We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pocitos Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Found a really good price for this hotel, so decided to stay here for a night. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful when we needed something. The breakfast was by far the best of all the breakfasts that we tried during our 3-week trip in Argentina and Uruguay. For the right price, this hotel is incredible.

Only downside is that we weren't really close to the center or to the port, but this depends on your interests and needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youryevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    387
    135
    26
    9
See reviews for
323
231
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Montevideo seems to have lots of these types of small hotels. Clean, comfortable and welcoming.

Pocitos Plaza offers a good experience for the money. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, good breakfast and all in a great location. There is even a parking garage/gas station right across the street.

While not the Four Seasons you probably weren't expecting that at these prices. A solid choice if you are looking at staying in Pocitos.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise bring earplugs. All these hotels use mini-splits for cooling and heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank US_Expat91364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friends and I stayed just for one night, the Hotel was good, the attendants very polite and the location was great, close to the Rambla and the Shopping, in a very safe neighborhood. The room was ok, but they didn´t have non-smoking rooms and we could smell it all over it. We try to change it, but all were the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RikiBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Was there on business for 2 nights.
Front desk attendants very nice.
Room simple but clean, nice strong shower and nice towels.
Free wifi working fine.
Would recommend for business shirt trips.
Good location in very safe neighborhood, a few restaurants close by (I liked AMARETTO, great salads and desserts).
If you like small hotels, not too fancy but comfortable this is a choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My stay couldn't go any better, everything was impeccable. From the comfort of the room (mini fridge, LCD TV, a really comfy couch, queen-size bed, hot tub). And the location (one block away from the beach) is terrific since you've plenty of nice places to go out and grab a meal, the surroundings are the nicest in town (far from Ciudad Vieja). This hotel is a must-go if you're near the city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mguillech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was in the same area I used to live as a child.
The hotel is ok, and according to the other hotel offered, it is really good.
It is clean, and yes, a little bit dated. It is not a 5 star hotel, but I barely stayed in when I visited.
There are so many things to do and so many outdoor activities that the hotel is used only for sleeping.
I do agree that the staff is not very polite, very young people who seem to be studying and working at the same time, maybe they just need a little advise on that.
I did try to book a room from home and told me the hotel was full, but as soon as I got there they told me they did have a room for me and it was a relief.
The breakfast is great! I know it is not the "american" breakfast, but according to uruguayan standards, it is amazing.
Anyway you are very near MEDIALUNAS CALIENTES if you want to have a great uruguayan croissant, and a couple of blocks away from 21 de setiembre where you can get at cantegril the best ice cream, and from Chez Piñeiro where you can have the best pizza and faina ever.
One block away is the famous Biarritz Park, where you can visit the Feria de Villa Biarritz local market on saturdays which is delightful.
Montevideo is still a great city to visit, even though everyone tells you it is very dangerous, trust me, it is not that bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexicandesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We read all the reviews before booking this hotel, and thought it would be a fairly upscale place to stay. Wrong! It is a hotel that probably saw it's better days about 20 years ago. The rooms are very tired and run down; it purports to have a view of the Rio de la Plata - wrong again. The only views are of a rundown apartment building across the street. It also purports to have a bar - wrong! The hotel staff could really care less about answering questions or providing information. We requested assistance making a dinner reservation, and what we got was an attempt, but sorry, no reservations available. When we walked to the restaurant to make our own reservation - no problem! The only good thing is the location - very convenient to the rambla, buses and restaurants in Pocitos. Breakfast was ok - you could request huevos, though they were not on the buffet. Overall, the hotel was clean, but very tired and the staff were not helpful.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious, but can be noisy if you are overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaniceHalfmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
Palm Beach Plaza Hotel
#20 of 86 in Montevideo
580 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 86 in Montevideo
1,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ermitage Hotel
Ermitage Hotel
#24 of 86 in Montevideo
761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
0.3 mi away
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
Vivaldi Hotel Montevideo
#31 of 86 in Montevideo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocitos Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocitos Plaza Hotel

Property: Pocitos Plaza Hotel
Address: Juan Benito Blanco 640, Montevideo 11303, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#20 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pocitos Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pocitos Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocitos Plaza Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing