We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the old city”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, our first visit to Montevideo. The rate was a bit more than we would normally go for ($46 per night for private double) but we were not able to find good alternatives with great reviews. The hotel is very nice in an old building located 1 block from Plaza Independencia and right on the pedestrian street through the old part of the city. It was clean and staff was nice. There is no included breakfast or coffee. A computer with internet is available as is Wi-Fi. Our room had a nice walk out patio although it was a bit cold to enjoy it. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room 66, private double with a large walkout patio.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palacio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 536 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

I just paid 170 USD for two nights. If cleanliness is your only priority, then this might be a fair price. Me, I don't want to be walking sideways around the bed, not at that rate.

(The staff are very welcoming, and understand some English. The wifi works well.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trachaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fercharrua, Director General at Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your opinion. According to our research, apparently the online travel agency made two different reservations of two days each, after confirmation, this OTA would be returning your money.

Sorry for the inconvenience,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Palacio for a week with a friend whilst we searched for a flat. The location is perfect (we could see part of the Plaza de Independencia from our room) Our room and the hotel was very clean and staff we're very friendly and helpful. There is a computer downstairs and wifi in the room which was a real bonus!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Palacio for teo nights while exploring Montevideo.te Hotel is close to the historic part of town, close to placa independencia and the mercado del puerto,where you can eat great meat and have a unique experience.there's a station aswell for the Hopp on Hopp off Touristic-Bus.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schmeichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Older style hotel with older furniture etc but it is pretty cool at the same time, more of an antique style place. Staff were friendly but did not speak any english, so was lucky we had a friend with us that speaks ok Spanish. We hired bikes out from the hotel for $300 Uruguay pesos p/day, i think you can get it cheaper elsewhere and better bikes, but still got us around ok. The rooms were comfortable and clean including the bathroom. For the price it is quite good and the location is very good also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in Montevideo for two nights in May at the Hotel Palacio. The location was great, on the edge of the Ciudad Vieja (Old city) on the main pedestrian walkway, and next the the plaza and the main avenue of the central city. Unfortunately our two nights here were a Sunday and Monday and the city was completely dead with most places shut at night. The staff were very friendly, however make sure you know a bit of spanish as they have no english. The room was ok, a bed, a 10in tv and an average bathroom. Where this place makes up for it is the price, a good enough room in a great location for only $46 US a night. I was a little surprised by it's ranking as the number one hotel in Montevideo but we had no complaints at all. A word of advice if you want to rent bikes through the hotel, tell the staff you want to return them that night and not the next day. They try to give you a 24 hour rental however the ladies at the hotel said they would definitely be stolen off the street overnight and there is nowhere to secure them inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Strunky_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you traveled in Uruguay before you know what to accept when staying in hotels. This place is way above the average. First of all, the location could not be better. Right next to the main walking street of Ciudad Vieja. Second, the building is old school with a classic elevator and rooms (very clean with great bathrooms) that would make a great set in a movie with their iron balconies, tall old doors, and classic furniture. The staff is just out of this world, extremely helpful, nice. There is a room where you can keep your luggage after check out or before check in. There is wi-fi and a couple of extra computers downstairs in the reading room. A useful tip for those don't want to pay for taxi to the airport and don't mind to take the bus. Have the staff call you a taxi and go to the Bus Terminal Baltasar Brum ($3-5 USD.) From that bus terminal take the #700 bus (another couple bucks)to Carrasco, it will take you right in front of the Airport Terminal. Calculate about an hour and a half for the entire trip. This will save you about 30-40 USD and you'll get to see some of Montevideo that otherwise you wouldn't.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QuerkueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#59 of 87 in Montevideo
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#35 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#33 of 87 in Montevideo
446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#40 of 87 in Montevideo
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Address: Bartolome Mitre 1364, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $38 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacio Hotel is located in the heart of Montevideo, in one of the most lively corners of the city. Surrounded by art galleries, antique shops, pubs and cafes, it also has a quick access to the most attractive areas of the city. All rooms are comfortable, with external view, spacious bathrooms, telephone, central heating and cable TV. The Superior rooms have large balconies with an outstanding view of the city port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing