We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alvear
Nearby Hotels
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
My Suites(Montevideo)
$90
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$146
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palladium Business Hotel(Montevideo)(Great Value!)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AXSUR Design Hotel(Montevideo)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$64
$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
47
136
107
41
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
136
107
41
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsde juliowithin walking distancedowntown montevideogood sizehotel is locatedyiblockplaza
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 346 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The reception/lounge area of this hotel is quite impressive and the staff were really friendly. Maids also really cheerful. Bed was really comfortable. However, that's as far as my compliments go, really. The rooms could have done with a lick of paint and it was absolutely filthy underneath the beds and inside the wardrobes. The lift was missing its door so you could literally touch the cables etc when going up and down. Breakfast was included and was better than most continental breakfasts, to be fair. This hotel wasn't particularly expensive but even so, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Location was pretty good with good restaurants nearby. The room was a bit dirty, dusty under the bed, old. They use their sprays everywhere to make the place 'richer', but they just make me sick.

Breakfast is decent as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Traxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very central...friendly reception
In the heart of Montevideo few steps from Av 18 de Julio , next to the fountain of the Locks, walking distance to PLAZA DEL PRESIDENTE and to The Estancia del Mercado.
Hotel Alvear with good spacious rooms, pure white linen , clean, bathroom okay , if you placed your face over the wash basin outlet you got the whiff of drain smell which was the only negative.
We were three ladies and was a big size room on the 6th floor with a view of the roof tops and cupolas of buildings.
Breakfast was superb and starts very early too, we did not try out any meals as there was a great restaurant outside the hotel and pastry shops just by the side.
Montevideo a city surrounded by water on three sides , Av de 18 de julio being the artery of the main city, as you walk , take a right, left or walk straight you see Rio del Plata.

The front office staff very friendly and a good size lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms above the reception should be good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in Montevideo and my first surprise was the door key. It was an old designed key like from the 30's!!!! A big uncomfortable piece of wood or plastic as a key ring. The room was very tiny and the breakfast was canned fruit. Very good location but you can have any other good options nearby. This hotel needs to be rebuilt

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catrachosps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My stay in Montevideo would be for only two days and chose this hotel by location (central). This hotel is one block of 18 of Julio Avenue, one of major streets in Montevideo. Is it possible to go on foot to the old center or other tourist spots of the city. The hotel parking (24 hs) is located half a block from the hotel and is paid , $ 5 per day.
The room where we stayed (604) was not great but had air conditioning, mini bar and a small TV (21 ") with many international channels, including BBC, ESPN, CNN (Spanish and English) and the Uruguayan channels. The bathroom was small and shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor. Do not leave anything on the floor!
The elevator is old and a little scary because there is no internal door!! Breakfast was OK, nothing special.
Wi Fi service worked in the room and also in the reception and it is not charged. The reception staff was very friendly and when I needed an adapter to the electric plug I got immediately.
On the last day I requested a late check out and there was no problem, only a charge of US$ 30.00 to stay until 08:00 PM. Fair!!
It is a good place for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo Zeno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews