We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orpheo Express Hotel
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice modern hotel with newly furnished and comfortable rooms. Bathroom was also very modern with a large shower and a big mirror. The hotel is located right in the city center just a minue of walk to Plaza de la Independecia. It was a really good choice. I got what I paid for. I was very satisfied with this hotel. Everything is new and very clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I also recommend breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vondavigano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    439
    144
    22
    19
See reviews for
208
301
52
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uruguaiana, RS
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel has only four months everything is new.It´s only two blocks from the main street, 18 de julio, and only 13 blocks from the harbour, where you can find so many restaurants.The room was so clear, we stay a couple and a son, we use three singles beds.the room has 4 lights bulbs and reading lights, and springlers.There isn´t a fridge in the room and ,and the hotel said to us that they don´t have, the other problem is the closet I can´t hang our clothes because it´s too high for me.There is a supermarket next to the hotel.The breakfast is ok, not for those who likes to eat so much, they don´t have eggs, sausages, etc.They have good breads, cheese, ham, butter, yogurt and jam, the essential but good.

Room Tip: The view to the street is good and there isn´t much noise in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GugaRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Modern, clean tidy block close to the main square. Comfy bed and good, workin showers, wifi etc. We god a good rate well below the rack, and for this, it was therefore good value. The breakfast won't win any prizes, but for SA in general it would be rated as better than average.The so called gym was hardly worth the trek upstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajarelmundo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatuí
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights at Orpheo Hotel which was not a pleasant experience, The first night we were given a room whose bathroom had not been cleaned, if by any chance it was I would be even more surprised. The toilet was dirty and there was hair in the shower stall. The second night we were moved to a small but clean room however the bathroom smelled horribly again. Despite all the unpleasant situation in the room, there are some good points, the staff is friendly, the location is perfect for the one who wants to go sightseeing and the breakfast is quite simple but you don't starve.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the higher floors as the surrounding streets are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
733 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for one night. The check in was fast. Breakfast simple: cheese, ham, bread and yogurts, amazingly tasty pastries. Negative points: very strong smell of molds in the bathroom. A/C was working, but weakly as it was very hot days in Montevideo. Same a/c produced strong and unusual noise, which was a little bit annoying. The location is unpleasant, did not feel safe walking around in the evening.
It is ok for very short stays, for longer I would search another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'ham
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent hotel in so much that it is new and clean.
Staff are very good and speak English.
Basic breakfast but as good as any in South America.
Location is good for walking to sights however be aware itis a poor area and not considered safe to walk around after dark.
We stayed 3 nights but should have just stayed one and moved to Puerto Del Este but that is more about location rather than the hotel.

As an aside rooms are very small

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter as road outsied noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel last week with friends - we loved it! Prices are reasonable, delicious free breakfast and free internet. Everything is new, modern and CLEAN. Spacious bathroom and very nice shower! The beds are a bit more firm than I like, but they're clean and new. Location is perfectt - just walk 2 blocks up the hill to the main shopping and tourist area, where you can shop all you want, or catch a city bus. I would definitely come back to this hotel the next time I'm in Montevideo, and highly recommend it! Taxi's are expensive - we didn't realize the city bus came so near to the hotel, or we would've used that when we arrived into the main bus terminal. The hotel arranged for a van to pick us up to take us to the airport when we left, which was very nice also.

Room Tip: We had rooms with 3 twin beds each - rooms are small, but very nice. We couldn't figure out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designedtosoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#42 of 86 in Montevideo
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 86 in Montevideo
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 86 in Montevideo
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#48 of 86 in Montevideo
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#35 of 86 in Montevideo
690 reviews
3.2 mi away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#13 of 86 in Montevideo
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orpheo Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orpheo Express Hotel

Property: Orpheo Express Hotel
Address: Andes 1449, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orpheo Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orpheo Express Hotel is located in Montevideo's downtown, with an easy access from the port and the airport. It offers 105 modern rooms, with all the requirements to enjoy your stay. It serves buffet breakfast, has a beautiful cafe-Bar, a Fitness center, wifi, garage, and an excellent value for money. Now, for a limited period, you can get a 15% discount to enjoy on your next stay. Click here Orpheo Express Hotel is " Just your world", located within walking distance from the Independence Square and the Old City, where most of the business, cultural and leisure world are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orpheo Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing