We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Really helpful staff. Great location of the edge of the old city and within a five minute walk of the food market by the port. Clean rooms. Large bathroom. Old school characterful building. No breakfast but plenty of options close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah55663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    237
    60
    8
    4
See reviews for
58
267
64
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

+ Located right in the centre between Plaza Indepencia and Plaza Constitucion in the old part of town
+ from the balcony of my room I could see both the sea and the bay
+ very friendly and helpful people at the reception
+ very clean
+ very good value for money
o it is an old hotel and that is reflected in the (relatively small) size of the rooms and in the (old but nice) furniture
o WiFi is free, but only every second floor has a decent connection. After I changed room I was happy.
- no breakfast included

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Outstanding, family run hotel in the center of Montevideo. My wife and I only stayed two nights (it was a short vacation from Buenos Aires), but we'd go back in a second and stay much longer if we ever make it to Montevideo again. The elderly couple that run the hotel are very personable. What's more to say...it's inexpensive, it feels like you're in the Old World, but is very comfortable and convenient to the best of the city.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, but the ones facing east are a bit quieter and have private balconies and cool bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drizell253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend 2 nights, and the place was adorable to us.You can notice that the (mostly elderly) workers love their job and take it serious! Most importantly: the place is clean and everything works well. People working were also very professional and nice. Note that the breakfast is not included (but they also don't claim it is). It seems that to one side it can be noisy on saturday nights, but on our side we had no problems with any noise. Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: It seems that one of the sides (our room was not on that side), on saturday nights, it can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

the nice reception staff is always ready to chat and give you information about Montevideo. The hotel is in the city center close to the main touristic attractions. Our old fashion room was clean and confortable, there is a pc and guides for guests. No breakfast. Cheap price for the best location in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia_liguria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel was excellent. The location was perfect, right in the middle of everything. The decor was very nice - it reminded me of a boutique hotel in Paris. The price was unbelievably low. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who visits Montevideo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were looking for a cheap and convenient place to stay and found this on your website. It did not disappoint. In fact, it was one of the highlights of our holiday. We had two rooms, one of which had a rooftop balcony with great views over the city and the sea. The staff didn't speak any English and our Spanish is poor, but they were so charming and helpful. The lift is a legend!! In fact the whole place feels very old fashioned, but in a very positive way. So if you like old and quirky, stay there. We loved it so much didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jordantraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#60 of 87 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Montevideo
Ibis Montevideo
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Property: Hotel Palacio
Address: Bartolome Mitre 1364, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacio Hotel is located in the heart of Montevideo, in one of the most lively corners of the city. Surrounded by art galleries, antique shops, pubs and cafes, it also has a quick access to the most attractive areas of the city. All rooms are comfortable, with external view, spacious bathrooms, telephone, central heating and cable TV. The Superior rooms have large balconies with an outstanding view of the city port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing