We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Insane value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Insane value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

All of the input about this property being perfectly located and having a charming history are exactly true. Our room on the top floor was small, but the bathroom was the size you might expect in a McMansion. And it had a balcony with an outrageous view bigger than the room.

There is a slightly balky elevator that services all 6 floors. The staff doesn't speak English, but we were able to converse just fine. At the end of our lovely stay, we were presented with a $52 bill.

I looked around for Allen Funt to see if we were indeed on Candid Camera, but alas, it is just the going rate there. A charming old place right in the heart of Montevideo for a small fee. Awesome! .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clue84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    233
    60
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
264
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This lovely hotel, has the charm of old Montevideo. Set in the beginning of the old city (the safe part), it is literally 1 minute walk from the main sq and 1 minute walk from bars restaurants and outdoor cafes in the old town. The mercado del puerto is 10 minutes walk away. The staff was just amazing. I will surely go back! Wifi was super strong. never failed once!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel was built in 1928, at the height of the economic boom that resulted from Uruguay's cattle and leather exports to Europe. It has been lovingly maintained, with the marble stairs, polished woodwork and brass, and quality construction that marked this era. The rooms may be a bit small, but they are very comfortable, clean and quiet. The service is superb; the Wi-Fi connection is fast and effective; the location is right off the pedestrian walkway that leads from the central plaza to the old central market in the port district; and the room rates are quite reasonable compared with those charged by nearby chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The great value hotel is in a great location. The building has many wonderful original features - like a wrought iron cage elevator with all the brass trimmings, brass handrail on the lovely marble staircase, high ceilings with traditional shutters, etc.

The elderly people who own and run the hotel are very helpful and welcoming. On chilly spring nights, the central heating was most welcome as was the extra blankets on the super-comfy bed.

The hotel is very clean, although a little tired and worn.

Its great value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaireadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've found that flying from New York City into Montevideo is less expensive than flying into Buenos Aires, but it's a little harder to find an inexpensive room for the night. I've stayed at 2 different hostels in Montevideo this year, and the Hotel Palacio is a great alternative.

I was a bit chilly, but I piled on the blankets and slept off my jet lag very cozily! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom extremely clean, and the furnishings nice (I had a table for my laptop computer). The wifi and mini-fridge worked perfectly, and the location is excellent for getting around on foot and by omnibus (many of the bus lines stop at the yellow building across the street from the Teatro Solis). I did fine with my semi-fluent Spanish, and the folks at the front desk were truly lovely. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springbyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location for your Montevideo-trip. It's on the border between the old town and new town, what makes it the right place start for all your sightseeing.

It looks a bit old fashioned, but that's the charm of this hotel. It even has an original 1940's elevator like you see in the movies. The rooms are nice and clean and the bathroom is ok (although I would suggest to replace the shower curtains by some kind of doors with some next renovation).

The hotel is only about 100 meters from the Plaza Indepencia and 100 meters from Plaza Constitución. The hotel staff advised us not to go into the old town after sunset, but during daytime you really have to go there. Some nice markets, restaurants and graffiti paintings to spot here.

Al the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They let us make some phonecalls with Aerolineas Argentinas (who lost our luggage) and didn't charge for it. Only little minus is that most of the staff don't speak much English.

They don't serve breakfast in the hotel, but in old town there are plenty nice restaurants at fair prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jorisbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for five nights in August 2013 in standard double room. The room was lovely - warm, with a comfortable bed, a decent shower and a fridge. It's quite an old fashioned hotel but is clean and tidy. The location is great for the port and the old town. Olga is very helpful (although she doesn't speak any English). Fantastic value as well

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#28 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#30 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#43 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#59 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Montevideo
Ibis Montevideo
#32 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.3 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Property: Hotel Palacio
Address: Bartolome Mitre 1364, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacio Hotel is located in the heart of Montevideo, in one of the most lively corners of the city. Surrounded by art galleries, antique shops, pubs and cafes, it also has a quick access to the most attractive areas of the city. All rooms are comfortable, with external view, spacious bathrooms, telephone, central heating and cable TV. The Superior rooms have large balconies with an outstanding view of the city port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing