We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Cala di Volpe on May 23-27. It was my first experience in a boutique hotel so I was curious how it would be.. Fortunately I can say it was a pleasant experience. The hotel is very well located just in front of the river, and despite facing the street, the room was very quiet. It was a superior room so it was larger than standard rooms which made it very comfortable. The fridge, although we did not use it, was fully stocked. My only suggestion to the hotel, which I did mention at check-out, was to renew the shower heads, since at least in our room, this was very old and dirty so I could not get a decent shower experience...
The hotel offers a buffet breakfast which is really tasty: good coffee, yogurt, milk, scrambled eggs, sausage, jam, cheese, variety of cakes and pies, really good to start the day.
We also had lunch at the restaurant, (which offers 15% off ) and we were pleased of the good quality of the service and the food. If you don´t feel like going out for a bite, you can stay and enjoy their restaurant.
The hotel is also a walking distance from the Punta Carretas shopping mall which was a "life saver" when we needed to buy water or fruits at the supermarket, take the omnibus, a taxi, or just to have lunch or dinner..
Overall, we did have a nice experience and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The superior and corner suites have a beautiful view to the river..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandra_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Alejandra_73,
Thank you very much for your comment.
We expect it on your next visit to Montevideo.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

Loved the hotel, I had a superior room, with a great view to the river. Breakfast was superb, fresh and with a lot of variety. Personal was very friendly and cooperative in every aspect. Sauna was good, my only complain is that they have a terrace, with a big jacuzzi, and it's closed during the autumn/winter season. It's a pity, it has a great view of the city and would be perfect as to relax after a day out. They just need to add some glass to close the place and heat it as you heat a small pool.
It's located in a great spot, with restaurants and a big Mall were you can change money, eat or buy whatever you want in a boutique supermarket.
I really recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear rwphoto,
Thank you very much for your words.
I remain at your disposal
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Montevideo is in many aspects a nostalgic town. There is a lot of "old world charm", but also a lot of dated unacceptable facilities. I was reluctant to choose this hotel since it was small, unaffiliated and looked old. However, it surpasses by far the "brand" hotels in the neighborhood.
First, it is not only located walking distance from Punta Carreta, but also right in front of the "malecon" (boardwalk) which for running enthusiasts is a fantastic benefit. Second, the rooms are spacious and if you are as lucky as I am, they have fantastic terraces. Third, the staff is very kind and goes out of the way to take care of requests. Fourth, breakfast has everything good Uruguay has to offer (try the dulce de leche).
It could use a renovation perhaps and more seating in the lobby. Impossible to host a meeting with a client at the lobby during the day, unless you get the only two available seats. However, it beats by far the competition - especially the more known brands.

Room Tip: 11th floor and River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo Desenzani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Hugo,
thank you very much for your comment, we evaluate to improve as a company.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at this marvelous hotel in june 2013, i know its a bit late to write a review but better late than never. This is certainly the best option in Montevideo whether traveling for work or leisure this hotel boutique will certainly not disappoint you. Located in Punta carretas, an unbeatable location over the Rambla where you can admire beautiful views of Rio de la plata with amazing sunrises this place is a gem. Just a walk distance to playa de los pocitos and punta carretas shopping mall where there are many options for dinning and if you want to get around the city, there is a turibus stop right in front of it that will take you to the best places over Montevideo. I stayed at a corner suite on the 9th floor with stunning views over the river and the rambla. The room was very nice, well decorated, clean and very comfortable, with floor to ceiling windows, equipped with bide and shower bath tube with separated sink, it could not get any better. The hotel has a spa at the top floor with a well equipped gym and huge jet tube, though we did not use it, it looked just great with breathless views Breakfast buffete was included in the room for 2, with excellent options from toast, muffins, fruits and juices to any type of eggs and cold cuts, great option to start the day so its well worth the upgrade to a room that has a bed and breakfast deal. Check in and out was fast, staff very polite and helpful, they even offered me a tablet for dizziness since we took the ferry from Buenos Aires to Montevideo and was not a good experience for me though still recommend to take since its the cheapest and more convenient way to get to Uruguay from Argentina. We did not have any other than breakfast at the the hotel so i cant tell about dinning there but they seem to have very nice options at a great price and by the evening the place gets packed with locals having coffee and deserts. We decided to walk over the rambla instead and there are some great options for dinning facing towards the river and there is always punta carretas shopping mall with many restaurants too. If you want to take a taxi instead i would only recommend to walk to punta carretas shopping mall where there is a taxi stop and believe me you will save about 50% and its only a 3 min walk, if you decide to ask a taxi from the front desk the price will triple. I cant tell by myself but another couple who was travelling with us stayed at the Sheraton right in front of punta carretas shopping mall and came to visit us at the room and they said the were amazed by our room, much bigger, cleaner, more luxurious and better views over the river than then one they had and when they asked us how much was it they were surprised they had paid about 50% more than we did and our room was in all the ways, a lot better. They asked us if we had wifi and yes we did and was free and pretty fast. So i recommend you to search no more, this is the perfect place for a great stay in Montevideo for location, comfort, service and price, i would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Get a corner suite it is worth the upgrade and breakfast is included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussieboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Aussieboy29,
Thank you very much for your words, we are very glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great location right on the Rambla with good restaurants and cinema options in walking distance. We stayed 3 nights and then returned for our last night so we actually stayed in two different rooms, both of which were very clean and comfortable, with a side view to the river. Breakfast is very complete and varied, with lots of fresh fruit, different types of bread, cold cuts, etc, and the dining area is very pleasant with large windows looking out to the street and sun streaming in. The side street is quiet and airconditioning in the rooms is also surprisingly quiet. Good wifi reception in rooms. All staff were very helpful and friendly. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Mrs Danielle T,
thank you very much for your words.
We wish you a very happy new year.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. It is utterly charming. Helpful staff. Lovely rooms and breakfast fit for a king. The only unfortunate part is you need to take a taxi ride to downtown, rather than a walk. The wonderful part is to be situated on the Rambas affording great river views.
Close to a beautiful shopping center with loads of shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: No tip necessary all rooms will be lovely. Note can be windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Bill S,
Thank you very much for your words.
We wish you a very happy new year.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at this hotel. We have a corner suite with beautiful views of the ocean. The hotel is situated on the rambla which is a walkway adjacent to the ocean. You can rent bicycles for free for the first hour and ride on the rambla. Hotel breakfast was ok but it is the same food all the time which gets boring. There is some construction next door so you hear banging at 9am until 4 pm but we were not in the room to hear it. Staff was very friendly and bilingual . Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresMuttoni, Director Comercial at Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Gary M,
Thank you very much for your words.
We wish you a very happy new year.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
372 reviews
My Suites
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
1,230 reviews
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,146 reviews
Carrasco
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel

Address: Rambla Mahatma Gandhi y Parva Domus | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#10 Family Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range: $85 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its impressive infrastructure, with oversized windows overlooking the sea, Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel has the elegance and style of the world's best hotels and exquisite touches of art, color and romance to your decor. To this add the best equipment with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Di Volpe Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing