We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of AXSUR Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AXSUR Design Hotel
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

An excellent choice ! It is clean, comfortable and well-designed! Well-located for both, business or pleasure trip. Nice atmosphere, buena onda!!!!We recommend this hotel. Every detail is taken into account. It will not disappoint you!

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_nica_R_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for one night with my girlfriend. Nice, Clean, Simple, Good Location, Good Breakfast and Staff helpfull and attentive. Good choice for a place close to the old city. Will recomend this hotel. Easy access to The Ramblas for walking along the river.

Room Tip: No pool no gym, got the ramblas to walk, great for exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viviana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed there just one night after being in Colonia (small romantic town north of Montevideo) and just wanting to get a glance of the city. I chose it based on people's reviews and believe me... not disappointed at all! As usual, I'll write the PRO's and CON's to make it easier for readers to understand:

The good stuff:
- Location! Specially if u want to see the historical sites downtown. By the way, it's not dangerous to walk either at night or during the day. I did both of them and no problem at all!
- Value: unbeatable!
- Rooms and Bathrooms are very good! I asked for a higher room with river view and was able to get it. Rooms are spacious and they have all the necessary things. Nice bathrooms as well.
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Very nice breakfast, delicious and plenty
- Clean and tidy

To be improved:
- Maybe having a larger dining room could be more comfortable for breakfast time, since the tables are set a bit too close to each other, but I thought it wasn't a big deal.
- Also having king size beds. A bigger size queen size for one night is ok but for a longer stay a king size would eventually be better.

Would always go back!

Room Tip: Higher floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We started our stay at the Sheraton and ended it at Auxsur and could not have been happier. We got the Dandy room, water view and king size bed. The room is not like the classic cookie cutter room. It is contemporary and well appointed. (It could use more storage space but it did not impact us negatively.). It is truly a business place, though we were on pleasure, as it had an abundance of outlets, most of which did not require a transformer. That is a big plus since we travel with two iPhones, two iPads and a Blackberry and not having to fight for a plug is a big plus. The bathroom is a nice size with lots of counter space, a big plus. The breakfast is not grand but all you need and would expect in Montevideo.

We go every year for a week or more and we will definitely be going back.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JMSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonardo l, Gerente at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel, they give us the strength to continue working with the quality that our guests deserve.

We will be glad to receive you again on your next visit to Montevideo.

Best regards,

Lucía Razquin
Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My stay at the Axsur was pleasant. They offered a good location with views of the water from the upper floors, plus breakfast in the morning. It was an easy walk from the Buquebus ferry terminal and was located just off the Sarandi pedestrian street through the old town of Montevideo. The room was clean, nice, spacious, and had a great bathroom facility with it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonctownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonardo l, Gerente at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Mr. Jason,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us.
We will be pleased to receive you again, and make your stay much better than the other.

Best regards,

Lucía Razquin
Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I can't imagine a better hotel in Montevideo. It's one block to the best lunch place (Estrecho), 2 minute walk to Teatro Solis and Plaza Independencia and you can see the Rambla/prado from the clean restaurant where we enjoyed some of the best hotel breakfasts of our lives: fresh quiche, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, sweet pastries, etc. The staff helped us book a bus on one of the worst travel days of the year and did not hesitate to grant a late check out. The room itself is spacious and comfortable and the cleaning staff even organized our bags for us.

Overall, a fantastic experience and a top choice in Montevideo.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Globedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonardo l, Manager at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel, they give us the strength to continue working with the quality that our guests deserve.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Lucía Razquin
Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I had a large, sea-view corner room with a floor to ceiling really wide window on the fifth floor. It was one of our best hotel stays. Axsur is less than one year old, and all is clean, well designed and roomy. The walls between the guest rooms seem to be well insulated, as we could hear nothing from the neighboring room (even though it was occupied, and in the hall we could hear them play their TV fairly loud). The breakfast was great and Axsur's staff's friendliness and cooperation exceeded that of any other hotel's in the world we've traveled (in 55 countries). The wall AC (heat and cold) unit (near the ceiling) was very good, easily adjustable and very quiet. Axsur is located very close to the river plate (that looks like the ocean) leading to the Atlantic, a short walking distance to all kinds of restauranst on the walking street. There is another walkway, paved and beautiful and kilometers long, on the river/sea side of the hotel, that takes you through the whole city of Montevideo. Taxis (the hotel quickly orders you one) are fast and not expensive (make sure they have the meter running from zero), and if you wish to use public transportation, there's plenty of buses. The old town where Axsur is located, is beautiful, but as in almost all cities around the world these days, be careful when walking especially on empty streets unless you are part of a larger group of people you know. Do not show off valuable jewelry, cameras, etc.

Room Tip: The river plate side corner rooms in this small hotel seem to be the best. You may hear some traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErkkiK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonardo l, Director Comercial at AXSUR Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear guest,

We are so glad to hear from you.

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel, they give us the strength to continue working with the quality that our guests deserve.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Lucía Razquin
Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
2.7 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 87 in Montevideo
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
798 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#21 of 87 in Montevideo
1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alma Historica Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AXSUR Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AXSUR Design Hotel

Address: Misiones 1260, Montevideo 11006, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $65 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AXSUR Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your AXSUR Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing