We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel from half a century ago. In a positive sense”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
529 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A hotel from half a century ago. In a positive sense”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel Palacio is very well preserved building with antique furniture from 50-60 situated in the heart of the old city. In the hotel you have a feeling like you travel in time for half a century. Service staff members are elderly venerable ladies and gentlemen, who are extremely polite and grandmotherly. A lift in the hotel is a piece of art that should be kept in a museum! Personnel does not speak English but they will explain you everything in Spanish and with their gesture you will get everything what they wanted to say.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    238
    61
    8
    4
See reviews for
59
267
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I picked this for a combination of location, price and positive reviews. If you are looking for chic, modern, contemporary this is not for you. I absolutely loved it. It has an unbeatable location and the staff are so just so nice and genuinely helpful. Loved the charm of it - totally fab lift, room shutters and room furniture etc but with air con and cable. I had an amazing balcony on the 6th floor. WiFi was fine in the room and road noise minimal. Comfortable, clean and secure in a great location with lovely staff at a good price - really hard to beat and ticked all the boxes for me and exceeded expectations. From the bus station it was 150 in a taxi - about 7 USD - or there are loads of buses for about a dollar. I emailed a couple of times and always had a fast response which was good. If you are thinking of staying here read a few reviews as it is not going to suit some people. For me it totally enhanced my stay in Montevideo mostly due to its old charm and the lovely staff who work there.

Room Tip: I loved my room. 6th floor with balcony. Room 67
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilJackieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Staying at Hotel Palacio greatly enhanced my experience of Montevideo. As per all of the previous reviews, it has such character. You spend all day walking around and marvelling at the gorgeous old buildings of Montevideo, and then get to go and sleep in one of them! Beautifully maintained and really classy as well as very clean and safe.

The location is excellent, being right in the centre of town, on the edge of the old city, a block away from the famous Fun Fun Bar and close to lots of local buses.

The staff were really caring and helpful, be aware that they only speak a few words of English, but frankly to me that just adds to the experience of immersion in this lovely city.

This is not a sparkling modern hotel - with that wonderful character come a few drawbacks that were not at all a problem for me, but you should be aware of in case they are deal breakers for you. My room did not have air conditioning, just a fan and a radiator. You may therefore decide to have your window open at night to let some fresh air in, if you decide to do that there will be a little noise from the street outside (it's not a busy street but it is quite narrow so things echo). You can smoke in the rooms, which is fine as the floors are wooden, so little smell remains. However if you close all of your doors and windows a faint odour lingers. If you're a non-smoker maybe try asking for a non-smoking room, I hadn't thought to request that in advance.

Seriously a wonderful hotel, if you're looking for an experience not just a place to lie your head you would be crazy not to book this one particularly with their low price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked a superior room that had an amazing balcony. For $56, the value cannot be beat. Don't expect luxury amenities, but you get more than you pay for. Rooms are small, but the staff is very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Montevideo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamesfam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Palacio is exactly the sort of charming 'out of time' hotel you hope you'll find but very rarely do! In fact the last time I did it was also in Uruguay - the Casino Hotel in Carrasco, but that was about 30 years ago before it had the big makeover by Sofitel.....
The Palacio is situated perfectly for a visit to Montevideo, in the nicest part of the Ciudad Vieja, close to Teatro Solis and just off the Plaza Independencia. The staff are extremely helpful and polite - more like delightful aunties running a B&B they love than normal desk staff.
The rooms are quite spacious, have big picture windows and look as if they probably have the same furniture as when it was first built. (In the nicest, most attractive way.) in those sort of places I usually fear for a saggy, squeaky bed - but the double here was actually one of the best and firmest mattresses I've come across outside the big four-star chains.
We thought it was terrific value too at about US$65 per night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HenleyJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had look at several hotels in this area the afternoon I arrived in Montevideo and was very happy I chose this one. I had a sizable room overlooking a smaller street and everything was in good working condition and very clean. The older woman working at the reception was very helpful and was looking after me and told me what areas of the City to avoid after 9:00 PM. I highly recommend this hotel for those that are looking for something nice and on a budget at the same time. You are in walking distance to everything Historical in the city including the restaurants at the Port.

Room Tip: I had a nice view room on a upper floor but you can also get up to the rooftop for a good view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a small room with a cute little balcony and the aircon was great. The location is right in the middle of the ciudad vieja. The owners are adorable and give great trip advice. Don't expect a flashy hotel or an amazing room, but you get a great deal for what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniellefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#60 of 87 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Montevideo
Ibis Montevideo
#30 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Property: Hotel Palacio
Address: Bartolome Mitre 1364, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacio Hotel is located in the heart of Montevideo, in one of the most lively corners of the city. Surrounded by art galleries, antique shops, pubs and cafes, it also has a quick access to the most attractive areas of the city. All rooms are comfortable, with external view, spacious bathrooms, telephone, central heating and cable TV. The Superior rooms have large balconies with an outstanding view of the city port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing