We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel, excellent breakfast prime location, totally recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punta Trouville Hotel
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Punta Trouville is located at Francisco Vidal 726, the hotel is named as apartments but is more like a hotel. My room had a mini kitchen and linens were quite clean and neat. I spent a weekend from 23 to 27Jul2010 and was very pleased with service and rates. Everything is with a walkin distance and neighborhood has a lot of restaurant and bars.
Totally recommend the following:
Rambla de Punta Carretas
Rambla de Pocitos
Rambla de Buceo
Teatro Solis http://www.teatrosolis.org.uy
Heladeria La Cigale
Don Pepperone restaurant http://www.donpeperone.com.uy

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 649 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

There are two Punta Trouville Hotels: one is Punta Trouville Apart and the other is Punta Trouville Suites. I stayed in the Punta Trouville Suites, a block from the rambla (the avenue that goes along the Plata River), very quiet, well-decorated, with LCD TV, heating, a new bathroom and free wi-fi internet. There's also a small kitchen in the room. But if you stay there you have to go to the other hotel for breakfast. The buffet is amazing and it's only half a block away. That wasn't a problem for me.
The staff is very helpful and they gave us tips about places to go at night, and made lunch and cab reservations.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a nice view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniquirida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Located in a safe area of residential apartments on quiet tree lined street one back from the main road (the Rambla) along the beach. Easy access to old town by taxi in about 10 minutes for approx US$6.

Our studio room was clean and comfortable, with a small kitchen bench, fridge and microwave. Although on the 13th floor, the view was only of the backs of other apartment buildings.
The bathroom was small but functional. Breakfast offered a good selection and was well presented. Wi-Fi, which was claimed to be available throughout the hotel, provided only a poor connection that regularly dropped out.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicholas_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

The Punta Trouville Apartments is located in Pocitos, a nice and safe neighbourhood just by the beach (actually the Rio de la Plata), with good restaurants and a shopping mall (if that's your thing) within walking distance. The rooms are comfortable without being luxurious and I second the comments about the breakfast - quite good! The service was competent but nothing to write home about. Montevideo is a charming and affordable place, a bit rough around the edges but that's part of the charm. The city center and the Ciudad Vieja are definitely worth a visit but I much preferred to stay in Pocitos.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ir_wintergarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a Europen style large B&B located in a residential neighborhood. (Its about 4 miles to the center of downtown.)

The Punta Trouville offers nice, clean, simple rooms with apt type facilities (ours had a TV, aircon, fridge, microwave and kettle). The buffet breakfast was excellent. The staff was very helpful. And we liked the 12th floor sundeck overlooking the bay. See their website.

The surrounding residential neighborhood offers few amenities. There is a corner market and a few restaraunts within 3 blocks. The beach is one block away. Down by the beach you can catch the 116 or 121 buses which go all the way to Ciudad Viejo (17 pesos). These buses cover the main tourist areas.

The main shopping center in MVD is about a 20 min. walk.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabiBagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We liked our room; it was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was very good. We enjoyed being close to the shore while staying in a quiet street.
We didn't like being awaken at 8am by construction workers hammering next door. The noise went on all day long until 3 or 4pm. Hopefully this is not a chronic problem.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiguelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Check in was a bit disappointing. In some hotels after you give your name, 2 seconds later, your handed the key to your room. Not so here; it took 2 guys at least 10 minutes to complete the check in process. The room they assigned smelled as i several cigar smokers had just left. When I asked for a non smoking room, I got one....eventually.
The room was fine. The hotel was a rather long walk to any where. The breakfast was exceptional!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XchocolateX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Ermitage Hotel
Ermitage Hotel
#24 of 87 in Montevideo
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
#17 of 87 in Montevideo
602 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#12 of 87 in Montevideo
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Regency Golf Hotel
Regency Golf Hotel
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
735 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
1,166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Trouville Hotel

Address: Francisco a. Vidal 726 | Barrio de Pocitos, Montevideo 11304, Uruguay (Formerly Punta Trouville Apart & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: $59 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was built in 2001 and comprises a total of 85 comfortable and spacious apartments. It also offers large terraces to make your stay even more comfortable and enjoyable. At your disposal there are air-conditioned lobby and check-out service 24 hours reception, elevator, cafeteria, Wi -Fi / Internet access, laundry service and parking.Location:The hotel is located just minutes from downtown Montevideo, in the exclusive neighborhood of Pocitos. You will find restaurants, public transport (bus), shops just 100 m.To 200 meters is the beach and there are also bars, in addition to 500 m is Villa Biaritz parck. The old town is 5 km away and Punta del Este is 140 km.Room:The bright apartments, specially designed, are equipped with private bathroom with shower / bathtub and hairdryer, direct dial telephone, cable / satellite TV, radio, Internet access, a kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave, bed or double, safe, heating, coffee / tea maker, iron and ironing board, and a comfortable terrace that makes every stay a pleasure.Entertainment:The hotel has a terrace with sun beds and if you like sports, you can workout in the gym. Golf enthusiasts have a field 1 km from the hotel.Meals:Guests may select their breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Punta Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Trouville Apartments Hotel Montevideo
Punta Trouville Apart Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing