We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Klee(Montevideo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel California(Montevideo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europa Hotel(Montevideo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alvear(Montevideo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Embajador(Montevideo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Balfer(Montevideo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lafayette Hotel(Montevideo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lancaster Hotel(Montevideo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveler rating
220
371
131
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
371
131
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmakes no senseconcert venuesecond sinkspg programcardio machinesold towntop floorroom faced the streetan average hotelupgraded to a suitefree upgradegreat location and staffstreet noiseideal locationfour seasonsindoor poolhotel is located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 764 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I just spent 4 nights at the Four Points in Montevideo and I found the hotel quite well, though a bit expensive compared to other hotels in the city. The best about this hotel is its location. It's one block away from 18 de Julio avenue which is Montevideo's main street where you'll find restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Hotel is located at Ejido and San Jose streets, directly across Montevideo City Hall. So you just walk one block on Ejido street and you'll be in 18 de Julio avenue. At the corner of Ejido and 18 de Julio there's a McDonald's and a uruguayan food restaurant, so don't worry too much about eating in the hotel if that's the case.

Breakfast costs US$ 16 and wifi Internet access US$ 10 per day. You only get 30 minutes of free wifi per day. As I told them, considering their rate it makes no sense to charge for wifi. I also visited two other hotels in Montevideo, one of them even cheaper than this one and both offered free wifi.

Rooms are clean and spacious. The view from the window is not nice as you only see other buildings. There's a small safe inside the closet and a small refrigerator that you can use to store your drinks (of course it includes minibar drinks). I didn't find an iron in the closet so I'm not sure if it's available. Keep in mind that in Uruguay electrical outlets are type C and L (two round pins) and 220 volts, so consider taking with you an adapter. I found only one type A electrical outlet in the bathroom so it may not be enough if you have several gadgets and not the adapter.

Back to the location, from the corner of Ejido and 18 de Julio, you can walk 10 minutes to Paraguay street and turn right to get to Mercado de los Artesanos, which is a small handcrafts market. Plaza de la Independencia is a 20 minutes walk and Terminal Tres Cruces an hour walk (but to the opposite direction). Of course faster in taxi. Taxi rides cost around US$ 5-10.

From Plaza de la Independencia you can walk around Ciudad Vieja, get to the Escollera Sarandí which is a great place to watch the sunset and to Mercado del Puerto to eat some uruguayan beef. Keep in mind that Mercado del Puerto opens at 10am and closes at 6pm.

From Terminal Tres Cruces you can take a bus to Punta del Este (2 hours) and to Colonia (2h30 hours). Buses to these places leave and return frequently from 4am to midnight. Tickets cost around US$ 6-8 per person.

In short, as the title says, Four Points has great location but expensive wifi. So if you don't mind to pay extra for Internet access then consider this hotel. If you do, there are other options to check.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I proposed to my wife in this hotel. Rooms are absolutely great, and you do get your value for money.
The concierge is extremely helpfull, as is everyone at the front desk. Location isn't great though, but Montevideo is such a small city, that we secured a rental and drove around it in minutes.

I would say everything was great, except that when I announced that I just got engaged I didn't get even a "congratulations!". That was kind of dissapointing, but I understand they don't necessarilly need to be popping out champaign for everyone who gets engaged in their hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonMuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Good location just one block away from Ave Julio de 18 where buses will take you to Old Town, Tres Cruces bus station or Pocitos/Punta Carretas. The hotel is great looking on their site photos..doesn't quite lie up to it but fine. Rooms encircle the lobby, but surprisingly not loud..instead hear more of the street noise. The gym/sauna/pool is a bit kiddie in all respects.....the sauna was never turned on...the pool seems about 25 feet long which is too small to do Laos and sine it's indoor not ideal for lay about. The gym is on hardwood floors, which tells you that well it's more of a play gym...few machines. The electricity is turned on my your key card, so when you are out, turns off the iPod/clock radio, so every time you leave, it resets itself, so you need to set the time every time you come back in..annoying. Shower is modern looking but flat floor so takes forever to drain..therefore yo are left standing in the shower water for awhile. Outlet plates are falling off and room needs an overall update. wi-fi is sketchy so you keep having to log back in, there are several computers in the lobby that were very much used by the guests. Having said ALL that..it is a fine hotel. The staff are
simple incredible..especially Sebastian..everyone is very helpful and eager to accommodate. Again the location is good. Just 1/2 block down is laundromat where a full large bag of clothes was UR200, which was the cost of the hotel for one pair of pants. About 3 blocks away is Bicicletera Sur where I rented a bike for UR20 per hour, I took out a bike for 4 hours to ride along The Ramblas and the cot was under US$5. The Town Hall a block away has a observation deck allowing for great views of the city. The hotel is fine, not special nor exceptional...to be direct it's a Four Points...good with a need for upgrading but for the price
and location and the amazing staff, it's a good stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kareny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My husband and I were in Montevideo for four days and our stay at Four Points was great! The rooms are large and clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is really good. The location is just perfect.The staff is very helpful, specially Sebastian.
Next time we go to Montevideo, we'll surely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Four Points is right across from Montevideo city hall. I find Four Points location is more central than Radisson Hotel near Old Town. There is a McDonald and Tata supermarket on Julio 9. Buses on San Jose which is next to the hotel, take you to Punta Carretas Shopping mall (very up scale mall) and Montevideo Shopping Mall. Signs on the buses indicates which mall the bus goes to. Ask the bus driver to tell you when to get off. Each ride is 18 peso or 10 peso, drive can provide change. From Carretas you can walk to La Rambler which is beach.

Taxi to Tres Cruees (long distance bus terminal) is about 100 peso. Taxi to airport is about 650 peso flat rate.
La Pasiva restaurant at corner of Ejido and Julio 9, it servers excellent Chivito Canadiense for 185 Peso.
Between La Pasiva and hotel is a restaurant called Chivilandia, it has English menu. it's Chivito "simple" is only $91, it is a steal compare to Big Mac. Big Mac alone cost 60 peso.
Behind Four Points is Mercado de los Artesanos. Restaurants in Mercado de los Artesanos opens at 8PM and they take cash only. Unlike some other places this one does not give you a discount when paying by peso.
If you want to buy Chimichurri sauce, Del Caucho is a good brand. You can find it in Disco Supermarket. Disco is about 3 blocks past McDonald on Ejido.
I find Montevideo taxi drivers are quite honest, I took over 20 taxi rides, have not had any bad experience.
I booked excursion to Punta Del Este with LB Tour. You can book thru the hotel or at Tres Cruees Tourist Information centre. The cost of the tour is $48 USD. I highly recommend this tour, it goes to a few places that you cannot go on your own, such as Casa Casapueblo and La Barra bridge.
For Colonia, you can take a 2-hour Cot bus at Tres Cruees. I have been to many European old town, I don't find Colonia very attractive.

Money exchange tips: I find my home country exchange rate thru local ATM is terrible. The rest rate is from AMEX and Visa. Big money exchanger or Cambio are the 2nd best.
If you pay by credit card restaurant, my credit card comany gives me 7% tax rebate. If you pay by cash, ask for at least 10% discount.

If you plan to visit Buenos Aires, I suggest you exchange some Argentina peso in Montevideo, you get better rate in Montevideo.
Forget about street market or flea markets on Saturday and Sunday, most of the stuff they sell are low end Chinese products. There are high end, nicely made Chinese products in some countries, but those on street market are the low end ones.

Hotel provide 30 minutes free internet access. $10USD for 24-hour Internet access.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sysy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews