We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I dreamed of staying here, finally I did...”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I dreamed of staying here, finally I did...”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you traveled in Uruguay before you know what to accept when staying in hotels. This place is way above the average. First of all, the location could not be better. Right next to the main walking street of Ciudad Vieja. Second, the building is old school with a classic elevator and rooms (very clean with great bathrooms) that would make a great set in a movie with their iron balconies, tall old doors, and classic furniture. The staff is just out of this world, extremely helpful, nice. There is a room where you can keep your luggage after check out or before check in. There is wi-fi and a couple of extra computers downstairs in the reading room. A useful tip for those don't want to pay for taxi to the airport and don't mind to take the bus. Have the staff call you a taxi and go to the Bus Terminal Baltasar Brum ($3-5 USD.) From that bus terminal take the #700 bus (another couple bucks)to Carrasco, it will take you right in front of the Airport Terminal. Calculate about an hour and a half for the entire trip. This will save you about 30-40 USD and you'll get to see some of Montevideo that otherwise you wouldn't.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuerkueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    238
    61
    8
    4
See reviews for
59
267
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Central, spotless, welcoming, atmospheric, budget friendly, this old family run hotel with its rooms that are taller than they are wide is certainly a place to consider for your stay in Montevideo. The drawbacks are worn, sagging beds and when the weather cools, chilly floors. No breakfast at the hotel, but plenty of places around to have it. The mistress of the house told us old centre that starts at the hotel may be unsafe at night.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the two top floors are larger, have balconies and are quieter. The also cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Memo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1,199 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Do not fool yourself: this might not be *the best* hotel in Montevideo. This is a great hotel (probably the best) for those looking for a good budget hotel.

Location couldn't be better for those intending to explore the old town: right in the middle of ciudad vieja, very close to some good bars, next to the pedestrian street and to the main plaza.

We were fortunate to get a room in the 6th floor facing the street with a lovely balcony. If it's available, ask for it.

Room was old style. There was a small tv, minibar, wardrobe, A/C and heater (no need to use any of them in April).

Bathroom was big, box with curtains, little water coming out of the tap; soap is provided, no shampoo.

Staff was always very kind.

No restaurant, no breakfast (but you can have one right in the corner).

Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mconstantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

As everyone else says, lovely older staff couldn't be more helpful and charming.

We had room 67 at the top of the hotel. Beautiful old lift. We had a large terrace with a great view over the city, the river plate and the harbour.

Yes, the building is old and the rooms are not immaculate, but they are full of character and better than the star rating suggests. The bed that we had was large and the mattress felt new - incredibly comfortable.

Large bathrooms, very clean and nice hot shower (no bath).

Very well located, plenty of restaurants and bars within a 5 min walk of the hotel. Hotel staff will happily recommend places to visit/eat. 10 min taxi ride from the bus station (approximately pesos $150/£5)

Highly recommended for a short stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazaraghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the location and based on tripadvisor reviews plus the great price and were not disappointed. For £40 you get more than you pay for - the room and bathroom were clean and the best was the service/friendliness of the staff and its location. Whilst Montevideo itself leaves much wanting, if you are passing by and need a place to stay, stay here. We found both Argentina and Uruguay very expensive and this little gem was such a welcome change - and we usually stay at upmarket boutiques and still found this place decent and excellent value for money. It's like a very clean hostel room with an ensuite, TV and balcony!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our stay at Palacio was very pleasant, room was small but represented value for money. I would recommend a terrace room to prevent feeling closed in. Palacio is very traditional in its furnishings and fittings giving it a historical feel in keeping with the Old Town. The bed was old but comfortable and clean and the bathroom was big enough for us to store our luggage. My only complaint about the room was that it was quite dark and we needed to leave the doors open to get the light in. As a suggestion, I would also strongly recommend that the hotel provides a basic coffee and tea service for guests as if you are in the Old Town on the weekend you will not find anything open before 10.00am. The city is like a Ghost Town on the weekends!

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room. The Terrace is large and offers good city views. It also allows more light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamaleHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Really helpful staff. Great location of the edge of the old city and within a five minute walk of the food market by the port. Clean rooms. Large bathroom. Old school characterful building. No breakfast but plenty of options close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah55663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#60 of 87 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Montevideo
Ibis Montevideo
#30 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Property: Hotel Palacio
Address: Bartolome Mitre 1364, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacio Hotel is located in the heart of Montevideo, in one of the most lively corners of the city. Surrounded by art galleries, antique shops, pubs and cafes, it also has a quick access to the most attractive areas of the city. All rooms are comfortable, with external view, spacious bathrooms, telephone, central heating and cable TV. The Superior rooms have large balconies with an outstanding view of the city port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing