We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and great staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Angeles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #79 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location and great staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently - I booked mostly out of nostalgia for a visit with my family in 1988. The hotel had hardly changed in 25 years - the place is very old and reminded me of older hotels I've stayed in in Europe so don't expect luxury

The bed was comfortable and sheets clean. The bathroom which flooded after showering was old but smelled very clean

If possible ask for room on 18 de Julio (front of hotel facing the city's Main Street) side with balcony

Can't say enough about staff they were all great really helpfull

Breakfast is standard Uruguayan - continental with breads, tea coffee butter jam cheese ham ect.

If you expect a North American standard newer place look elsewhere but it is what it is and I think it's not bad

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charrua2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    64
    36
    22
See reviews for
29
45
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Simple, cozy with friendly staff. I loved the place, although the breakfast was a little poor. But, you're in the downtown, a few steps from nice places to visit in Montevideo. So, because of this, staying in this hotel was great for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padawanluiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Still awaiting an upgrade. Tired rooms, there is a new shower curtain, but everything else is grubby and worn. The wallpaper is peeling off the walls. The room smelt smoky, possibly from smoking in an outside courtyard, and the corridor smelt strongly of resin from glue.
As others have said, the location is central and convenient. I was on a group trip, so I don't know what rate we paid. However the posted rates eg 70USD for a single would suggest a better class of hotel.
The wifi signal was good, but the only electric socket was in the bathroom so I had to stand there to use wifi and charge at the same time!
I suggest the tour company and others find a better hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bexhill on Sea, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The plus points are this hotel is situated on the main drag, and is very cheap.

The minuses are that it is in need of total modernisation and the breakfast isn't even worth turning out for.

Rooms have a pre-war ambience (not sure which war - the Crimean possibly). Beds were rescued from Noah's Ark - I almost expected to find a chamber pot underneath.

Breakfast consisted of a small glass of orange juice and 2 pieces of crispbread.

It's bearable if you just want a cheap crashpad for a night or two, but don't come here looking for luxury.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Land at Montevideo airport (new and spotlessly clean), catch a cab (straight onto the main road into town) and follow the coast road past beaches and palm trees. Hang a right into the old town area then arrive outside.....the Los Angeles. Where's reception? Ah, that's on the 1st floor so cram into the tiny lift. It always stops at the 1st floor no matter which way you're going. Check in and find your room, you may need a map. The room had a bed, a wardrobe and a bedside table. I think that was all. The aircon, fortunately, worked well. The hotel is old and oh so tired. It hasn't seen fresh paint for many years. Breakfast wasn't a buffet. You're brought a coffee, juice and a basket with bread and a croissant. Maybe some butter and jam. You won't always get a plate.
The location is ok if you arrive on the Buquebus ferry, and there are plenty of shops around. The Old town is nearby but this seems to close down at night.
The experience soured my impression of MVD which does have some nice areas - this isn't one of them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Hotel Los Angeles is centrally located allowing travellers easy access to the city centre. Only stay here if it is only for one night and you have low expectations. Wifi is really slow and only available in the reception area/lobby. The hotel itself is old and shabby. The decor is from the 70s and everything looks and feels dirty. The elevator is tiny and slow. But the rooms are big.

Our room (105) was really bad. Located beside the staff courtyard, the room reeked of cigarette smoke and we were woken in the middle of the night by staff chatting and the clattering of dishes. We could not open the window. Everytime we needed to adjust the air con we had to go to front desk and ask to borrow a remote control.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 105. It is dark, smoky and the only window opens on to the staff courtyard so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Dirty rooms, broken air com, broken door locks,used soap, filthy carpets and decoration dating back to the 60's/70's in desparate need of upgrade. Breakfast is no better, no tea
bread rolls only. Bar serves Beer or Whisky only !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#77 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#67 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#63 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Urban Express
Hotel Urban Express
#73 of 86 in Montevideo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Europa Hotel
Europa Hotel
#58 of 86 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#31 of 86 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Los Angeles Hotel
Address: Av.18 De Julio 974, Montevideo, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Angeles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing