We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not excellet but very reasonable”
Review of Live Mvd Hostel

Live Mvd Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Live Mvd Hostel
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and as much as the room was not that clean or amazing the staff was very friendly. For 12 bucks a night you really can't beat it. It had breakfast included as well as was only a 5 min walk to the beach.

It was 15/20 mins from the town. There were places to eat nearby. I see that many people are giving this poor reviews. Minus the room being a little dark and packed. I had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PresPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Live Mvd Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 29 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I was put in the front 12 bed dorm put at first but the air in was in a far corner of a decided space so could feel it in the larger section of the room. I changed rooms into the back 12bed dorm and it was way better.

Good: some staff mean well. They offer bread and coffee as a minimalistic breakfast, location is right near beach, big park and a bus ride or 45min walk to old town. if you get the room with working aircon, they leave it on all day.

Bad: seems like a lot of staff for such a small place every day had someone new behind the counter and they were living there and using up the small resources available (cooking and computers) , felt like we were an overcrowded feed lot with no personal space. Bathrooms were always full. Only a small table outside. Maintenance was lacking, the bikes were not functional (cranks broken) room doors were missing handles, a shower room didn't lock, laundry line was broken, lockers missing pieces so couldn't use, the kitchen was filthy full of flies And old mate cups that hadnt been touched for ages and their cat who lives there always had dirty water with food floating in it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hostel was pretty busy when we were there and it seemed as though many of the facilities had "just broken." The line to hang clothes was broken, the bikes were broken and not able to ride, the door to our room was missing a door handle, several of the lockers were broken, and the sink in the kitchen backed up. The staff is friendly, but maintenance doesn't seem to be a strong point. The kitchen is really small, so only 2 people can cook at the same time. Breakfast is white bread and jam and coffee, nothing too special. But for the price you pay, it is a pretty good deal in a nice location.

The 12 person dorm room has a ton of beds, in a pretty small room so you have to jump over backpacks to get to your bed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin-RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived to Live MVD Hostel thru Hostelworld, due to its high rating and low prices. Our choice was great and I would repeat the experience again! I definitely highlight the common areas, especially the kitchen. Best hostel kitchen I've ever been in: everything was so neat, clean, and organized. The pots and pans shone and were good quality which made cooking absolutely pleasant (which is nice when you have a budget to look after and sometimes cooking feels like a burden). The living room is also nice, with a big TV, and the back patio is good to meet the other people staying at the hostel. Also, breakfast is truly something. Homemade bread, good tasty coffee, lots of butter and jam, cereals. It showed how the staff really cares for its guests (they will answer every question of yours and care for details such as have bug spray on the front desk -- we were in town for a massive mosquito invasion). The "downsides" I see to this hostel (which weren't really a problem) were the rooms and the location. The rooms could get some more fresh air and light: one of the rooms in particular (the one further away from the street) wasn't well lit at all and it was hard to look for stuff in your bag, for example. Location wise, the neighborhood might not be the best in Montevideo (when comparing it to, for example, places like the adorable Pocitos), but if for example going out late at night felt kind of unsafe, taxis are available at all times and the fares aren't so expensive. All in all, a hostel to definitely keep in mind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constanza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hostel ok, great place to meet people. Not the tidiest of hostels but the staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast basic. Common bathroom and shower- which was ok- sometime had to wait for it to be free. Little bit expensive for what you get. 

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Ailish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are a mature couple and stayed for 2 nights. Staff are exceptional and helped us with everything we wanted. Location is a little way out from the centre, but is an enjoyable and easy walk. Private room had 4 bunk beds, which wasn't the best layout for us. It was also located near the door, which can be quite noisy if you are trying to get an early night. Would highly recommend this hostel to everyone, if you don't mind bunk beds and an early night is not a priority.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weltenbummlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is one of the best hostel we stayed in South America for the last 6 months... The staff is very nice, smiling and helpful. There are lots of activities: games, Wii, a big TV, 2 computers with the Internet, and even 2 bikes, etc. There is a lovely kitty, called Patas blancas.
The rooms are very clean and the beds very comfy!!
The only down side is that there is no curfew... would be good to tell people to be quiet after midnight...
But I highly recommend that place!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivi86_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
1.9 mi away
Posada al Sur
Posada al Sur
#14 of 78 in Montevideo
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tazu Hostel
Tazu Hostel
#31 of 78 in Montevideo
18 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caballo Loco Hostel
Caballo Loco Hostel
#1 of 78 in Montevideo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Planet Hostel
Planet Hostel
#22 of 78 in Montevideo
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
ContraLuz Art Hostel
ContraLuz Art Hostel
#17 of 78 in Montevideo
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blanes Hostel
Blanes Hostel
#27 of 78 in Montevideo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Live Mvd Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Live Mvd Hostel

Address: Maldonado 1790, Montevideo 11218, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Montevideo
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located in Palermo, just minutes away from the City Center and Ciudad Vieja (Old City). Transportation won’t be an issue, since we´re really close to the most important streets and avenues: 18 de Julio Av. (400 mts.) and the Seaside (300 mts). Actually, you can walk all the must-visit places Downtown and in Ciudad Vieja.Besides, it’s in the Design Zone, where you will be able to find clothing stores, art & craft shops, restaurants, and cozy little bars, where you won´t just find the entertainment you want, but also you’ll be able to purchase cool presents and hand-made souvenirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Live Mvd Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing