We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orpheo Express Hotel
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Modern, clean tidy block close to the main square. Comfy bed and good, workin showers, wifi etc. We god a good rate well below the rack, and for this, it was therefore good value. The breakfast won't win any prizes, but for SA in general it would be rated as better than average.The so called gym was hardly worth the trek upstairs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajarelmundo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 814 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights at Orpheo Hotel which was not a pleasant experience, The first night we were given a room whose bathroom had not been cleaned, if by any chance it was I would be even more surprised. The toilet was dirty and there was hair in the shower stall. The second night we were moved to a small but clean room however the bathroom smelled horribly again. Despite all the unpleasant situation in the room, there are some good points, the staff is friendly, the location is perfect for the one who wants to go sightseeing and the breakfast is quite simple but you don't starve.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the higher floors as the surrounding streets are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for one night. The check in was fast. Breakfast simple: cheese, ham, bread and yogurts, amazingly tasty pastries. Negative points: very strong smell of molds in the bathroom. A/C was working, but weakly as it was very hot days in Montevideo. Same a/c produced strong and unusual noise, which was a little bit annoying. The location is unpleasant, did not feel safe walking around in the evening.
It is ok for very short stays, for longer I would search another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent hotel in so much that it is new and clean.
Staff are very good and speak English.
Basic breakfast but as good as any in South America.
Location is good for walking to sights however be aware itis a poor area and not considered safe to walk around after dark.
We stayed 3 nights but should have just stayed one and moved to Puerto Del Este but that is more about location rather than the hotel.

As an aside rooms are very small

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter as road outsied noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel last week with friends - we loved it! Prices are reasonable, delicious free breakfast and free internet. Everything is new, modern and CLEAN. Spacious bathroom and very nice shower! The beds are a bit more firm than I like, but they're clean and new. Location is perfectt - just walk 2 blocks up the hill to the main shopping and tourist area, where you can shop all you want, or catch a city bus. I would definitely come back to this hotel the next time I'm in Montevideo, and highly recommend it! Taxi's are expensive - we didn't realize the city bus came so near to the hotel, or we would've used that when we arrived into the main bus terminal. The hotel arranged for a van to pick us up to take us to the airport when we left, which was very nice also.

Room Tip: We had rooms with 3 twin beds each - rooms are small, but very nice. We couldn't figure out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designedtosoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is clean, it has that look of a modern place to stay, rooms are small in but comfortable, staff always helpful, locations is perfect close to Ciudad Vieja, price is fair, i recommend this place to anyone, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyaccion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

New, good bed, great bathrooms, location, location, location.
It opened recently and it looks that they are very committed to good service
I come often to Montevideo by Buquebus, use the plane. The cabs are really expensive there but they are worthit

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#43 of 87 in Montevideo
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#9 of 87 in Montevideo
804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#49 of 87 in Montevideo
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#28 of 87 in Montevideo
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
2.2 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orpheo Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orpheo Express Hotel

Address: Andes 1449, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $63 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orpheo Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orpheo Express Hotel is located in Montevideo's downtown, with an easy access from the port and the airport. It offers 105 modern rooms, with all the requirements to enjoy your stay. It serves buffet breakfast, has a beautiful cafe-Bar, a Fitness center, wifi, garage, and an excellent value for money. Now, for a limited period, you can get a 15% discount to enjoy on your next stay. Click here Orpheo Express Hotel is " Just your world", located within walking distance from the Independence Square and the Old City, where most of the business, cultural and leisure world are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orpheo Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing