We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel is well located at the Rambla facing the Plata river, has great service, and offers afternoon tea to die for. If you stay there please say hello to Guzman, at the restaurant. Great kid!
Rooms are a little old, but very clean. Housekeeping team is amazing, friendly and welcoming.

Bell boy team is very good, proactive, welcoming, and always ready to offer great suggestion around Montevideo.

Great value for your money.

Room Tip: If you have a car I would recommend to request parking space at your reservation. There are only fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luce3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    598
    142
    39
    13
See reviews for
303
672
54
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a junior suite on the 11th floor. The view of the ocean from the room was beautiful, especially at sun rise. Room and bath room were spacious and clean. I found that some of the staff were not as friendly and helpful as others. Also the restaurant/cafe was closed during the afternoon, which was a little inconvenient. Breakfast buffet was excellent including made-to-your-order egg station. It's location was very good. A very nice place to stay in Montevideo.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tamakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Well. Small room. Small bathroom old furniture. Toilet seat brrr. Blankets on the bed. Not even close what the website promises. Location ok but it's a very normal 3 star place. Nothing special. Positive friendly staff and early check in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very Disappointed

I was very disappointed in this hotel. I formed an impression based on the hotels web site, and the hotel just did not meet my expectations. The photos on the web site are all accurate, but very carefully done and they conveyed to me an impression of room size and common are size that was not borne out.
I selected the hotel because of the location, across the road from the beach. I wanted a view of the water. The location is great and the top level suites do have a great view.

The suite we reserved was not rectangular in shape and the bathroom was very small. I went back to the web site to see if I could see the size of the room in sq m but it was not specified. The suite had a balcony but it was a tiny triangle with not even enough room for two chairs.
I selected this hotel in preference to the Sheraton because the Sheraton was a couple of blocks from the beach. If I went back to this part of Montevideo I would stay at the Sheraton ( Although it is a chain I try to avoid)
The room was clean, the bathroom clean and the staff were pleasant. On a Sunday morning the small restaurant was so busy they chained of the entrance and residents had to queue to get in.

It is not inexpensive so I would advise anyone considering this hotel to consider the alternatives before making a reservation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alistair_MacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is old and incredibly noisy. Impossible to sleep well.
Do not get fooled by the pictures on their website. Their rooms are old and nothing special. Beds too soft, bathroom way too old, toiletries are bad quality, wi-fi and elevators work poorly, and their rooms have a ventilation box that is really loud and doesn't allow you to rest properly.

Also, unless you actually book a suite, forget about having the ocean views they promise.
Staff is ok nice and breakfast too, but this hotel is definitely not worth its cost. If you are looking for a 4-star hotel, forget about this place.
Definitely, not a place to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UsuarioUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on a brief trip to Uruguay from Buenos Aires. The location of the hotel was fantastic - the beach was across the road (views from higher levels - brilliant). Also the Punta Carretas shopping centre (a modern 3 level shopping mall) is five minutes' walk away. All of the staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, but some of the furnishings and carpet need updating. There was a slight musty smell as though smoking had occurred in the room in the past. The wifi signal was okay but not strong. The air conditioning system was really good. The breakfast selection was excellent and great quality, and the breakfast staff were friendly and courteous. Uruguay is a somewhat understated as a tourist destination, and more people really should visit. All things considered, this hotel is very good. An update of the rooms would make it excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level for great views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gondwana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for two days and it was a very nice experience for us. The view from our room (803, same mentioned before by other reviewer) was outstanding and found the room to be clean and comfortable. The size of the room and bathroom was ok, not so small (I have seen smaller rooms in Europe for example).
The staff was very friendly and helpful. And the food was nice (my husband specially recommends the baby beef dish).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.6 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.9 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#7 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel

Property: Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Address: Rambla Mahatma Gandhi y Parva Domus | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#10 Family Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its impressive infrastructure, with oversized windows overlooking the sea, Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel has the elegance and style of the world's best hotels and exquisite touches of art, color and romance to your decor. To this add the best equipment with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Di Volpe Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing