We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, efficient and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orpheo Express Hotel
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
478 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good, efficient and clean hotel”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Location can be a bit unnerving for someone not familiar with latin cultures. Room is clean, everything works, wi-fi, nice breakfast. Efficient and friendly staff. Priced well and invoiced in USD. Room was on the fifth (5) floor so the street noise was not an issue. The Independence Plaza is a short 2 block walk away and is fascinating.

Room Tip: Request away from the street on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyH566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    435
    140
    22
    16
See reviews for
203
299
51
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice place, brand new. Great breakfast, comfortable beds, good location downtown.
We got a very good deal (US$ 66), so it was definitely worth it.
Rooms are small and get some noise from the street, but it wasn't that big of a deal.
We had some issues with the shower (it was hard to get the right temperature - it would change from too hot to too cold in a second), pillows were awful (we had a neckache the following day) and the side beds were kind of dangerous (I almoust hit my head). Front desk wans't that nice either. The website said there's parking no reservations needed but it was full when we got there and no one was really willing to help us out where to park the car. We ended up parking in fron of the theater across the street and it was fine.
Other than that, it's a great budget hotel downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannlaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is the first hotel I've been to in my entire life where everything is controlled by my room key card. The electricity in the room, the elevators, the room doors, etc. A super clean, very modern hotel with huge showers, wifi, gym, and great breakfast. Let's not forget the great staff that was fluent in English and very helpful. Piroska's superstar smile was a great bonus. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing a quality stay and a good night sleep in Montevideo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuerkueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is relatively new and therefore clean and modern. Had a double room on the front of the hotel, noise was well managed by double glazing. Good location as most things were walkable. Check in and out was smooth, wireless internet was good in the room. Helpful staff.
They must filter the water as the coffee at breakfast was the best in Montevideo and it was basic coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice modern hotel with newly furnished and comfortable rooms. Bathroom was also very modern with a large shower and a big mirror. The hotel is located right in the city center just a minue of walk to Plaza de la Independecia. It was a really good choice. I got what I paid for. I was very satisfied with this hotel. Everything is new and very clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I also recommend breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vondavigano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguaiana, RS
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel has only four months everything is new.It´s only two blocks from the main street, 18 de julio, and only 13 blocks from the harbour, where you can find so many restaurants.The room was so clear, we stay a couple and a son, we use three singles beds.the room has 4 lights bulbs and reading lights, and springlers.There isn´t a fridge in the room and ,and the hotel said to us that they don´t have, the other problem is the closet I can´t hang our clothes because it´s too high for me.There is a supermarket next to the hotel.The breakfast is ok, not for those who likes to eat so much, they don´t have eggs, sausages, etc.They have good breads, cheese, ham, butter, yogurt and jam, the essential but good.

Room Tip: The view to the street is good and there isn´t much noise in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GugaRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Modern, clean tidy block close to the main square. Comfy bed and good, workin showers, wifi etc. We god a good rate well below the rack, and for this, it was therefore good value. The breakfast won't win any prizes, but for SA in general it would be rated as better than average.The so called gym was hardly worth the trek upstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajarelmundo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#42 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#31 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#46 of 87 in Montevideo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orpheo Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orpheo Express Hotel

Property: Orpheo Express Hotel
Address: Andes 1449, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orpheo Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orpheo Express Hotel is located in Montevideo's downtown, with an easy access from the port and the airport. It offers 105 modern rooms, with all the requirements to enjoy your stay. It serves buffet breakfast, has a beautiful cafe-Bar, a Fitness center, wifi, garage, and an excellent value for money. Now, for a limited period, you can get a 15% discount to enjoy on your next stay. Click here Orpheo Express Hotel is " Just your world", located within walking distance from the Independence Square and the Old City, where most of the business, cultural and leisure world are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Orpheo Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing