We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Clean, quiet and close to everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza Fuerte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Fuerte
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Clean, quiet and close to everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Plaza Fuerte. It is in a perfect location in the Ciudad Vieja, close to many restaurants and sites. It was very clean, the rooms were beautifully updated, and we had a great view of the Plaza Independencia. It also offers a continental breakfast on the rooftop terrace, which was great. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Montevideo.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katepprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    164
    74
    32
    25
See reviews for
47
209
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

There is a big difference between the "standard rooms" - which are located in the first floor - and the more expensive rooms - from the second floor up. My sister and my mother stayed in a standard room and it was not a very pleasant experience. The corridor that leads to the rooms had a strong smell of cigarette smoke, the carpet and the curtains in the room looked and were dirty and there was not even a shower cap in the bathroom. My husband and I stayed in the second floor and it was different: there was no smell of smoke, the carpet in the room looked better, the curtains were cleaner ... it was quite weird, because although we were all staying in the SAME hotel, it did not feel like it. Besides that, we experienced a weird episode. We wanted to go to Bouza, this fancy wine place which is 30 minutes away from Montevideo, and we asked someone from the staff for some help regarding the best way to go and get back there. He told my husband that we could get a cab to go, but due to the fact that it was not very easy to get a cab to come back to Montevideo, he could get us a driver. He would take us there, wait for one hour and a half, and bring us back. That would cost 1 600 uruguayan pesos!!!! I thought that was too expensive, a rip-off. Besides, we wanted to spend more than two hours there. So I called Bouza and, for my surprise, they told me it would be no problem getting a cab to get back to Montevideo after the visit. To get to the end of the story: we payed 200 pesos to go and 240 pesos to get back, and realized we should not trust the staff hotel anymore. Well, to be fair: the location is great and breakfast was simple, but nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank alherzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fco-Rodriguez, Director General at Hotel Plaza Fuerte, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Dear guest:

You are absolutely right when you compare the standard rooms and the rooms located is the upper floors, but that is the offer that some of our clients request us to get a better price in our hotel. The smell in the aisle is something that we are putting all of our efforts to avoid due to the lack of ventilation in that floor. But we clean that area everyday.
According with your bad impression about our staff just to tell you that the difference between a regular taxi service (small cars and narrow in the back seat) a one of the private driver cars (remises) is the service itself. The private driver is more expensive because the car is a sedan with air conditioned, GPS, and a very professional driver who is always waiting for you at your request. Sometimes, if someone if visiting the vineyards in the afternoon, could be waiting for a taxi for more than 30 minutes, so if the private driver is always waiting for you is something that some of our clients has valued for the perfect timing with their time. Our staff was not trying to cheat you, they just were given you the most comfortable option. A normal taxi cost (return) 23,50 USD, and a private driver costs 84 USD for the whole service.

Thank you for your review and hope that my response will be useful.
Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

First, you cannot beat the location. Second, the 5 meter high ceilings in an old gorgeous building with all the modern amenities. Third, the friendly, English speaking (at the desk) staff. Fourth, a 20 minute parking space at the door of the hotel for your friends or visitors to be able to come up to your room or social area rather than struggle looking for a parking opportunity. Most importantly, all the inevitable small wrinkles any hotel stay implies were immediately ironed out as soon as I would mention it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

the design of the rooms were wonderful, modern, very good taste! they were very clean, just like the bathrooms....but the problem was the pumbling, maybe....when the shower worked, some water linked off the box, and the sink did not empty easily...and the drain and toilet basket were rusty....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariacarolinakamei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

The Plaza Fuerte is stuck right in the heart of Montevideo, above pedestrian walkways, bars and restaurants. Because it is so old, it's small and cramped. I feared noise and claustrophobia.

But the rooms were sound proofed and it was quiet. It was a bit cramped, and the details, like places where paint is peeling, prevent it from being a great hotel.

Most of the old hotel has been renovated and it has real character, especially the common areas, such as the classic elevators and atriums.

The rooms are small and simple but fine for one or two people who want a bed for the night rather than a place to hang out in. It's location is also perfect, within walking distance of all the sights of old Montevideo.

Service was good, but slow, but that's Latin America...



rthe lack of

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewDownieBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

After reading reviews, we picked Plaza Fuerte. However, upon arrival, we were immediately dissapointed. The front desk attendants did not tell us the hours of breakfast or where it was located, nor were they friendly. Our room had multiple maintenance issues, including a shower that leaked over the entire bathroom and random flickering lights. When we figured out where breakfast was, through our own exploration, we found that at least 3 other couples had trouble finding it as well. Would never stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TryNEthingOnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

Rio de Janeiro/ Brasil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

The hotel is very good, however your location is near many places and many bar/ nights and this is not good if you want to sleep!!! Besides that the service was excellent and room was clean e cozy!
I like very much!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#24 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#60 of 87 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.5 mi away
London Palace
London Palace
#49 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#65 of 87 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Fuerte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Fuerte

Property: Hotel Plaza Fuerte
Address: Bartolome Mitre 1361, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Fuerte 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical building complete reformed in 2008. 16 Suites with a modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Fuerte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing