We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with seaview” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel with seaview”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I allways find this hotel as a really nice place to stay. All rooms have a very nice view of the river which montevideans call "the sea". Good breackfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Punta Carretas shopping mall is very near as there is one of my favourite restaurants: La Perdiz. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Good bathroom.This time because of a promotion had a good cost/benefit ratio!!The hotel has no parking lot but should you come with a car there's usually parking space on the street. Located in a good and safe area of the city. It's absolutely a very advisable place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Esteban,
Thank you very much for your words.
We wish you a very happy new year.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    589
    138
    38
    13
See reviews for
295
654
53
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Cala di Volpe is a classic hotel transformed by the very helpful staff: it is a tall (8-10 floors) building built some decades ago, with no distinguishing marks of service, decor, or architecture. It is on the corner of the Rambla and a suburban neighborhood, which means immediate access to the 22km-long promenade, the best feature of Montevideo! If your room is not in the higher floors, the evening noise can be disturbing when the season allows to open the windows (thankfully, they do open). The hotel has no gym, but the broad sidewalk of the rambla is a wonderful substitute, used by what at times seems most of the city's population!
the breakfast is plentiful, but the coffee is below par-so if coffee defines you (like me) you would be advised to ask for an espresso or cappuccino. The dinner menu remains unaltered for many days in a row and the prices are unreasonably high, while there are plenty of neighborhood places to eat, all within short walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlingtonian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your words.
We will do our best to improve on the points you mentioned.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
214 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent two nights, one night was Sunday and rainy. We had an end room on the 5th floor. Winter is pretty dead and city shuts down on Sunday. Our room had a wonderful view of the river, the boardwalk across the street perfect for jogging. Hotel staff extremely nice but no conciere so front dest was always busy answering questions. Most guest are Brazilian but front desk did speak English. Hotel very clean. Comfortable rooms, great rain shower and very comfortable beds. A couple of blocks from Paisano restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quiter. Windows open .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion.
We hope to improve the service for your next stay.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
652 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Really nice place
Placed on the Rambla, very nice view and comfortably near Punta Carretas, should you shop
Fair cost/benefit ratio
Elegant and charming
Trafic on these days also calm and access is quite easy.
Either on business or pleasure trip it's a very advisable place to stay

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Ivan S,
Thank you for your words, we hope to improve the breakfast quickly.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel has good location, comfortable room, good heating, good size and bathroom with good shower. Accommodation clean and very polite staff. The breakfast is good, but without much variety. The space reserved for the breakfast is small and breakfast was always full. In general is a good place to stay. If I ever comecak to Montevideo I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear vsalem,
thank you very much for your words.
I remain at your disposal
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Cala di Volpe on May 23-27. It was my first experience in a boutique hotel so I was curious how it would be.. Fortunately I can say it was a pleasant experience. The hotel is very well located just in front of the river, and despite facing the street, the room was very quiet. It was a superior room so it was larger than standard rooms which made it very comfortable. The fridge, although we did not use it, was fully stocked. My only suggestion to the hotel, which I did mention at check-out, was to renew the shower heads, since at least in our room, this was very old and dirty so I could not get a decent shower experience...
The hotel offers a buffet breakfast which is really tasty: good coffee, yogurt, milk, scrambled eggs, sausage, jam, cheese, variety of cakes and pies, really good to start the day.
We also had lunch at the restaurant, (which offers 15% off ) and we were pleased of the good quality of the service and the food. If you don´t feel like going out for a bite, you can stay and enjoy their restaurant.
The hotel is also a walking distance from the Punta Carretas shopping mall which was a "life saver" when we needed to buy water or fruits at the supermarket, take the omnibus, a taxi, or just to have lunch or dinner..
Overall, we did have a nice experience and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The superior and corner suites have a beautiful view to the river..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Alejandra_73,
Thank you very much for your comment.
We expect it on your next visit to Montevideo.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinamar, Argentina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Loved the hotel, I had a superior room, with a great view to the river. Breakfast was superb, fresh and with a lot of variety. Personal was very friendly and cooperative in every aspect. Sauna was good, my only complain is that they have a terrace, with a big jacuzzi, and it's closed during the autumn/winter season. It's a pity, it has a great view of the city and would be perfect as to relax after a day out. They just need to add some glass to close the place and heat it as you heat a small pool.
It's located in a great spot, with restaurants and a big Mall were you can change money, eat or buy whatever you want in a boutique supermarket.
I really recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear rwphoto,
Thank you very much for your words.
I remain at your disposal
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
2.6 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#7 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
2.9 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#10 of 86 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel

Property: Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Address: Rambla Mahatma Gandhi y Parva Domus | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#10 Family Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its impressive infrastructure, with oversized windows overlooking the sea, Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel has the elegance and style of the world's best hotels and exquisite touches of art, color and romance to your decor. To this add the best equipment with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Reservation Counter so you can book your Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Di Volpe Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing