water thermos is sometimes also used for coffee.
It is in the ciudad vieja, so very close to historical buildings and museums and the harbour, you need a taxi though to go to other parts of the city.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NirakMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaHistorica, Director de Recepción at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Alma Histórica. Your opinion is significant to us, since it tell us how can we be improved.

It is a pity you had that bad experience with the hot water during breakfast. The kitchen staff is always attentive and strives to serve the best breakfast, but in any case we will consult with them about what may have happened.

Furthermore, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and our services were to your liking.

We hope to welcome in your next visit to Montevideo.

With our best wishes,
Staff of Alma Histórica Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews