We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem of a Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great Value - Very convenient location beside the old town. gem of an old colonial hotel - it is aging but the place is spotless. the bed was very comfy and the superior room had a great balcony.. the owners are lovely and although they dont speak much english they were extremly friendly and were very patient with my mediocre spanish.

would reccomed it - especially the superior room with the balocony with great views over the city

Room Tip: superior room on the top floor, a tiny bit more expensive. quiter and great balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smull00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    232
    60
    7
    4
See reviews for
56
264
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
159 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This beautiful old building is in the heart of the action directly off the walking street. Beautiful old building with an amazing elevator. No breakfast but lots of places nearby to grab fruit and coffees. The staff were great and make sure to ask to get up to the roof to see the breathtaking views. We had a room on the upper floor with a stunning balcony. The rooms are small but have A/C and a fridge. The bathrooms were great.

Final Thoughts: I can see no reason why you would not stay here. If you are chillin in this cool city for a few days this is your spot for sure. Close to everything and a great value. A must stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. You'll be happy you did - amazing night time views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkyjive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and could not have been happier.

Great value rooms in a fantastic location right next to the old city. The room we had (66) had a great balcony, fridge, great bathroom, fan, air-con and cable TV. The staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are like something from the old world. The hotel is immaculately clean and you feel like you have stepped back in time. Bags of charm and character.

Highly recommended - stay here if you are in Montevideo!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Everyone who works at the Hotel Palacio is extremely helpful. Location is excellent. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast isn't served, but there are many options within two minutes of the front door. For those not wanting to spend the money for a taxi to or from the airport, ask for information about public transport connections. Hotel Palacio offers budget travelers a terrific base in a city that has a dearth of good, economical accommodation.

Room Tip: Aside from the top floor rooms, which offer travelers a balcony, all rooms are of a similar standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynnhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during a quick trip to Montevideo on the Buquebus ferry from Buenos Aires. The staff was very friendly. They take credit cards. I made my reservation on line. And while walking around I compared rates with other hotels nearby. And at $42 a night I felt I had gotten a good deal at Hotel Palacio. A whole lot better than the hotels I stayed in Buenos Aires for the same rate. Dont' miss out on lunch at El Mercado del Puerto for authentic meat on the grill.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Just back from 2 days here. We were 3 travelling, and had a double room, with a single room adjoining it, shared bathroom between the two rooms. Large balcony, cable tv, big bathroom. Location is excellent, with lots of eateries within walking distance. People at the hotel were just lovely, with lots of help when required. Would definitely stay again. Noise was a factor as there was an outdoor stage with live band down one of the nearby streets, but guess this doesn't happen all the time. Double room was a bit cramped for the two of us, but the single one was fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STELLA08Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

This was our second stay in this hotel . First trip was in April 2011 and booked the top room with a big balcony overlooking partly the Plaza Indepencia. The staff is very friendly and the room is clean comparing to same $$ hotels in Uruguay.It was the end of our trip and had a rental car which needed to be parked 1 block down the street for $6/night(cheap) . It gave us security that it would still be there the next day. It is simply unsafe to wander in the dark /empty streets at night. The nightlife starts around midnight and if you have a streetside room you will be reminded. The party last till 9 in the morning which gives you the choice of being up all night or joining the party outside the front door . We still liked this hotel for the convenience of its location to shops, bars and restaurants . We will definitely come again .

Room Tip: Get the top floor rooms with a huge balcony and perfect view.Prefer the east side ( not street ) for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#28 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#30 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#59 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Montevideo
Ibis Montevideo
#32 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Property: Hotel Palacio
Address: Bartolome Mitre 1364, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacio Hotel is located in the heart of Montevideo, in one of the most lively corners of the city. Surrounded by art galleries, antique shops, pubs and cafes, it also has a quick access to the most attractive areas of the city. All rooms are comfortable, with external view, spacious bathrooms, telephone, central heating and cable TV. The Superior rooms have large balconies with an outstanding view of the city port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing