We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Four Points Sheraton!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed June 7, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sheraton Four Points in Montevideo and loved it! My husband is a Starwood member so early check in was not a problem. The location is within walking distance of most sights, but the hotel can arrange a city tour which we took and enjoyed very much.

Our room was very large with a separate full bath area and shower area. We didn't use the gym or pool during our stay.
Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean!

The staff at this hotel is incredible. They were very professional, extremely friendly and suggested a restaurant that we totally enjoyed. Try the restaurant "Francis." One of the best meals we had in South America! Large portions, good quailty food. It's located in a residential neighborhood with lots of charm!

Another plus from the staff was that we had about a week's worth of laundry to do. At first they first suggested that we would get a 30% discount if we used the hotel services. These services in a hotel are usually very expensive so we politely declined and decided to find a laundrymat in the neighbor. They said, "no problem" and called to find one for us a block down the street!!! Cost was $7 to do about 3 loads. The laundry service was great. Drop off your clothes and pick up 4 hours later-cleaned, fresh and folded! They even deliver to the hotel!

Montevideo is beautiful! The people are warm and friendly. We had a wonderful experience at the Sheraton Four Points and would not hesitate to stay there again!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelingASAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 735 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2007

After reading several articles on Uruguay, I decided to take a trip there and celebrate my 48th birthday. Being a Marriott Rewards member, I usually try to stay the 1st night at one of their properties after a long international flight. After adjusting to the new culture, I then try to go more 'local'. I was suprised to find that there are no Marriotts in Uruguay. After checking TripAdvisor and reading many good reviews, I decided to try Sheraton's 4 Points Montevideo. Upon arrival, I was greeted by a very professional and friendly front desk staff. Carolina and Gerardo were exceptional. After spending the afternoon sightseeing, I returned to my room to find a plate of chocolate sweets and a 'Happy Birthday' greeting compliments of the hotel. I had not told anyone that it was by birthday, so I assume they picked it up off my passport. Very, very impressive. The room was nicely equiped however the window could not be opened for fresh air. The A/C kept blowing warm air even after I cranked it down. I originally booked my room on Sheraton's website but found it $35 less on another website. My rate included a buffet breakfast which was a nice way to start off the day. A health club is located on the top floor and has an indoor pool that overlooks the city. A few treadmills and exercise area with TV rounds out the club. The location of the hotel is so-so. It's not in a bad area, but it is still a 10-15 minute walk to the 'Old City' where many of the sights are located. On day #3, I checked out at 12noon and stored my bags with the hotel and spent my last afternoon sightseeing. Upon returning at 3pm,the front desk arranged for a private hotel car/taxi to the airport at a very good rate ($5 more than a street taxi). I later found out that they had told the driver (in Spanish, in which I don't understand) to take a scenic coastal route and show me more tourist sites. What a treat. It seemed like the staff just kept on going that 'extra step'.
I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. In addition to Marriott Rewards, I am now a member of Sheraton's Starwood program. Again.. I was VERY impressed.

Stayed: May 2007
6  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We only stayed in Montevideo for one night, but the Four Points was pefectly located! It was very close to the main street that runs through Montevideo. Front desk staff spoke English and were very helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. My only complaint - the toilet ran the entire time we were there, and it was difficult to fix. Otherwise a very good hotel, great location, and good value.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pj813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed for one night at Four Points in Montevideo in December of 2006 at the end of our Argentina/Uruguay trip. The price of our king room was US$70:- including breakfast.

This hotel still feels very new (built in 2005 if I am correct), rooms are modern and clean. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the pool/fitness center though. Hotel is situated an easy 10-15-minutes walk from the old city. Service at the hotel is also very good and most of the staff speak good English.

In the evening we were wondering where to go for dinner and got an excellent recommendation from the duty manager. We had a dinner at "Che Montevideo" by the river on Rambla M. Gandhi, 10 minutes taxi drive from hotel. The restaurant has tables both inside and outside and is very popular because of the location. Both service and food were excellent too! Ask the reception to make a reservation for you, you won't be disappointed.

We found Four Points to be excellent value for money and won't hesitate to stay there again the next time we are in Montevideo.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank vulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2006

I stayed at the Four Points by Sheraton for two nights while on vacation in Montevideo. The hotel is very new and offers all the comforts. It offers a complementary buffet breakfast everyday in the lobby restaurant. The rooms are clean, big and offer all the amenities one can expect. There is an indoor heated swimming pool and gym on the tenth floor. In the lobby there is a business center with internet access. The location is fantastic, being on Ejido and Ave. 18 de Julio, just steps away from shopping, restaurants and other Montevideo sights. The service I received from all the employees at the hotel was excellent. I highly recommend the Four Points by Sheraton in Montevideo for business or vacation travel.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank justtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2006

The 4 Points is less than a year old and still has a feel of newness about it. The hotel is located just off the main central road through the heart of Montevideo, a 15 minute walk from the central square.

The rooms and levels of service are well above the standard you would expect in this price bracket and the hotel is establishing a good name for itself. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and kept very clean. It is considerably cheaper than the other Sheraton, which is much further out of the city and the Radisson, though this is slightly better located on the main square.

The hotel is 20 to 25 minutes from the airport and gives excellent access to the whole of the central area.

The food at the hotel is fine but I would suggest getting out as there are good restaurants around it and in the old city. If you have a spare 5 minutes try the 1970's style hot dog "super pancho" place on the corner with the main road, a 200 yard walk, they are the best our work team have found in Latin America and cost next to nothing !

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Gobicamelrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Savannah, Georgia
123
Reviewed January 24, 2006

We chose the Four Points based upon our having been to Montvideo in March of 2005 and wanting to stay at another Starwood property closer to Downtown. The Four Points has been open for about a year and offers great value for the average leisure and business traveler. The staff could not have been more friendly and the junior suite was large, modern and clean. Since the hotel is fairly new, it remains a hidden find amongst some rather tired downtown hotels. The downtown location was certainly different from that of the Sheraton Montevideo located in the more upscale Punta Carretas area of town, but offered a different perspective while providing a quality hotel experience.
Montevideo appeals to our sense of adventure and remains more than affordable for the U.S. traveler. In this regard, the Four Points Montevideo provides the creature comforts that more mature travelers are accustomed to while remaining a top notch South American property. So rather than go for the more expensive Sheraton, give the Four Points a try-you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Hyatt Centric Montevideo
#2 of 87 in Montevideo
685 reviews
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
#19 of 87 in Montevideo
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
418 reviews
My Suites
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
1,240 reviews
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo

Address: Ejido 1275, Montevideo 11113, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#11 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#16 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#25 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: $86 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy modern accommodations in the heart of downtown at Four Points by Sheraton Montevideo. Our hotel in Montevideo, Uruguay offers views of the city and proximity to Plaza Independencia, the city's main square. Our comfortable guestrooms also place you close to Teatro Solis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo Hotel Montevideo
4 Points By Sheraton Montevideo
Four Points Montevideo
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Four Points
Montevideo Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing