We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price.”
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Central downtown location but not that much noise. Everything was within a one minute walk: free secure parking garage, convenience stores, restaurants. Very good complimentary breakfast. Rooms were quiet and clean. Big LCD TV and fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachump2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Hotel America
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 704 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staff friendly and helpful. But ¨nearby covered free parking¨ was 25 blocks away from Hotel! I said I had luggage, was told to take a taxi. On their busy block, you MIGHT find a open "one hour limit-pay parking. I paid in advance to stay there but decided to stay elswhere. No car-read the reviews of others!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed in in all of South America but Montevideo seemed to be expensive in general. The rooms were large enough and had recently been refurbished so were a lot nicer than the photos on the hotels own website (although I think the website has now been updated) and were therefore very clean with brand new flat screen TVs on the wall and the location of the hotel is ideal. The front desk staff spoke little or no English and took a very long time to check us in. Breakfast was pretty awful. Overall a good hotel , they just need to upgrade the breakfast and employ some efficient happy front of desk staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Fiquei 2 noites no hotel, e como fui para o show de Paul McCartney, todos os outros estavam lotados. Desde a chegada, já me decepcionei. O prédio deve ter mais de 50 anos, e está caindo aos pedaços. Tudo cheira a mofo, os andares são escuros. Quando entrei no quarto, o pior: no chão, bem na entrada do corredor, tinha uma barata morta (!) no chão. Sem saber o que fazer, descemos até a recepção. Ao invés de receber desculpas e realocação, riram da nossa cara e perguntaram "qual é o problema de uma barata no quarto"? Isso é profissionalismo? Como era o único hotel vago, tivemos que pedir outro quarto, compramos veneno e dormimos rezando para que não acordássemos com um inseto no travesseiro. Que aliás, era branco. Há 40 anos atrás. Tal qual as paredes. A parede entre o banheiro e o quarto tinha um buraco, onde vazava água. É melhor dormir na rodoviária do que no "Gran" Hotel America. / As we booked this hotel for the night of Paul McCartney's concert, this hotel was the only one left. Since the pics show a quite nice, clean room, we didn't worry much about it. But, as we got there, we saw this 50 year old run-down building that was supposed to be a three-star rant hotel. Everything smells like mould, and it's dark as the night. When we got into the room, we saw a dead cockroach (!) right in the middle of the room. We went down to the lobby, and the staff, instead of begging us pardon and reallocating us, they laughed at us and asked "what's wrong with a little cockroach?". What kind of staff is it? As it was the only hotel with rooms available, we asked to get another room, bought poison and prayed for not being waken by an insect on our pillow. That, by the way, were white. 40 years ago. As well as the walls. The wall between the bathroom and the room had a hole in which all the water of the shower would leak. I'd rather have stayed on the bus station that in "Gran" Hotel America.

Room Tip: Se os andares superiores já são horríveis, vocês nem imaginam os inferiores. / If the upper floors a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polemccartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

This hotel is located in a very good location for all sights and for business; the staff was very courteous and helpful. For the price we paid things were better than expected. I certainly would recommend this hotel to anyone that wanted to travel on a budget. It is a well deserved 3 star Hotel and you get more than you paid for.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElGuapo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fiquei no quarto andar e achei muito silencioso
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ednea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ERO78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#47 of 87 in Montevideo
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
London Palace Hotel
London Palace Hotel
#52 of 87 in Montevideo
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#30 of 87 in Montevideo
538 reviews
3.4 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#12 of 87 in Montevideo
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: Rio Negro 1330, Montevideo 11111, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $46 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel America 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three star hotel located in Montevideo downtown. All rooms just refurbished and furnished with air conditioning, cable TV, LCD's, frigobar, Optic fiber, high speed WI-FI in all rooms and other areas. All kinds of restaurants within walking distance. Money exchange across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing