We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ermitage Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
My Suites(Montevideo)
$90
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AXSUR Design Hotel(Montevideo)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveler rating
227
457
121
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
457
121
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspocitos beachrooms are cleanbasic hotelbreads and pastriesview of the riverunderground parkingcold cutshotel is locatedstayed nightsbreakfast was includedwithin easy walking distancenice neighborhoodfree wifiexcellent locationvisit montevideotwo blocksnice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 823 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent two nights at the Ermitage in late January 2013.

I agree with an earlier reviewer that this is not a four-star hotel. It is, however a solid three-star.

Some aspects of the decor are indeed tired; for example, the carpet in the room needed to be replaced. The hallways look old, though old hallways are hard to dress up too much. However, in our room the bathroom had been completely redone and was beautiful. The air conditioning worked and was quiet, and there was a big selection of food at breakfast. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable.

The location is hard to beat -- a block from the beach, and walking distance to numerous restaurants (we had very good meals at Terracotta and La Otra).

The front desk staff spoke adequate English. They were far from gregarious, but they were responsive whenever we needed something.

The key, however, is that the price was remarkably low, given the location. It's not luxurious, but it is comfortable, well-located and inexpensive -- that's not a bad combination.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel is right by the beach . Rooms are ok , good size and clean.
Front desk staff are not rude but it feels like they forgot they were in the hospitality industry!
I sent two emails asking for directions from bus station to hotel never got an answer
They told us when we left we could get 10% discount if we paid cash , they never mentioned it before and of course we had no cash left. never told us water in the fridge was not free (it was in other hotels. No smile ,they ignored you when you came in.Small things but it does not leave you with a good impression !! What a contrast from our comparable hotel in BA

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank db0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There are 4 stars at the entrance of the hotel. Perhaps in 1945, but not is 2013. The entire hotel is very tired. At the desk in my room (303), there were 2 electric outlets, one was for the TV and th other for the desk lamp. If you used one outlet for a laptop, it is rather dark.
The bathtub had a permanent glass partition. It was necessary to get into the bathtub to run the bath water. However, the knob for the bath faucet didn't work, so to fill the tub, one had to use the shower water. When exiting the tub, a blast of cold air from the ventilator hits you.
The breakfast was fair, at best.
There were few, if any, restaurants in the immediate area.
The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable a bus to centro was across the street and the beach was close by

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XchocolateX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel one block from the beach. We had a balcony room up high which gave us a great view of the ocean. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast buffet had a great variety. Firm beds, nicely furnished thoughout and good space.

Room Tip: Ocean side balcony rooms have the best views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Nice view. Excellent breakfast. Perfect location, near restaurants and seaside, it is not necessary to get taxis.
The neighborhood is nice and safe, just a little noisy because of the buses that stop at the square in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 509Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews